We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellissimo!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo San Leonardello
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was one wonderful experience! The farm is just off the main road through a pair of electronic gates. We arrived in the early afternoon. We were greeted warmly, given keys and shown around the property. The B&B is perfect for families or couples. There is a salt water pool off a very large deck. Beautiful scenery, Etna in the background and the sea off in the distance in front of you.The breakfasts are just about perfect, all fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, juice and coffee. You couldn't ask for more. The lovely family that runs the B&B is very helpful and are indeed just very nice people. They live there and you can see how much they love this place. Giare itself is small and the main street is wanting but it is located close to Mt Etna. We drove through another part of Giare one night and there were plenty of people walking around the town so main street may give you a false image. We visited Etna's North face and quite a few villages during our stay and Taormina as well. It was about twenty minutes by car along the autostrada to Taorimina. We chose not to stay in Taormina and that area because of the crowds and tourists and San Leonardello was a perfect choice for us. The villages along the road to Etna are very picturesque and worth a visit. We chose to have our meal at San Leonardello two nights and I wouldn't hesitate to say that it was two of the best meals we had eaten in all of Sicily, which is saying a lot. Upon asking, the chef explained his meals, how he prepares it and how he came to love cooking. He uses farm fresh and local ingredients. This is a meal not to be missed! Stay here, eat here, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wocaplel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 183 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

A charming place to stay, where you feel as though you are guests of the Sicilian family. The rooms were clean, the location with the orange grove and the figs and lemons where you were welcomed to pick and eat whatever fruit you fancied was typically Sicilian and never to be forgotten. The evening meals served outside overlooking Mount Etna is something that we will never forget. Super...!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanMelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed in 5 different and all excellent agriturismos in Sicily. But this one was the best of them all!. In particular the relaxed and very welcoming attitude of the family. I was ill one morning and Giuseppe was even so kind to go the village to get me some medicine! Luckily I got well pretty soon so I could enjoy the excellent food (really spectacular!) that he made in the evenings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for three nights at the B&B San Leonardello. A family run place with the whole family, grandparents, parents and children involved. Absolutely marvelous. It is set in a citrus garden and they make their own limoncello, marmelades and other things. It has a nice swimming pool. Your close by the Etna, Taormina, catania and Syracuse (1 hr). The owner is also the cook and they make a fantastice 5 course dinner if ordered at breakfast. You sit outside high on a terrace overlooking the village. After dinner, the owner serves a limoncello to the guests and you can ask him about daytrips etc. The B&B is environmental friendly. Once more, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gijsbert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

During my 10-day stay in Sicilia, this was the place I truly enjoyed and would love to visit again. The rooms are ine the middle of a citrus orchard, with lemons, blood oranges and cumquats. And we were more than welcome to go around and pick fruit if we wanted to.

The family who runs it are so lovely and helpful. The food is incredibly good. We weren't sure if we should eat at the farm, but after ordering dinner there the first night, we decided to eat there the rest of the nights of our stay as well.

A lovely experience at a relaxing farm. I would highly recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarteMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We just came bacjk from a trip though Sicily (by rental car). During this trip we stayed in several Agriturismo. This one in San Leonardello (close to Catania) was great, It's a family business. The whole family does his/her part. It is restfull with a swimming pool and very nice appartments. Stunning views on mount Etna. The food was one of the best we had in Sicily, it's not included in the price but the 28 euro per person is moneyworth. We had a six course meal including wine, water and coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ring L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Family-run business, in the middle of an lemon orchard. they even offered us home-made granita - real treat. The food (half board) was sensational. Perfect atmosphere to relax by the pool with a view on Mount Etna. Home-made limoncello and jams - mmmmmm.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giarre
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
#1 of 3 in Santa Venerina
262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
#1 of 27 in Acireale
200 reviews
4 mi away
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
#2 of 15 in Giarre
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.5 mi away
Riserva del Noce
Riserva del Noce
#4 of 16 in Caltagirone
70 reviews
48.6 mi away
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
#3 of 16 in Caltagirone
157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Galea
Agriturismo Galea
#1 of 17 in Riposto
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo San Leonardello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo San Leonardello

Address: Via Madonna della Liberta' n 165, 95014, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Price Range: $74 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo San Leonardello 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm house, immersed in the countryside of Eastern Sicily, surrounded by an historic biological citrus garden, offers accommodations in restored rural houses. From the property, guests can enjoy a magnificent view of Mount Etna, Taormina and the sea. The most famous tourist attractions and locations, interesting from an archeological and natural point of view, are just few minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo San Leonardello Sicily/Giarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing