We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bello”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Etna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Etna Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giarre
Certificate of Excellence
Moncalieri, Piemonte, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bello”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

My family and I arrived in Sicily at the beginning of August and we spent four nights at the Etna hotel. Our experience was really nice: everyone treated us like family members, everyone was so friendly !

We had a lovely, cool and large room with a small garden for us only, that my kids really appreciated, but what we loved most was the amazing swimming pool.

The staff was really helpful, giving us information about the best places to go and helping us find again our luggage, that the air company had lost.

We had such a great time that we really recommend this hotel to families with kids !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florin888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    110
    27
    3
    3
See reviews for
76
129
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The rooms are very good. They have a very nice pool. The best food I had during our week long Italy visit, that included Rome, Positano, and Sicily was easily at this hotel's restaurant. We ended up eating dinner at the hotel restaurant all three nights in Sicily. The location is scary and does not allow you to walk around in the town. You absolutely need to hire drivers and tour companies to get to tourist attractions. The hotel staff were friendly but not helpful. There were lots of cats everywhere on the hotel grounds which I found odd. If I come back to Sicily I would probably stay at a place in Messina or Catania

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank padma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Givat Ela
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I absolutely agree with other reviewers, The hotel is fine, the rooms are of good size, well equipped, good air conditioned and WIFI. The breakfast is also very good. The main problem is location. I have been in the hotel in august and all the interesting places for tourist are at least 30 minutes travelling by car. Then my concussion is very simple, the hotel is really fine. but the location is not good and it is necessary to take a car to reach to the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edtani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

A fantastic base to visit Sicily from. It's best to have a car to do some real sight seeing. A beautiful hotel with friendly staff over looked by Mt Etna.
Fantastic staff, a very nice restaurant for dinner. No negatives at all. Love the English family who stayed in room 101.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mocba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed her for a week in July. The hotel is located on the outside of Giarre and is near Riposto and Mescali. I would advise you have a car. Beautiful hotel grounds with a small number a guests. The rooms are a good size with a small fridge and air conditioning. The breakfast is a buffet and provides a wide selection of cheese, meats, fruit and breads. There are plenty of loungers at the pool and additional seating under shade when you need a break from the sun.

Train station is about a mile away and you can get a return to Messina (60km away) for about €10. The beach is also about a mile away. Small pebbled beach.

Restaurants are scare, the area is not designed for tourist like Taormina. The hotel restaurant is slightly over priced for the portion sizes.

I would recommend staying here but have a car. Ours fell through at the airport due to lack of a credit card.

Etna is over looking the hotel and is a spectacular view. The hotel offers trips to etna with a company run by geology students so its very informative.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Frannyremo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

After my partner and I decided that we needed a relaxing week away somewhere warm (the prolonged winter in London getting us down) we finally decided on Etna Hotel.

The taxi ride from the airport (kindly arranged by the hotel before departure) might cause you to be slightly concerned by some of Sicily's 'rustic' character - do not let this fool you. Etna Hotel is set back from the road and is an idyllic set of buildings in lovely lush grounds. When we arrived, we were checked in and shown our room which was overlooking the courtyard and was nicely sized. Although we did not have a private balcony, there was a bench outside our room which overlooked the courtyard and was perfect to sit at with a glass of wine in the evening before bed.

The hotel is even more beautiful in the daylight and offers views of Mount Etna from the pool. The pool has ample space for sunbathing and also offers a solarium when you need some shade.

There is a restaurant next door to the hotel which offers very good food and we were looked after every time we ate here. There is also a nice seafood restaurant in Riposte which is a 10 minute cycle (the hotel kindly loaned us use of the bicycles) which we visited a couple of times for lunch.

There is not much to do in the local area so if you fancy more than staying and lying around the pool, you may want to hire a car, although you can walk (if you are brave with fast cars and no pavements) to the station in Giarre/Riposte where you can get a train to Taormina in 20 minutes.

Overall, Etna Hotel is a lovely place to stay for a nice relaxing break in the sunshine. The hotel staff are beyond lovely and are extremely helpful. We have already recommended the hotel to friends who have booked to stay in August and we will definitely stop again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is difficult to find as its hidden slightly but it's worth the search. It's a very pretty set of buildings and has a nice size garden with pool and a big car park and a clear view of Mt Etna. The room was comfortable but our view was of the car sales opposite. Nevertheless the staff were very friendly and gave us a free bottle of sparkling wine upon arrival for being guests. Overall I highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giarre
La Terra dei Sogni
#1 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#5 of 50 in Catania
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etna Hotel

Property: Etna Hotel
Address: Via Continella 10, 95014, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Giarre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Etna Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Etna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etna Hotel Giarre
Etna Hotel Sicily/Giarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing