We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Food is superb both in the evening and also for breakfast. C
Accommodation is A1 and service first class.
Best small hotel I have stayed in for a very long time
The only small drawback is parking but this is ok if arriving early enough

Room Tip: Exec suite and Hollywood suite are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
140
14
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

The hotel is above a chinese restuarant do not let this put you off restuarant shuts early and is first class restuarant not after pub type.we stayed in the hollywood room Air Con.Large Bath Sep/Shower Double Glazing Boutique style (superb Breakfast second to none) Host nothing to much trouble cannot reccomend enough.

Room Tip: We only stayed once but will go again so all i can say our room superb everyone at breakfast looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Whilst I'd say it was a "restaurant with rooms" rather than a hotel , all the good reviews about the bath house are true. The highest quality accommodation, wonderful dinners and a breakfast to die for - combined with the friendliest service you'll ever get. Certainly a Gem - Chard should be proud !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suffolk_lad_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We were in the area for a wedding and found the Bath House on Trip Advisor. The quality, cleanliness etc. has been covered in other reviews and is all true. The breakfast was excellent. Although in the centre of town and there's a busy restaurant beneath, couldn't believe how quiet it was. Many thanks to Karine and Don for their genuine, warm welcome and hospitality. Many thanks to Karine for organising a taxi for us.
This would be an excellent stopover on a journey down to the west country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The other reviews here cover the points eloquently - this review is simply to confirm that it really is as good as they say. Food and accommodation of the highest quality matched with first rate service. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I have visited this B&B a few times and returned this time with my wife, as usual the service and welcome was second to none. Karine and Donald are both the perfect hosts and their commitment to you as a guest shows throughout the rooms and in their staff. If these guys ran a top hotel in London then The Savoy watch your backs. No detail is left not taken care of in the rooms and they are spotless. To top all this the food in the restaurant and at breakfast are to die for.

Room Tip: Any room is worth staying in but for that added wow book the Hollywood room or the Executive suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Everything positive about The Bath House is true - there aren't enough superlatives to describe the genuine welcome, gorgeous decor and delicious food which all come as standard. The service is unobtrusive yet there just before you need it - Karine has a natural ability to be the perfect host. Dinner and breakfast are plentiful, mouthwatering and beautifully presented. As others have said, it's the best Chinese menu ever. Thank you ron, Karine and Staff for a relaxing, cosseted stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewForester92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
15.9 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
10.1 mi away
Mariners Hotel
Mariners Hotel
#4 of 4 in Lyme Regis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing