We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EarlyBird menu great value”

Winships Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Ovington
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EarlyBird menu great value”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

A splendid meal was had at this friendly restaurant in the lovely village of Ovington. As a family group we spanned all ages and everyone found something to enjoy. The early - bird menu contained plenty of choice and the food was well cooked- the desserts were spectacular!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltsmum52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    21
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm welcome”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Despite having just returned from the chef's birthday trip to edinburgh and the closed sign out side, Winships opened their door to to give a warm welcome to our passing party of 5 walkers. They provided tea, coffee and, to our surprise, refreshments for us too.....and then charged us hardly anything!
Thank you

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went to Winships ith friends on 12th Sept the food and service was first class pleased we did not take any notice of previous review.

The person who was a former GFG inspector was talking a load of rubbish it is clear to see why he is a former inspector.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mickley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overrated and overpriced for what's on offer”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

How this restaurant ever got a Good Food Guide (2011) rating I do not know (and I was an anonymous GFG inspector for 5 years). Better is The Lion and Lamb in Horsley in a nearby village.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Otsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great welcome, great food.”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My favourite restaurant. Lovely food with very welcoming and attentive staff. Very reasonable early bird menu 5 - 6.30p.m. Fuller menu later. Food prepared by experienced chef Norman who goes out of his way to prepare food to your liking. Would advise booking or at least giving them a call before you set off as it is often quite busy. I have eaten here many times and the food and service has been consistantly good. Also opens for morning coffee during the week and lunches most days although I haven't tried these yet. No food on a Monday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winships Restaurant also viewed

Corbridge, Northumberland
Consett, County Durham
 
Ovingham, Northumberland
 

Been to Winships Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing