We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but a bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo San Leonardello
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit disappointed”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights. I wish we had the same experience as the other reviewers. We arrived and were greeted by Nino, who spoke no English. We don't expect everyone to speak English and we know some Italian, but there was a complete language barrier. After showing us our rooms, he didn't show us the rest of the place until we asked. There was a pool but we were never told if we could use it or not. The family was nice, but we had no idea who was in charge. Nobody checked on us. The dinner is a bit expensive for what you get. They give you house wine, but we quickly finished it having 4 people in our party. They didn't offer to give us more. Our water ran out too. They gave us a tiny bit of Limoncello at the end. Very very tiny amount. They also gave us cookies that were sliced into 4 strips. We each got 2 which amounted to about a 1/2 cookie. The food was good though. The rooms were ok, but the beds were uncomfortable. Also, at night there was a dog in the distance that barked all night. (It wasn't Lulu, who is the farm dog.) We did like all the animals on the farm, especially Lulu. She was a great dog. The breakfasts weren't that substantial, especially since we just came from a place that served a more hearty buffet. The homemade marmalades were good though and so was the fresh orange juice. The grounds were nice but seemed overgrown. I appreciate that the two women who tended to the breakfast tried to make an effort to talk to us about our day, but it was difficult to communicate at times even with our limited Italian-speaking skills. They seemed a bit uncomfortable being hosts. Great location though. Easy to get to Mt. Etna.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazytravelerTacoma22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    42
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
90
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed for two nights and took the cooking class. We really enjoyed ourselves. The family welcomed us and made everything personable. We felt we were part of their family for the two days we were there. The cooking class was fnatastic. So many varied dishes and so good!!!
I highly recommend it for couples and for those who can actually spend a little time there.

Room Tip: All beds in Italy are hard and the pillows are flat. The buildings are made out of ceramic and brick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddeford Pool, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We would highly recommend this property. It is in an absolutely beautiful setting—a working citrus grove/farm on a hillside at the foot of Mount Etna and overlooking the Mediterranean.

We stayed in a room in one of the small houses on the farm. This house would be perfect for a larger family or group of friends . It has a large open living / dining area that incorporates a complete kitchen and (we believe) three bedrooms.

Our room was good sized—even by American standards--and had a separate bath. It opened onto a terrace overlooking the water. The wifi connection in the room was good and we experienced no shortage of hot water.

The family that runs the agritourismo is lovely, though their English is very limited. The mother and father run the farm’s restaurant, where we had a wonderful dinner and a good, varied breakfast. We were disappointed we do not speak Italian because they all seemed eager to converse, particularly the father, who struck us as a font of local knowledge.

We also were pleased to make our small contribution to helping the family maintain and improve their citrus business.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JackfromMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, HI
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband & I visited in mid-February when it was chilly & rainy outside, but the farm was warm and the Calabretta family was very welcoming & helpful.

We had a rental car & were given a remote for the gate, so we came and went as we pleased with no issue. As soon as you enter the gate, you are immediately immersed in rows of citrus trees -- just beautiful! The location was exactly what we wanted -- close to Taormina (to see Teatro Greco) & Acireale (for Carnevale di Acireale), but you do have to drive to town for restaurants and etc.

Our room was spacious, lovely, clean and had a great view. It was a little cool in the room at night, as it was still winter, but the blankets kept us more than warm enough and there was hot water & a heated towel rack in the bathroom.

The marmalades we had for breakfast at San Leonardello were all amazing (orange was my favorite)--- I now wish we had bought more to bring home. If we find ourselves in Sicily again, we will definitely be coming back and hopefully we will be able to stay for dinner & limoncello next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Having just spent 6 weeks in Europe,our fondest memory is the time we spent at Agriturismo San Leonardello. Antonio, Rita,and Vera were friendly, warm and very helpful.. The dinner was one of the best meals we had . Thank you Rita for the most delicious meal and thanks to Antonia for the tour of your property. Vera went beyond her duties as she helped us deal with our luggage issues. The 4 of us would have loved to have spent more time with them and maybe some day our paths will cross again.. I would highly recommend spending time at this clean and lovely agriturismo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Amazingly personal service for the price of a normal hotel room. Clean, veiws, advice and connection to vacation and local tours and informative. BEAUTIFUL! Delicious home made and home cooked meals.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helpishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giarre
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
#1 of 3 in Santa Venerina
230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
Agriturismo Il Limoneto
#3 of 22 in Acireale
190 reviews
4.0 mi away
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
Il Ciliegio dell'Etna
#2 of 14 in Giarre
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
Farm Il Casale delle Rose
#3 of 13 in Caltagirone
144 reviews
2.8 mi away
Agriturismo Galea
Agriturismo Galea
#1 of 14 in Riposto
221 reviews
12.9 mi away
Agriturismo San Marco
Agriturismo San Marco
#1 of 1 in Rovittello
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo San Leonardello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo San Leonardello

Property: Agriturismo San Leonardello
Address: Via Madonna della Liberta' n 165, 95014, Giarre, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Giarre
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Giarre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Agriturismo San Leonardello 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm house, immersed in the countryside of Eastern Sicily, surrounded by an historic biological citrus garden, offers accommodations in restored rural houses. From the property, guests can enjoy a magnificent view of Mount Etna, Taormina and the sea. The most famous tourist attractions and locations, interesting from an archeological and natural point of view, are just few minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo San Leonardello Sicily/Giarre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing