We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still hitting all the high notes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bath House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Still hitting all the high notes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I'm delighted to say that the Bath House Hotel is maintaining, maybe even exceeding, the cracking standard they were setting themselves when I wrote my 2009 review.

In fact, it's even more impressive to be able to say it now because the place is still immaculate with no signs of wear so obviously the owners are paying attention to maintaining its immaculate condition.

Breakfast is still excellent - substantial enough to set you up for the day and still beautifully prepared and presented.

Absolutely the best place to stay in Chard (I've tried four over the years) and worth going out of your way to experience.

Room Tip: All different - look at the photos on the hotel website to see what suits your taste. I prefer the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonat1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    32
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
140
14
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed at the Bath House for six months Monday to Friday when working on contract in Dorset. I can honestly say that it was a pleasure and a privilage to stay with such wonderful people. The accommodation is first class, the food is amazing and the staff superb.

I have never stayed in a place that made me feel so welcome. I am now working at home and must say I miss everybody, I felt part of the family.

Best of luck to all at the Bath House and keep up the great work. I will be back. Cheers Andy

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Hidden upstairs from a Chinese restaurant, this hotel is an oasis of calm and class. The cosy rooms are beautifully styled, very clean and comfy.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, but unintrusive.

Breakfast was gorgeous! We had fresh fruit salad and an enormous cooked breakfast. All very well prepared and presented.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londongirl261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Have eaten here many, many times over the past five years and always thoroughly enjoyed the food, which never deviates from perfection. The staff never change, and always remember us, even though it could be more than six months between visits. However, had the opportunity to finally stay here overnight - very impressive room; everything you could expect from a 5* hotel but with wonderful personal touches. Spotlessley clean, with quality features. Karine is a superb hostess, and we will definately be making a return visit when next in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Executive Room - first thought was it was a small room, but it has a lovely ante-ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

You really must look beyond the fact that this B&B is above an (excellent) Chinese restaurant. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was better than some 4 star city hotels we have stayed in and the owners were attentive and caring without being overbearing.

The breakfast was superb and we would recommend this B&B to any of our friends. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieds_dans_L_eau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Lovely clean comfortable room with all facilities we could need. Comfy bed and quiet area despite being right on the shopping street. Delicious, freshly cooked breakfast with lashings of orange juice and extra toast.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kizzi423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

When we booked to stay in Chard on our way to the coast, I was not sure what to expect. But I was really impressed. It was excellent because of the hotel, the whole team at The Bath House is extremely friendly and attentive to every detail. The room was clean, modern decoration and spacious, the breakfast was really lovely (we had salmon and asparagus - nice to have something different in the menu) - it was perfectly cooked and presented beautifully.
We also had dinner there the night before. My husband is allergic to nuts and they took great care to make sure the food was suitable for him. The food was also very good, freshly cooked, full of flavour.
Thank you for everything!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foody_traveller_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chard
0.8 mi away
The Lordleaze Hotel
The Lordleaze Hotel
#2 of 4 in Chard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
10.8 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rousdon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
7.6 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Shrubbery Hotel
11.7 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
21.7 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath House Hotel

Property: Bath House Hotel
Address: 28 Holyrood Street, Chard TA20 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chard
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Chard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bath House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Bath House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bath Hotel Chard
Bath House Hotel Chard, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing