We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No messing”
Review of Sandskogens Vardshus - CLOSED

Sandskogens Vardshus
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Wingfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“No messing”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had lunch here. We were offered the special and took it. Each day it is different. Today it was cod. Delicious. The dessert was apiece of chocolate cake and coffee - still not found a single drinkable coffee in Scandinavia but that didn't detract from an excellent unpretentious meal

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jake1642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ended up here because our hotel was fully booked for dinner.
An extremely memorable dining experience. Loved the decor and ambiance. Fabulous food , flavours were worthy of Michelin stars . Expensive but worth it for a special dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HOTELINSPECTORABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with great food.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located a bit outside the citycenter close to summer residence and the beach area. An old building which has been renovated by the new management without taking away the old charm of the building. We had a wonderful meal prepared to perfection and served by an attentive and smiling waitress. A place to enjoy if you happen to have your way through Ystad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hakan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excelent food and service”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Spent some days in Ystad and we had an excelent 5 cource dinner with a wine menu at Sandskogen. Interesting local products and good choise of wine. We had a very experienced waitor that made the dinner perfect.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leif P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You can skip dinner at this place”
Reviewed August 26, 2009

We saw this lovely building on our way to the beach hotel and thought that we must come for dinner. As Monday was closed we decided to come again next day.

The building is lovely from outside. Inside the interior design does not really match. It is old and the carpet wasn't probably cleaned for the last 10 years. The tables were nicely arranged with glasses, fabric serviettes and it did make an impression that even though the furniture was old and not that nice it could be a nice restaurant.

We ordered food - salmon with lobster sauce, asparagus and potatoes and there was some salad arrangement on the side. My partner ordered duck with croquette and some vegetables. The food came within 5 minutes and it was clear that it was not freshfly prepared. The food was nearly cold and while we were eating and talking about it we regreted that we came into this place blinded by the nice building. We didn't finish the food and also couldn't hold back to inform the waitress that the food did not seem to be freshly prepared but rather warmed up in the microwave. We are not sure if it just slipped out or if she was just honest but she actually said that it wasn't warmed up in the microwave but in the oven. UNBELIEVABLE! Microwave or oven - this place is not to recommendable for dinner. If you want to enjoy the nice terrasse - maybe the coffee is not warmed up. We haven't tried it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandskogens Vardshus also viewed

Ystad, Skane County
Ystad, Skane County
 
Ystad, Skane County
Ystad, Skane County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing