We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guest house lovely warm feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Watermead Guest House
Ranked #2 of 13 Chard B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent guest house lovely warm feeling”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Myself and colleague stayed here on the 29th and 30th October.

The guest house is ideally located a few mins walk from the town.

The room was adequately sized and beds comfortable. Good shower and washing facilities.

The breakfast was one of the best I've had.

Will definitely stay again if in the area

Neil Stretton

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    17
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
77
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Maitland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay here. The room was most comfortable, and the ensuite all you could want.Very quiet and well heated. An excellent breakfast, and great assistance and attention by Trudy and David. Off street parking makes exploring the interesting town easy. It's a great base for places such as Lyme Regis, Montacute, Hinton St George (quaint thatched roof cottages) and Cricket St Thomas (To The Manor Born).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I actually loved staying here, the owners were friendly, the food was great but there were two problems.
Firstly the shower in the bathroom was a bit like walking into a mist. It is merely a drizzle.
Secondly, the internet connection was awful. Connecting to wifi was fine but the data throughput was abysmal at best. In fairness to the owners, they are well aware of this and are working on dealing with it.
The shower situation, I suspect, will not change.

Lastly, breakfast is phenomenal. The sausages and bacon are locally produced and taste amazing.

I would have no problem with recommending this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you are choosing a single room, please be aware that they are in the attic space which is two flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidwatermead, Owner at Watermead Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thankyou for your comments and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We were up-dating our wi-fi during the time of your stay. The Technician was attempting to expand the coverage without running extra cables as some of the walls in our Victorian villa are very thick. In the end the house won and the cables had to be installed and as a result I am pleased to say that the wi-fi is now working fine.

The shower situation was in fact far easier to rectify. On this one shower we were trialling a new design of 'eco' shower head that, despite the claims of the manufacturer, didn't prove to be successful. It is now in the bin and the normal shower head has been replaced.

Just to clear up one other point, we do have single standard, single en-suite, double and twin bedded rooms available on the first floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My sister and I spent 2 nights at Watermead guest house. The AA gave them 3 stars we give them 5 stars.We cannot praise the accomodation and hosts enough. The room was spotless as was the ensuite toilet and shower, The beds were extreemly comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. If i had to choose 1 thing i'd change it would be the time of breakfast at the weekend as we are both early risers and like to get out early, however after saying that i realise that Dave and Trudy would have worked out the times around the majority of their guests.We would recommend this guesthouse to everyone and will definitely be returning there ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Given a fantastic greeting that involved a tour of the facilities, lots of local information about retaurants, pubs and places to go, and the weather forecast!

We stayed for 4 nights and were treated excellently throughout.

A comfortable room with toilet and sink ensuite and a shower in the corner of the room. Well decorated and kept very clean. A very comfortable bed with ample tea and coffee.

Breakfast was excellent - freshly cooked by a very smart looking chef. All high quality local produce - so sausages without gristle, tastey bacon and some fantastic mushrooms, amongst other choices.

Ample, easy to use, off road parking.

There are 9 or 10 rooms and most were occupied. Other guests that we chatted to we equally impressed.

Room Tip: We had room 9 which had a large double bed and looked out onto the back garden. It was very quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My huband and i had the most warm welcome what a lovely couple Trudy and David are they make you feel very welcome in there beautiful home , nothing is to much trouble there great hoist,s Trudy pointed out good places to visit and and resterants to eat , great local knowledge,
breakfast cooked to perfection and so clean .thank you for a lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mother000747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

terrific welcome, wonderful attentive hospitality, great facilities, very comfy bed - what more could I want on a business trip?

Room Tip: only saw mine but I'm sure they would all be equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtp12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.2 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
338 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 5 in Chard
656 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Ilminster
Travelodge Ilminster
#1 of 1 in Horton
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hornsbury Mill
Hornsbury Mill
#4 of 5 in Chard
182 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Shrubbery Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ammonite Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermead Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermead Guest House

Property: Watermead Guest House
Address: 83 High Street, Chard TA20 1QT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Watermead Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Watermead Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermead Guest House Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing