We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing less than perfection in paradise!”
Review of Kaya Mawa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kaya Mawa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My first advice is to book it! Just book it right now!

If you're still here reading this, it means you need further persuasion, which is fine, because I did. It is a big investment, as staying here does not come cheap. However, I say investment, as you will get a big return with your Kaya Mawa experience.

We stayed in Madimba House at Kaya Mawa for our Honeymoon recently. It. Was. Amazing! The remote and unspoilt location, the celebrity service, beauty of the rooms, the 5* quality food... we just couldn't believe it and we had to keep rubbing our eyes every single day of the stay. And we still can't believe it now looking back.

To make the experience even better - next time we come, we'd like to see more cocktails added to the bar menu!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StueyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for Kaya Mawa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

Kaya Mawa was the perfect place to wind down and relax after 1 week of safari and stressful months leading up to our wedding! It was picture perfect and absolutely stunning location. We stayed at Makengulu which is situated on a little island of your own. Very private, you have your very own launch pad into the water and you can watch the sunset EVERYDAY while having your sun down drink! The surrounding rocks are perfect for snorkelling. The only drawback was that at times, particularly in the afternoon, the winds can get quite strong and we had to tie our parasol down as it tipped over once and almost fell onto me! Other than that, it's hard to fault anything at Kaya Mawa. The service was personal and the staff were amazing! The food was brilliant and particularly, we really enjoyed our very last night when Becky sorted out dinner in Swahili style on the beach! The management staff are always checking on us to make sure everything was well. Activities we did included cycling into town where there's a big cathedral to see (worth visiting) although I wouldn't recommend cycling as the roads are not tarmac and it can get quite hot in September. We also kayaked to Mango Drift (backpacker lodge owned by the same owners of Kaya Mawa), had a drink there and walked back to Kaya Mawa. Overall, we had a wonderful time and it was a perfect setting for our honeymoon. Kudos to Becky, Josh and Michelle for their wonderful hospitality.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the water might tend to have more lake flies than the ones higher up.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryllovestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I think any reader can see the trend of the reviews for Kaya Mawa - it's absolutely gorgeous. The setting is magical and the decor of the villas and the lounge area/bar would not be out of place in Harbour Island or St Barts. But this is even better because it's so remote and there are very few other guests. A lot of attention to detail has gone into this place with many beautiful touches. Staff are attentive and make you feel very special. Food is top notch, and the South African wine list is truly fantastic (as are the wine glasses). We went diving one day, another we visited the cathedral and the workshop where the beautiful cushions and fabrics used at Kaya Mawa are embroidered (we bought a lot, so nice to have it at home - super stylish), but were quite lazy the rest of our stay. You have to stay here a minimum of 4 nights to really enjoy it, we wish we had spent an entire week...but we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank intrepidgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

After our safari in Zambia, we wanted somewhere to relax and Kaya Mawa was perfect.

Set on a beautiful beach on Likoma Island, we were treated like royalty; nothing was too much trouble. Staff, most of who are from the local village, couldn't have been more charming and helpful. Our room was very big with private plunge pool, three decks and complete luxury.

Meals were mostly served on the beach and the food was very good. Other options were in your room or deck, in the gazebo, under the mango tree; they kept coming up with new ideas.

One of us did a couple of scuba dives which were very nice indeed with a totally personal service from dive master Kevin.
We did the boat trip around the island which was somewhat spoilt by rough conditions at the other (north) end of the island. The visit to the incongruous cathedral was very interesting.

We can't recommend this place enough; we are already trying to work out a way to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Looking for luxury, in a paradise setting in an off-the-beaten-track location? This is it.
Rooms are unbelievable. All of them.
Great food.
Attentive service.
All on a gorgeous curved beach, with the fresh water (not salt) of Lake Malawi lapping on the sand.
Which leads me to a gripe: the sand is a bit coarse underfoot.
But that's my only complaint. Which tells you something in itself.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is amazing. Private plunge pool, the works. As are the two rooms adjacent to it (pe...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ace_adventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently spent five days at this supernatural resort.I could say,this is one of the very few remaining places on the globe where you can completely unwind and live in total harmony with the nature.And still enjoy a high level of luxury!The staff and management strive to fulfill every your wish,Michelle and Josh thank you for that,and a big thanks to our beloved waiters Martin and Helen too.

You will certainly feel "the warm heart of Africa" right here on this place! HIGLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreja_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We recently spent our 2 week honeymoon at Kaya Mawa. Initially we were advised by our travel agent that we should perhaps spend just one week there and another week somewhere else in Malawi but we are delighted we didn't. I have never stayed anywhere that is even better than the website portrays it!
It was the most exquisite holiday we have ever had. We managed to completely de-stress and relax but there was also plenty to do. My husband completed his open water PADI, we swam, kayaked, snorkelled, walked the island, did a boat trip - never a dull moment! We loved the privacy of our little lodge, with its own sun deck and lake access. The lake was so much like the ocean - white sand, warm aquamarine water, waves, tropical fish - but no salt which was very welcome!
We met some lovely guests - the place seems to attract really friendly people! Dinner under the stars every night was a sublime experience! The staff and management were just brilliant and we honestly couldn't fault them. Michelle, Rich, Becky and Josh - we have wonderful memories, and will definitely be back. Thank you so much!
Annie & Ian

Room Tip: We stayed in the Khuyu room, and loved it. We were offered a change after the first week and refuse...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Likoma Island
0.0 mi away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 mi away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel
#10 of 12 in Lilongwe
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
141.1 mi away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#2 of 48 in Lilongwe
126 reviews
0.0 mi away
Skinny Hippos Lodge
Skinny Hippos Lodge
#8 of 28 in Mangochi
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaya Mawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaya Mawa

Address: P.O. Box 79, Likoma Island, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Likoma Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Likoma Island
Price Range: $527 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kaya Mawa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kaya Mawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaya Mawa Likoma Island
Kaya Mawa Malawi/Likoma Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing