We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely guest house with excellent breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermead Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely guest house with excellent breakfasts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just got back from 2 nights at the watermead guest house and would highly recommend it to anyone. The owners were both very welcoming and couldn't do enough to help and the rooms themselves were great; very clean and comfortable with simple classic decor. There may not have been a huge choice on offer for breakfast but this allowed them to cook high quality ingredients to absolute perfection, you'd honestly struggle to find a finer breakfast. The guest house is set back from the road and has plenty of car parking spaces. Another nice touch was the delicious homemade biscuits that welcomed you in each evening. Chard was a great base for exploring with some nice restaurants which the owners will happily recommend and book for you. We'll miss the breakfast tomorrow!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    15
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
30
71
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it! We were given a lovely room with en-suite. The bed was very comfortable and nicely presented. There was plenty of choice for breakfast, we opted for the full English and it was delicious! The service was excellent and the owners are great hosts, plenty of local knowledge to share along with interesting historical facts about the building. Thank you and look forward to booking again soon
Irene and Ian.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at Watwrmead Guest House on 6th March this year and could not have been happier. I was away on business all week and this was the final stay on my tour, it was also the cheapest too. And compared to the other hotels I'd stayed at throughout the week, Watermead left them standing. That's not to say the other hotels were bad, far from it, just that Watermead had it all, Clean Rooms, plenty of parking, very friendly genuine hosts, exceptional breakfast and above all, a fair price for a great stay.

If I had to be overly critical then the one thing I would pick up on was that the bathroom was a little small, clean, tidy, functional, but I'm 6'3" and 16st so I found the shower a tiny bit small but it worked well and its not like I was sleeping in it so its nothing worth sulking about.

I could have stayed anywhere and given my money to anyone, the company picks up the bill and it makes no difference where I stay, but if I'm ever in need of a hotel or guesthouse and I'm within 50 miles of Watermead then I'm staying there again, no question.

Brilliant hosts with a brilliant attitude and warm welcome.

Chris G

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greeny1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Level Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Guest houses don't get much better than this! Set back from the road in peaceful surroundings Watermead is a large converted family house, well heated and with comfortable beds. En-suite bath/shower rooms are small but adequate. Plenty of parking.
Excellent reception on arrival and first class breakfast provided by the owners, Trudy and David. Great location for touring Somerset and East Devon or an overnight stop on business. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself and colleague stayed here on the 29th and 30th October.

The guest house is ideally located a few mins walk from the town.

The room was adequately sized and beds comfortable. Good shower and washing facilities.

The breakfast was one of the best I've had.

Will definitely stay again if in the area

Neil Stretton

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. The room was most comfortable, and the ensuite all you could want.Very quiet and well heated. An excellent breakfast, and great assistance and attention by Trudy and David. Off street parking makes exploring the interesting town easy. It's a great base for places such as Lyme Regis, Montacute, Hinton St George (quaint thatched roof cottages) and Cricket St Thomas (To The Manor Born).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

I actually loved staying here, the owners were friendly, the food was great but there were two problems.
Firstly the shower in the bathroom was a bit like walking into a mist. It is merely a drizzle.
Secondly, the internet connection was awful. Connecting to wifi was fine but the data throughput was abysmal at best. In fairness to the owners, they are well aware of this and are working on dealing with it.
The shower situation, I suspect, will not change.

Lastly, breakfast is phenomenal. The sausages and bacon are locally produced and taste amazing.

I would have no problem with recommending this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a single room, please be aware that they are in the attic space which is two flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidwatermead, Owner at Watermead Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thankyou for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We were up-dating our wi-fi during the time of your stay. The Technician was attempting to expand the coverage without running extra cables as some of the walls in our Victorian villa are very thick. In the end the house won and the cables had to be installed and as a result I am pleased to say that the wi-fi is now working fine.

The shower situation was in fact far easier to rectify. On this one shower we were trialling a new design of 'eco' shower head that, despite the claims of the manufacturer, didn't prove to be successful. It is now in the bin and the normal shower head has been replaced.

Just to clear up one other point, we do have single standard, single en-suite, double and twin bedded rooms available on the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chard hotels
0.2 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Haymaker Inn
The Haymaker Inn
#5 of 13 in Chard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 13 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Golden Fleece
The Golden Fleece
#3 of 13 in Chard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermead Guest House

Property: Watermead Guest House
Address: 83 High Street, Chard TA20 1QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermead Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Watermead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermead Guest House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing