We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent reviews are not an accident” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent reviews are not an accident”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My family and I recently returned to the Bath House Hotel and for those readers who really don't have the time to go through lots of reviews in detail, let me summarize it for you: The excellent reviews and rating of this hotel and the restaurant are not an accident. Whether it is the quality of the service or food, the cleanliness of the rooms or just simply the warm welcome that was given to us. My wife and I have travelled much in the past thirty years and have had the opportunity to stay at anything from Youth Hostels to Leading Hotels of the World. Do we read about guests who were disappointed? Did they possibly expect to get valet parking or aromatherapy massage? Probably not really, but it is still good advice to get ones perspective right when checking into a family run small town hotel in Somerset. Let's reflect on some of our previous trips and episodes around the world: How many times were we confronted with indifference or arrogance at hotels that actually claim to have 5 stars? How many times did our air conditioner or heating not function properly in places that charged double or triple of what we paid at the Bath House Hotel? How many times did we have to chase customer service or the front desk for wireless access or a bottle of water, an adapter or an additional pillow? Did we experience any of this at the Bath House Hotel? No! Could we go on with the list of small things that can go wrong? Yes!
Our recent stay at this hotel did not disappoint in any way, and we know that many hotel and restaurant guests after us will share this positive experience. We thoroughly recommend to drop by and have a meal or stay a few nights to anyone whose travel plans take them to Chard or the area.

Room Tip: The Hollywood Suite is the largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxenways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
140
14
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, somerst
Level Contributor
146 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our booking was made purely on the strength of the amazing reviews posted previously on TA, so it was a huge shock to arrive at a destination that appeared to bear no resemblance to any of them! Signage from the main road takes you to the parking area around the back which is less than welcoming, with no clear indication as to where to go from there to the hotel entrance. It was pouring with rain so we made our way along the side of the building where we came accross a dimly lit door bearing a small sign saying hotel entrance which was locked. We rang the bell and waited-nothing, rang twice more -still nothing-still pouring with rain and not even a canopy over the door!. As we were getting very wet we decided to make our way around the front of the building where we found the restaurant entrance. We were welcomed in and offered refreshments and the hostess was slightly apologetic about not answering the bell (something about it only ringing in the flat and them all being down in the bar!) After checking in at a dining room table, we were shown to the 'Executive suite' which we had chosen as a treat (£119) Unfortunately calling a room a suite doesn't actually make it one and this is the case here. You have a very small area containing a standard double bed, and a small desk with a bog standard tea & coffee making tray. off of this is another very small room with just a sofa and a wardrobe and then the average sized bathroom. There are NO windows in the suite, just sky lights which makes it feel very dark and claustaphobic. We ate in the restaurant, the food was nice but not amazing and the service was good untill the end when I fear we out stayed our welcome as after serving coffee and brandy our waitress disappeared and we were not checked on or offered any re-fills so had to make our way to the bar area ourselves. We retired but despite the comfort of the bed it was impossible to sleep as it was hot and there was no air circulation and no windows to open. We turned on the A/C which was noisy but helped slightly with the lack of air and the heat in the room. Although we had booked 2 nights we had to leave after one for personal reasons but quite honestly it was a relief to escape that room.
We had filled in our form for breakfast on arrival and had chosen 10am, so when we arrived downstairs at 9, they were not prepared for us. They offered to phone the chef to 'get him up' to cook our breakfast, but we declined and just had toast and left. I have to say that the proprietress is a very nice lady, and tries very hard to be welcoming but nothing can disguise the fact that this is NOTHING like a 5* hotel as some reviewers have suggested, but is in fact a very small, average B&B and restaurant. Using names likes 'suites' to describe rooms and charging £20 a night more for them is very clever marketing when the room in question is smaller than anything else I have ever stayed in and for much less per night. I have no idea how so many previous reviewers can all have given such similar reviews and all be so diferrent from our own!

Room Tip: Don't choose the executive suite-very small and no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glothorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked a meal with some friends as one of them had previously eaten here and rated it as a good Chinese. When we arrived, although it apparently looks the same, a quick glance at the menu soon revealed that it is now a general restaurant without any particular theme. We enquired as to why this was and were told that it was now impossible to find suitable Chinese chefs.

The 'new' menu is OK but hardly extensive albeit that everyone in our party found something that appealed. For a restaurant with such good reviews, however, I was disappointed that there was not more choice and that 'triple cooked chips' seemed to appear so often.

The food, when it arrived, was of a good standard ... but not exceptional.

Service at the table was very good throughout but disappointing that one of the waitresses didn't bother to lift her head from her computer as we walked past on the way out.

For the money I thought that the Bath House was adequate but nothing out of the ordinary and I probably wouldn't go again. Reading the reviews, however, it's apparent that others would disagree and it may be that I missed some of its charms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have been regular customers of The Bath House, formally the 'Oriental Aroma'
The ambiance was romantic/atmospheric , the staff were professional but friendly, but most of all the food was exceptional. A fusion of taste and aroma. The starter choice allowed for a more oriental twist and the main selection was superb. We did not have a dessert, as we were comfortably 'full' but we saw other diners enjoy them. The wine choice reflected the menu and complemented the changing dishes. Certainly a quality place to eat.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank somersetUKSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the Hollywood suite for my partners birthday. After a delightfully warm welcome from karine we were shown our totally immaculate suite. Would definitely recommend.
Dined in the restaurant that evening - good variety of dishes on the menu and after much deliberation we settled on the charcuterie platter followed by a t bone steak for my partner and sea bass for me. Both dishes were cooked to perfection and tasted fantastic.
Breakfast the next morning also had a good variety of options and was expertly presented. Wish I'd had my camera with me.
All in all a truly fantastic stay .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The pleasure of staying at the Bath House started with a warm welcome from Karine and a free upgrade to the Holywood Room. This was elegantly designed, comfortable, and sparklingly clean. We stayed a couple of nights, seeing friends the first evening but dining in on the Saturday night. The food was excellent: we went for a Malay chicken curry which was deliciously authentic, though we were spoilt for choice as the menu has a good range of European and South-East Asian dishes. Breakfast both mornings was of a very high standard. We particularly liked the option of a fresh fruit plate, though of course all the traditional dishes are available. Altogether Karine and Ron have set a high standard which shows just how well a small hotel / restaurant can be run.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just back from a second stay at the Bath House Hotel. It has to be the best B&B around. The rooms are really lovely - contemporary with a hint of zen. Good quality bathrooms. Luxurious furnishings. Top quality breakfasts that set you up for the day. Karine takes great care of you and made you feel completely at home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaKx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
11.7 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing