We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soul and Motown Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My friend I stayed here for the Soul and Motown weekend, unfortunately we were a little disappointed as there was not any Soul and Motown. In house entertainment, tribute band and a comedian is what we endured.
The hotel was of a very good standard, we overlooked the walled garden, room was very clean and spacious. Food was was plentiful and a good variety, car very was a great choice, selection of meats and lots of fresh vegetables.
We used the swimming pool but unfortunately the leisure club was being revamped, so all facilities not available. Felt sorry for the men as they had to use outdoor changing rooms.
The manor house is worth a visit, lovely sweeping staircase and decorated ready for Xmas and new year.
We took a good walk around the grounds on a crisp Sunday morning , and found them to be pretty breathtaking .
All in all we had a great weekend but would have liked it to have been A Motown and Soul weekend what we paid for.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems then choose a room in the manor house, be warned if you have a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diverbabe151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,281 - 1,287 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here four nights with coach party. Found our room was excellent as it was in main house so as I cannot walk too far this was a good choice. Food was plentiful and good as was the service. My one fault that I find with all Warner holidays it that the evening entertainment would be more appreciated if they would put on the evening show earlier and leave the dancing for later as a lot of older people go and find that the dancing first until half nine is too much then the entertainment namely Caberet comes on after this . So would enjoy it the other way round with the dancing last after all there are dance classes during the day as well it's just a little too much.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilacjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It is the expectancy we were disappointed with. The brochure and advertising suggest you are staying in the Manor House!!
It is not until you arrive and take your luggage to reception in the Manor House and told you are not staying here you are then ushered unceremoniously and drive to the "Hotel" half a mile away along with approximately 800 other guests.
The service, rooms, and food were very good and cannot be faulted. But when one is expecting to stay in a Manor House and end up staying in a hotel we felt rather deflated.
We could use the facilities in the Manor House, the bar and lounge areas but we were staying in a hotel not the Manor House.
The advertising should be honest and say the accommodation with exception of guests staying in the Historic Rooms will be staying in the hotel

Room Tip: If you want to stay in a historic room you will stay in the manor house, if not you will stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank PJC2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Should be still there but do not believe what they advertised so say soul and motown weekend,Friday night line dancing then in house entertainment no soul no motown.then a very poor comedian bad .that night partner ill through something she ate.So next morning asked for room service got charged for breakfast again ?do not mind paying for service but food i had already paid for that.sat night same again except no comedian avery poor tribute band.If you want a 2 stroke 3 star hotel full of retired people then fine if you want what you pay for a lively themed weekend go else where.I have not stayed for the last night food will be the same average entertainment very poor.As i have left a day early they might charge me for that

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gazer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our fourth stay at this Warner hotel. We had a Signature room which was warm and comfortable with flat screen TV and DVD player. Not that these were needed much as there were so many activities available by day and in the evenings, that there was not much time left to just sit in our room.The food was both self service and waiter served and there was plenty of choice.The standard of cooking was excellent with no overcooked vegetables which is quite common in hotel food.The entertainment team were very professional and the comedy act was hilarious. This was a Turkey and Tinsel Christmas type of break and not for those wanting sedate entertainment. All in all a great 5 days (4 nights) and good value for money.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Signature room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Cricket for a weekend in a signature room.
The hotel and grounds are truly stunning.
The main building is very impressive but the newer bit where we were staying is also of a very good standard.
Check in was fast and hassle free.
Our room opened onto a lovely courtyard / gardens and we had the added luxury of a table and chairs. Even in winter ( Oct ) it was nice to sit out for a few moments with a coffee.
The room we had was a twin, beds were VERY comfy and the room was a nice generous size.
The bathroom was shower only, again the bathroom was a good size and was spotlessly clean.
Amenities in the room included, TV and DVD player, hair dryer, kettle with Tea, coffee and hot chocolate, toiletries were provided in the bathroom and a small fridge / mini bar was great for keeping our drinks chilled.
Evening meal and breakfast were both good, the salmon was cooked to perfection and another highlight for me was the cheese selection with numerous, pickles and relish. Service in the restaurant and right through the hotel was great. We did also enjoy Lunch in the main house, soup and sandwich which were both lovely.
The hotel has 2 gift type shops which also sell newspapers, soft drinks etc also around the hotel are vending machines for drinks and confectionary.
We enjoyed a great look around the lakes and grounds which were stunning !
Entertainment was the highlight for us, the entertainment team worked non stop and the " shows " each evening were fantastic. There were activities throughout the day to suit everyone, Nordic walking, wine tasting, Pilates just to name a few. The hotel also has a fantastic leisure club with swimming pool and cardio equipment.
This was my 1st time at a Warner hotel but it will not be my last !

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank katherinerowley2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Mywife and I decided to take an autumn break and choise a Signature room in the Walled Garden for 7 days.We arrived in pouring rain,which obviosly was not the fault of Warners.
The surroundings of the room would have been very pleasant if the weather was better. but the location was terrible.We are both in our late 80s and my wife has had three knee replacements and there were only two rooms next to ous that were further away from activity and the restaurant., a distance of possibly 300yards. Almost another 200 yards further to the large house and comfortable chairs..We decided that after four nights we had had enough and left returning to our home..Reading other Trip Advisor remarks we would agree that at the time of booking or even in the brochure we should have been advised of this problem of distance.No doubt a young healthy couple may have enjoyed it
.Unfortunately a waste of money.

Room Tip: Obtain,if possible, information of the site, not just the pleasant remarks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
3.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
344 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
686 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
188 reviews
12.7 mi away
Travelodge Taunton
Travelodge Taunton
#9 of 17 in Taunton
198 reviews
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel

Address: Chard | Somerset, Chard TA20 4DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Chard
Price Range: $170 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 239 bedroom AA4 star Country House Hotel, Set in stunning Somerset countryside amongst 160 acres of beautiful lakes and gardens. Our adult only policy and 1/2 board packages with nightly entertainment and pool with leisure club make us ideal for a short break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cricket St Thomas Hotel, Lakes And Gardens Hotel Chard
Cricket St Thomas Historic Hotel
Warner Cricket St. Thomas Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing