We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved Mango Drift!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mango Drift

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Likoma Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mango Drift
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“We loved Mango Drift!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

If your looking for someone to totally chill out for a few days then this is the spot. Set right on the beach it's a desination and you basically have to eat there, but the food is good. At night it's a set price for dinner and you eat as a group or you can eat by yourself if you want. It's a bit more than we were used to spending (on a backpackers diet of beans) but definitely worth it! The hosts are great as well and we had a great time gaming out with them. There is a dive shop as well and the diving was great. Overall a great little place!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed 2 days and could happily have stayed a week, if not forever! After the 'interesting' trip from Monkey Bay on the Ilala, and the scrum of getting off the boat in the dark, the friendly welcome from Josh and Kevin was reassuring, and set the tone for our stay. We loved Mango Drift and thought it was fantastic value. There were 7 of us - a family - 3 teenage children, parents and grandparent - and we all loved it. The beach chalets are simple, but attractive, clean and in a wonderful setting. The food was excellent - tasty, generous portions. Breakfast pancakes and lunchtime pizzas were delicious. The swimming and snorkelling is great - the Lake waters here are crystal clear. Five of us took advantage of the half day intro to scuba diving: Kevin and Josh were patient, encouraging and reassuring instructors and we were so glad we took the plunge.

Just a warning to anyone thinking of doing the Ilala trip - it is more unreliable than ever; we left Monkey Bay 1 day late, and returned (eventually) two days late - 7 hours to load the boat at Likoma, and 10 hours to unload it at Nkhotakota!!! And you can only pay for Ilala tickets in Malawi Kwacha - everywhere else we went everyone would accept US dollars or pound sterling or MK.

Flying in is probably a better option, but was beyond our means!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraygirlSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Lovely location on beach with attractive cabins and bar area. Staying here was a highlight of Malawi. Likoma island is beautiful. Staff are friendly and helpful, restaurant has limited options but food is good. The private room we stayed in was clean, although just reed and thatch, with lovely double bed and great views. The toilet and shower block is clean and modern. You can also dive from here and the fresh water diving is unusual and really very good with great quality gear and instructors. Even though the ferry ride to the island is long we would really recommend coming here.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAdventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
804 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

This place could be a paradise of relax, but the managing is so poor that you want to leave. (most of the peoples around us were thinking the same)
The first night the staff and managers were having a party fort part of the night, and the next morning, laughing of the peoples who asked them to cool down.
We think that the managers don't care or are not at there place, because with a beautiful beach, convenient lodging, good food most of the time,a village not to far (but don't ask for a ride to it, even if mention on the board, you will never get it). It could be a long term stay.
Suggestion...wait to visit in a better time

M & D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Road20years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben S, Manager at Mango Drift, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Mango Drift.

At Mango Drift we value criticism as much as we enjoy a compliment.

I am horrified that you did not enjoy your experience at our beautiful venue.
Which gives me pleasure to inform you that Mango Drift is now under new management.

And would like to offer you a two nights free stay in our beach chalets in an attempt to compensate for your negative experience with us.
Please feel free to pick up contact with us regarding this whenever you are in the area again.

As much as I wish for you to not have had a bad experience from the start, I hope this may at least be a slight comfort to you.

Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind regards.
Management Mango Drift
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2010

We spent a couple of days here before staying at kaya mawa in preparation for our wedding on likoma island. It was our second visit and after travelling to the island- first time by ferry, second by plane it is the perfect place to recouperate after a journey. The bar/ communal area is situated in the middle of mango drift (built around a mango tree) , facing the lake and often playing chilled music. Lone travellers will always have someone to chat to as dinner is served around one large table. The food here is delicious and I don't think I've ever eaten breakfast And lunch in such a relaxed enviroment with splendid views. The rooms are situated right on the shore with the loos and shower block being a short walk away. Becky, Josh and team are very hospitable and it's the perfect place to learn to dive- their patient approach helps even the most difficult learner!! Hammocks hanging close to the bar area make it the perfect area to chill with a good book. Although the term 'backpackers' has been used, the only thing that reflects this is the price! The perfect laid back place to maybe leave your stay 'open' , as you will probably find it difficult to leave.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mango Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Drift

Property: Mango Drift
Address: Mango Drift Beach, Likoma Island, Malawi
Location: Malawi > Northern Region > Likoma Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Likoma Island
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Drift is a backpackers lodge located on the west side of Likoma Island on the beautiful waters of Lake Malawi. Situated on an expansive and private stretch of beach Mango Drift has to be one of the most scenic places to stay on the island. There are a number of en-suite and standard beach chalets located along the beach; as well as an en-suite dormitory and camping facilities. The two en-suite mid-range chalets are slightly set back on the hillside, with private bathrooms and beautiful verandas. Under a big Mango tree is the bar and restaurant offering a full range of drinks including cold beers, soft drinks and an extensive assortment of local and imported spirits. Choose from the wide selection of food items from the breakfast and lunch menu. Dinner is a set menu each night from a delicious meal prepared by our kitchen staff. Relax on the Mango beach enjoy the lake or play a game of pool or volleyball on the beach. Or if you want to do something more exciting, Mango Drift offers a range of water sports from wakeboarding to waterskiing, Scuba Diving and even learn to Kite Surf on the only known school on the lake. Learn to dive with our fully qualified PADI dive instructors, with courses to suit all levels, from those first bubbles up to professional Divemaster. Learn to dive in the crystal clear waters of Lake Malawi and see the abundance of life that Likoma Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mango Drift Malawi/Likoma Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing