We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shomaddymaddy Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Shomaddymaddy Weekend”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our first ever experience of a warner's hotel (Adults only) and we weren't disappointed! The hotel, gardens and facilities were excellent. Our room was lovely and warm & comfortable, overlooking the walled garden. We cannot fault the standard and choice of the meals - excellent quality! All the staff were friendly, professional and attentive. The spa treatments and the shops were excellent - both in terms of choice on offer and price.
We found the entertainment really good - Paul Eastwood on Friday was hilarious and Shomaddymaddy on Saturday were very entertaining - bringing back lots of memories of the 70's.
This weekend was a 'drinks inclusive' package - excellent value for money. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: Ours was a standard room - spacious and had everything you could want. The Garden Wing rooms may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    465
    224
    72
    54
See reviews for
164
914
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First stay at this hotel .Staff very polite and friendly .Accomodation lovely and clean as well as all public areas .The grounds are well maintained and good order throughout - well worth a walk round to appreciate the hard work done here. Location is about 5-6 miles from Chard so be prepared for taxi fares if you have no transport.The main resturaunt is quite busy but we were not kept waiting - the food was hot and prepared to a high standard.Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Walled garden rooms give you access to patio area - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My friend I stayed here for the Soul and Motown weekend, unfortunately we were a little disappointed as there was not any Soul and Motown. In house entertainment, tribute band and a comedian is what we endured.
The hotel was of a very good standard, we overlooked the walled garden, room was very clean and spacious. Food was was plentiful and a good variety, car very was a great choice, selection of meats and lots of fresh vegetables.
We used the swimming pool but unfortunately the leisure club was being revamped, so all facilities not available. Felt sorry for the men as they had to use outdoor changing rooms.
The manor house is worth a visit, lovely sweeping staircase and decorated ready for Xmas and new year.
We took a good walk around the grounds on a crisp Sunday morning , and found them to be pretty breathtaking .
All in all we had a great weekend but would have liked it to have been A Motown and Soul weekend what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then choose a room in the manor house, be warned if you have a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diverbabe151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here four nights with coach party. Found our room was excellent as it was in main house so as I cannot walk too far this was a good choice. Food was plentiful and good as was the service. My one fault that I find with all Warner holidays it that the evening entertainment would be more appreciated if they would put on the evening show earlier and leave the dancing for later as a lot of older people go and find that the dancing first until half nine is too much then the entertainment namely Caberet comes on after this . So would enjoy it the other way round with the dancing last after all there are dance classes during the day as well it's just a little too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilacjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It is the expectancy we were disappointed with. The brochure and advertising suggest you are staying in the Manor House!!
It is not until you arrive and take your luggage to reception in the Manor House and told you are not staying here you are then ushered unceremoniously and drive to the "Hotel" half a mile away along with approximately 800 other guests.
The service, rooms, and food were very good and cannot be faulted. But when one is expecting to stay in a Manor House and end up staying in a hotel we felt rather deflated.
We could use the facilities in the Manor House, the bar and lounge areas but we were staying in a hotel not the Manor House.
The advertising should be honest and say the accommodation with exception of guests staying in the Historic Rooms will be staying in the hotel

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a historic room you will stay in the manor house, if not you will stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank PJC2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Should be still there but do not believe what they advertised so say soul and motown weekend,Friday night line dancing then in house entertainment no soul no motown.then a very poor comedian bad .that night partner ill through something she ate.So next morning asked for room service got charged for breakfast again ?do not mind paying for service but food i had already paid for that.sat night same again except no comedian avery poor tribute band.If you want a 2 stroke 3 star hotel full of retired people then fine if you want what you pay for a lively themed weekend go else where.I have not stayed for the last night food will be the same average entertainment very poor.As i have left a day early they might charge me for that

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gazer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our fourth stay at this Warner hotel. We had a Signature room which was warm and comfortable with flat screen TV and DVD player. Not that these were needed much as there were so many activities available by day and in the evenings, that there was not much time left to just sit in our room.The food was both self service and waiter served and there was plenty of choice.The standard of cooking was excellent with no overcooked vegetables which is quite common in hotel food.The entertainment team were very professional and the comedy act was hilarious. This was a Turkey and Tinsel Christmas type of break and not for those wanting sedate entertainment. All in all a great 5 days (4 nights) and good value for money.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Signature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
327 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
625 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
255 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
336 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Property: Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing