We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had The Gallery in Bridport”
Review of The Gallery

The Gallery
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A contemporary, light and spacious Cafe and Art Gallery. The Gallery is the ideal place to meet for coffee, a drink at the bar or to enjoy a delicious breakfast or lunch while you admire the latest local art exhibition. Please go to our website for more details about our establishment.
Bridort
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish we had The Gallery in Bridport”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Three years ago my friend and I visited this restaurant café when we were on holiday at Warners Cricket St Thomas. We have since often remembered how lovely the coffee was and sitting out on their Al fresco dining area in the sunshine. Today we had planned to pick raspberries at Ford Abbey Pick Your Own only to find that it was closed. We popped along to Ford Abbey to have a coffee only to find that availability to the public wanting Restaurant facilities only has been stopped. We then remembered that lovely restaurant in Chard, which wasn't too far. The visit cheered us up enormously, excellent hot coffee, breakfast bacon and sausage doorstep sandwiches all cooked to perfection and the service with a smile and nothing too much trouble attitude made our day. The hospitality, the presentation and ambience of the venue makes The Gallery Café, Bar & Bistro, in my opinion, deserve a 5 star reward.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    33
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice Cuppa & cake in Chard”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Up a side street but well worth a visit.
You can go upstairs where nice seating and sofas welcome you.
Lots of drinks choice. We had a cafeteria of coffee and tea. Everything was hot.
And extra water supplied for the tea.

Yummy cake too. We had a look at the menu for the evening and it looks delicious :-) will definitely be going back to try that out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are fairly regular visitors to The Gallery, but this was the first time we had been since the revamp. I have to say that we liked the changes as it made the upstairs dining more relaxing. We sat on the sofas and had drinks while we selected from the menu and then it was just a short hop to our table when the starters were ready.

The weekend evening menu has changed where you can choose one, two or three courses at fixed prices, making the evening much more affordable and well worth the money.

As for the meal, well my bouillabaisse was superb and our party had four clean plates.

Can thoroughly recommend and if you go, tell Simon and Tracy that I sent you!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chard_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Still good ....”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

A third enjoyable evening at The Gallery. They have had a move around and the soft seating area is now in two locations upstairs and by the bar downstairs, there are now a few café tables.

As before, the service was friendly, but we were taken directly upstairs and seated at our table, rather than being offered drinks and menus in the bar or a seating area, which felt a bit brisk. However, the rest of the evening was nicely paced and we were certainly not hurried through the meal.

The scallops were beautifully presented and cooked superbly. Belly pork was good, but crackling a little tough. My husband says the steak was excellent. The chocolate fondant was disappointingly a little over cooked, so not really oozy in the middle, but great flavour and not over sweetened.

Considering this restaurant is managed and staffed almost exclusively by one couple, they do very well indeed. This is a good dining experience and well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orchid4841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“evening well spent.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

this little place is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life,simon and tracy are always pleased to see you,the service is excellent with a very friendly and warm inviting place to be! if you havent yet been to the gallery then i would highly recommend you do so.

Helpful?
Thank mellyd74
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed The Gallery also viewed

 

Been to The Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing