We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been there six times now - tells you something?”
Review of Ystad Saltsjobad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ystad Saltsjobad
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ystad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A regular visitor since 2006, this was actually our sixth visit. It is indeed a very nice place to go and we enjoy the atmosphere. It has grown quite a bit and enjoys a high degree of popularity, and every time we come there we see a painter here, a carpenter there. All the same, it would be nice if they replaced the worn carpet at the wing leading to the room 200 and up. Friendly staff, welcoming atmosphere and lots of smiling faces meet you everywhere. Arriving on a Sunday, the place was packed, and the spa area was apparently filled to capacity. Instead, we went fore a long walk along the beach, which must be beautiful in summer. Having booked a late dinner (9 pm seating), we found the nice spa area much less populated around 6 o'clock. The restaurant has been refurbished since our visit last year and looks more inviting, although some of the chairs are more for looking at than for sitting on (incidentally, watch out for the sharp corners on some of the metal tabletops - they can easily rip your trousers!). As a starter, we opted for grilled scallop with cauliflower soup & pumpkin seeds. The soup was cream-based and much to rich for our taste, so we both left most of it. The lone scallop was fine." Herb baked veal 57’ C, ragoût of prime rib, parsley root variation & roasted potatoes" sounded interesting, but the balance between the delicate veal and the rather heavy ragout was not good. Dessert (chocolate circus, raspberry crème & meringue) was better. The wine list is generally very good value for money (which the minibar definitely isn't - exorbitantly priced wines, so order in the restaurant!). Rooms are very nice, but generally too hot. To sum up: dinner was a below our expectations based on previous visits, but the nice spa area, excellent location and friendly staff make us look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejvind R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We justed renovate our restaurants. Next time I hope you´ll test us again and maybe we will get full hand :-)

Regards
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 3,851 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to Ystad Saltsjöbad to celebrate a friends 30th birthday with a luxurious spa day on a Sunday in mid January. It was a perfect day! (We didn't spend the night) The spa area was calm, clean and nice with a beautiful view over the ocean from the sauna. The small heated pools outside were great on a snowy day. In the Luxury Day package deal you get one spa treatment, access to gym and spa, lunch and a three-course dinner (without beverages). I got a facial and was really happy about it – even if the skin care therapist was a bit too pushy when she immediately suggested that I got some visible vessels in my face removed with laser… :) I also tried Body Pump. It was a good class which left me sore for days. The food was great! For lunch we had a delicious shrimp sandwich on rye bread in the lounge area and the three-course dinner in the beautiful restaurant was superb. The only negative was that we only got one bathrobe. When wet the bathrobe got super cold and by lunch time we were shivering.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdaLund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks, hope we see your again soon!
Regards
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed with my wife and kid in Ystad Saltsjobad during January 2-6, 2013. Overall, we liked our stay in the hotel.
Location - we did not have any problem with getting to the hotel from Copenhagen, it takes about 1.5 hours to get by car. The road from Copenhagen to Malmo through that enornous bridge between Denmark and Sweden makes the trip fast and enjoyable. The toll fees are high though, and cost around 40 euro one way. Also, we had some odd thing going on with our navigator system, as it refused to direct us through the bridge, but consistently suggested a longer route though ferry in Helsingborg. The hotel is located in 5-minute drive from Ystad town, so one can go to the town for dinner, there are a few nice restaurants there.
The hotel is located right on the beach, so you will hear the murmur of the Baltic sea if you sleep with your window open. The best thing about this hotel though - is a broadwalk along this long sandy beach and pine trees (it is called spapromenade), there is nothing better then having a little stroll there in the nice sunny day. Also, we recommend you go for some sightseeing - Ales Stenar (a Swedish Stonehedge, quite a surreal place) and Svaneholmes slott (a very nice little palace on the lake, we dropped in for a cup of tea and candies, it's located halfway from Ystad to Malmo)
Rooms - We understand the the hotel has two types of rooms: the ones called delux are located in the new part of the hotel building (closer to the spa area); they are modern and newly renovated; the superior and standard rooms are locared in the older part of the building and are not renovated. When we checked in, there was some mess up with our room; we booked delux room, but aparently our room was given to someone else, and we were proposed a superior room. We complained, because we travelled with infant and the room was too small to put a baby cot there, and it was not delux. To the credit of the hotel, they immediately fixed the mistake: apologized and upgraded us to junior suite. Although the suite is not as newly refurbished as delux rooms, it is very well maintained, quite large, nicely decorated in marine theme, and had a sea view - we liked it very much. One think to note though - there is no escalator to the junior suite room (probably, because it is in the older wing of the building). Also, we thought the bathrooms could be larger, but maybe this is because of us spoiled Russians.
Restaurant - we liked breakfast a lot, all products were fresh and nicely cooked.The restaurant itself is very cosy and has nice view at the Baltic sea. The dinner however was not impressive at all, we had it once and for other nights chose to go for dinner to Ystad (we dined at Ostergatan and Store Thore restaurants, and both were quite good).
Spa - having travelled to some of the larger spa hotels in Europe (Naantali in Finland and Spirit in Hungary), the spa at Soltsjobad seemed small. But personally I liked it - to me, it was quite efficiently designed, and had all you need for a good time in spa (sauna, hot outdoor pool, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, area for relaxation near fireplace). We understand though that the water springs are note thermal spring, and this what makes Soltsjobad spa different from old spa resorts in Austria (Corinthia), Germany (Baden) and Czech republic (Marienbad, Carlovy Vary). Also, the pool water had too much of checmicals for disinfection, which is not good for skin. I had full body massage, but I thought it was quite an ordinary and frankly overpriced. My wife had facial treatment, and she liked it. To be honest, we did not have lots of time to enoy spa, as we travelled with 2-year old boy and had time limit for ourselves.
Overall, we would recommend going to this hotel - it is cozy and have some home feel, service is good, there are lots of sightseeing around, and finally - there is natural beauty of the place and that fantastic Baltic sea, sandy beach and pine trees. We think it's probably even nicer in the summer, as more places around the hotel are open, and it is more fun.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tulenikatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. We hope you will be back soon again!
Regards
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Ystad Saltsjøbad is a really nice hotel in south of Sweden. The rooms were nice, good beds and a nice SPA area. The restaurant seemed ok but did not eat there. Just took a couple beers in the bar.Low season so not so many visitors. Good breakfast. A nice sleepover!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjørnar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks,
please try our new restaurant next time .-)
See you!
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

A nice seafront hotel with spa that has an issue with it's crowd.

The fact there are so many guests also removes entirely the "spa feeling", not so relaxing. There also seems to be an issue with the crowd who go here, at least when we visited. When me and my girlfriend visited for our relaxing spa break, netting us about 5000 SEK for a one night stay including dinner and one spa treatment each, there were large groups of guys in the spa area that clearly didn't respect the other guests. One group of guys sat and farted loudly in the sauna, fully aware that there were other guests there. Another group of guys repeatedly jumped in the pool to splash water, pushing each other in, diving and so on. Keep in mind this is a fairly small pool in a spa, not a sports centre.. And this went on for hours.

Sound levels are extremely loud in the spa when all these people are around. They talk loudly, scream, fart and so on. When you pay 5000 SEK for one night you would expect a lot more. Maybe the hotel sell expensive tickets to some guests and then other not so expensive tickets to large groups of the people who think passing gas in a sauna when there are more people around is appropriate behavior. Anyway, the hotel will lose out on this behaviour in the long run no doublt.

I should also add that during this whole time, not a single person from staff visited the spa area to check about the sound levels. Not a single time was anyone told they could not jump and dive into the pool.

I want to stress that all the issues above are with the other guests, not the hotel itself. But the fact the hotel attracts an audience like the above causes problems for the other guests and likely makes them think twice before going next time. Also, the fact the hotel makes no effort to control the number of guests in the spa or the sound or problems they cause other guests makes you believe it is the kind of activity they accept.

The above circus of farting in the sauna had it's epicentre the afternoon we arrived, the second day was calmer, mostly because the spa wasn't as crowded.

YSB need to get their head around how to deal with this. You just can't run a spa and sell relaxing spa breaks and at the same time allow groups of guys to play around as they like in the spa area for hours.

Another negative thing is the fact the hotel charges you to have a dry bathrobe the second day. As they get really wet after a day in the spa you'd expect you could have a free new one the second day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunQuest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Our Qualitymanager now owns your thoughts and we will do everythink to get better.
Regards
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ystad Saltsjöbad is a wonderful referat. Er sent there for our honeymoon in 2008 and returned in October 2012 for our 4 years anniversiry. Lovely rooms, gourmet food and a spa experience worth diamond. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank´s for your positive feedback.
Welcome back!

Regards
Anders Nilsson
CEO

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here one night as part of a large Wedding held at YSB. I was the wedding photographer and wedding guest at the same time.

The hotel is large, situated right on the beach and is quite private in the sense that there's not much else surrounding it on either side, which makes it more of a secluded hotel in a way. Most people come here during the day to "hang out", at the spa, at the beach or to eat a meal at the restaurant, whereas I'd guess only about half of those people "hanging out" actually stay overnight. In summer when the water is warmer you can take full advantage of the very long bridges stretching out into the water for a nice salt-water dip (some go in winter too!).

It's a quite pretty hotel both inside and out and at night various lights make it really fun to walk around. They recently renovated some aspects of it and the "event hall" is large and a job well done. The Spa is probably one of the main things it's famous for, and for good reason, as it's fantastic. The restaurant was very good, we ate there a few times, and probably due to the wedding party size service was a bit spotty at one point, but they made up for it immediately when we had any (valid) complaints. Always friendly and professional. Breakfast and Brunch is a buffet that will amaze even the most picky, and I don't recall anything that I didn't like food-wise. Breakfast even had some more "complicated" dishes (benedict, pancakes etc). All you can eat.

My room was in the corner of one of the wings facing the ocean (above the restaurant) and even though it was on the small size, I found the decor (very nautic-style) and the amenities to be great, and it was a very comfortable and quiet room. I slept like a log (again, wedding), and not for too many hours, so I'm probably not the best person to write about actually using the room much.

Service was really outstanding. I (and the wedding) really used all aspects of it. I know for a fact that the wedding planner is amazing as I had contact with her before the wedding and saw how well it was executed. Super well organized in terms of food, timing, setup, everything. All staff was amazingly friendly, seemed happy to work there and eager to help. I truly enjoyed every encounter with them.

The surroundings are fantastic, there's spots everywhere to "lounge" both inside and outside. If you're looking for a great relaxing Spa-based weekend at a hotel in the Ystad region, I highly recommend a night at YSB, it's worth it.

Room Tip: As with most hotels, a room with a view is always nicer than one with none. Ocean view at this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainlord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VDAndersNilsson, General Manager at Ystad Saltsjobad, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thanks for your positive response. Hope to see you again soon at Ystad Saltsjöbad.
Regards
Anders Nilsson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ystad
1.1 mi away
Hotel Continental Ystad Du Sud
1.3 mi away
Anno 1793 Sekelgarden
0.1 mi away
Villa Strandvagen
Villa Strandvagen
#1 of 6 in Ystad
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Karlaby Kro
Karlaby Kro
#1 of 1 in Karlaby
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotell Prins Carl
Hotell Prins Carl
#5 of 6 in Ystad
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandskogens Camping & Stugor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ystad Saltsjobad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ystad Saltsjobad

Address: 15 Saltsjoebadsvaegen, Ystad 271 39, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Ystad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ystad
Price Range: $283 - $525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ystad Saltsjobad 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today Ystad Saltsjöbad is a hotel under ongoing change. Since May 2007 there are new owners who are now transforming the hotel into a classic New Port hotel. It is all about taking advantage of the local charm and the closeness to the sea and at the same time our fantastic resources. The whole environment is lightened up and modernized and the SPA and conference halls are becoming larger. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ystad Saltsjobad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing