We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place to Be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo San Leonardello
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Amazing Place to Be”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Family-run business, in the middle of an lemon orchard. they even offered us home-made granita - real treat. The food (half board) was sensational. Perfect atmosphere to relax by the pool with a view on Mount Etna. Home-made limoncello and jams - mmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    41
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
51
88
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We just got back from a six night stay at Agriturismo San Leonardello. It was wonderful. The farm itself is beautiful with groves of lemon, orange, and kumquat trees. The view from our terrace was Etna on one side and the sea on the other. We even went up on the roof terrace for an even more spectacular view. The room was very clean, with a spacious, updated bathroom. You definately need a car, but it is a perfect location for touring around Sicily. It is close to the autostrada which we found very easy to use. It's only half an hour to the airport and about 20 minutes to the beautiful city of Taromina. There are many fantastic places to see close by, and we also took two longer trips, one to Agrigento, and the other to Cefalu very easily. It takes about 2 hours to get to each place and it's a great chance to see the beautiful interior of Sicily with it's farmlands which seem like Sicily was long ago.The Calabretta family is so nice and it was a pleasure getting to know them. That's what is nice about staying in an agriturismo rather than a hotel. They take great pride in their place and we talked to them a lot. We are able to speak some Italian but they also know some English for those who don't. The breakfast is wonderful with homemade foods including lemon tort and homemade yogurt, and many other goodies, including fruit and marmarlade from their farm. We had several dinners at the farm, which you sign up for in the morning or plan it ahead. The food was absolutely fantastic and all homemade. The first night we had bread, fritters, pasta with pistachios, pasta with ragu and meat, rolled veal,capannata, fruit from the farm, a pistachio dessert, wine, and limoncello from their lemons. Molto delicioso!!They cook many Sicilian specialties and even offer cooking classes. Some people that were staying there helped to make the meal during their class. The pool looked nice but it wasn't that hot, and we spent most days touring around. We loved Sicily and hope to return and stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room with terrace with views of Etna and the Sea
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mariagBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A fantastic place to see Etna, in fact she is in the backyard! also great for visiting Taormina and Catania. Others who stayed when we did, also took day trips to Noto and Ragusa.
This was the best food we had in Italy! Simple food, cooked well.
We chatted with the other guests, and felt very much at home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whyallagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, WA
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

A perfect location for exploring all that Eastern Sicily has to offer. We spent one day driving around the base of Etna and visiting the small villages along the way. The second day was exploring Noto and Ragusa. The farm is semi-rustic and the rooms spacious and clean. The smell of citrus in the air is amazing. The entire Family Calabretta could not have been more gracious and accommodating. The breakfast is just enough and dinners prepared by Rita are fantastic. Recommend trying and/or purchasing the farm made marmilades and the flavored honey from Zafferana.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Visited during the first week in April and found the place enchanting. The agriturismo is situated between Etna and the sea and is well served by the road network, since it is close to the autostrada and is half way between Catania and Taormina.

The Calabretta family were extremely welcoming and friendly, breakfast was a treat on the sunny terrace overlooking the sea and after a day of touring, we would return to a delicious three-course meal made with fresh ingredients and rounded off by a limoncello made from lemons situated on the property.

The huge orchard and setting were beautiful and the swimming pool area looked so relaxing - pity it was not warm enough to take a swim. The rooms were also cleaned daily and we had a porch with garden furniture and sunbeds where we could relax and enjoy the surroundings. The highlight was being called out by Antonio during supper to see the lava at night winding down from the summit of Etna - truly spectacular!

Would not hesitate to recommend the property and our hosts, who were welcoming and friendly. I intend to return during the summer season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSCRabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 9 days in April and the experience has been excellent. The family who runs the agroturismo makes you feel at home. We went with our two daughters, Carlotta (6) and Alice (4) and they had the best time with Santi, the grandson, Lulu , the lovely dog, the cats and the chickens. They were playing around all the play area and between the lemon trees, great! And be ready for dinner....great Sicilian food. Plus we went to visit a lot of places, from Taormina, Catania, Siracusa to Sicli, Ragusa, Enna and we saw the volcano Etna in action! What an experience for the four of us. The girls were crying when we had to leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silviavdep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NB
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Agriturismo San Leonardello. Our hosts, Rita and Nino were very gracious, the accomadations were perfect, a quick drive, less than 2 hours to all the sites we wanted to see from Messina to Ragusa. The the food Guiseppe prepares for dinner is definately awesome. Well worth the trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giarre
4.0 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
#1 of 4 in Santa Venerina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
#3 of 21 in Acireale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
#3 of 12 in Caltagirone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Galea
Agriturismo Galea
#2 of 12 in Riposto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
#2 of 12 in Giarre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo San Leonardello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo San Leonardello

Property: Agriturismo San Leonardello
Address: Via Madonna della Liberta' n 165, 95014, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo San Leonardello 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm house, immersed in the countryside of Eastern Sicily, surrounded by an historic biological citrus garden, offers accommodations in restored rural houses. From the property, guests can enjoy a magnificent view of Mount Etna, Taormina and the sea. The most famous tourist attractions and locations, interesting from an archeological and natural point of view, are just few minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo San Leonardello Sicily/Giarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing