We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice b&b” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Fleece

The Golden Fleece
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Fleece
Ranked #3 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
united kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice b&b”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a nice 3 nights stay, very comfortable bed room spotless. Good choice for breakfast, Plenty of tea coffee and water in the room, Bathroom lovely and clean. nice place to relax as it is nice and quiet. Host very nice. Loved the dog, would recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whippy073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
73
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This was our first time visiting The Golden Fleece, and it did not disappoint. The room and bathroom were very spacious and clean. The huge bed was so comfortable we wished we could stay longer! The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and was served piping hot. Very friendly owners, would deffiently visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki_noo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed at the Fleece a number of times now and it really is a great place to stay.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and really tastefully done.
Breakfast and evening meal were very good indeed, dinner being a real highlight. Chicken, salmon, pork belly and liver were all accepted in record time. Paul and Carol could not be better hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaumont1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the 4th time that my friends and l have stayed at The Golden Fleece - they camp and my hubby and l stay in the spacious, well appointed rooms which are tastefully furnished and decorated. The rooms have are well stocked with Teas/Coffees/Hot Chocolate/Water and packets of biscuits which are all refreshed on a daily basis. The bathrooms are spotlessly clean with complimentary soap, shower gel and bath essence. The pub serves fantastic homemade, tasty meals (I had Liver and Bacon which was delicious) - the Pavlova is to die for! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this pub - Paul and Carol are such welcoming hosts and nothing is too much trouble. We're certainly looking forward to our next trip. Wifi is only provided in the bar area but that's no problem in this day and age with a Smart Phone.

Room Tip: Room 4 is our favourite Room. Although all rooms are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PERCH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently went to The Golden Fleece for Sunday lunch and would certainly recommend the food. They had a varied menu and included several vegetarian options. I had vegetable tagine which was excellent, other members of the family had lamb shank and roast beef which they enjoyed. The vegetables were fresh and cooked just right. The deserts we had were delicious. The staff were friendly and helpful;we didn't have to wait too long for our meals even though it was full - would recommend you book a table. They serve lunches/evening meals at weekends and evening meals on weekdays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie1141476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst house hunting in the area. The rooms at the rear of the premises were very clean, newly furnished and quiet. The bathrooms was magnificent! Breakfast and evening meals were spot on and the proprietors and staff couldn't do enough to help. Recommended for couples. The small campsite at the rear of the Fleece looked good too. Would visit again.

Room Tip: The luxury double is definitely worth choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jon1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here last weekend (16th/17th June). The proprietors, staff, accomodation, food & drink were exemplary. I would recommend this to anyone!

Room Tip: All six rooms are new, clean & large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morphit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
1.6 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 1 in Chardstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
2.2 mi away
Watermead Guest House
3.5 mi away
The Haymaker Inn
The Haymaker Inn
#5 of 13 in Chard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Fleece? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Fleece

Property: The Golden Fleece
Address: Perry Street | South Chard, Chard TA20 4QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Fleece 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Golden Fleece reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Fleece Hotel Chard
The Golden Fleece Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing