We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Porto Finissia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Finikounda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porto Finissia
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This year will be our 3rd visit to this Hotel and Finikounda, relatively new visitors compared to the lovely people we have met that have been travelling here for many years, and so lucky to have found this place a long time ago. But having found such a special place now, we will always return. This Hotel is just idyllic, fabulous location, spotless rooms, cleaned every day, and daily fresh towels and bedding. The Hotel is small and personal, owned by a lovely couple named Mary and George for whom nothing is too much trouble and always have time for a smile and a word. Situated opposite the beach and a 2 minute walk from the village. We love to sit on the peaceful outside terrace overlooking the sea, enjoying an early evening drink, before wandering into the village to a Taverna for an evening meal, our idea of Greek Heaven. Looking forward to returning beginning of July again for 2 weeks, hoping to meet old friend and new.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNPETER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

rooms are small but comfortable. always hot water, linen changed regularly and those towels that dry you instantly. there is little traffic through this village so noise was never a problem.

breakfast is typically greek, but generous, and service is instantaneous.

we had a room at the back so our balcony, though small, provided a shady retreat for a drink or a quiet read.

can only echo previous comments regarding the friendly, helpful service.

Room Tip: front or side for a sunny balcony, rear for shade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eurogit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield england
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

this was our second visit to this resort and hotel and nothing much has changed.the hotel is clean, bedding and towels changed regularly.breakfast was adequate and kept us going until late lunchtime.the owner and staff were friendly and always spoke to you.You are able to borrow sun umberallas form the hotels storage cupboard if there are any available(we bought our own for 8euro).my only 2 critisisms are the balconys are tiny and in some of the rooms the tvs are in bizarre places.we had to move rooms because my husbend is quite tall and the tv was infronf if the patio doors which he walked into everytime he had been out on the balcony.several other guests we spoke to had also had the same problem.all in all a good hotel in an good location across from the beach.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room.avoid room105
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soophill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Second stay here. The Hotel is across the road from the beach and within a few minutes walk of all the retaurants and bars in the village. Yes, the rooms are basic, but all the hotels are small in this remote area, and you get what you pay for ! To us it is only a bed for the night as days are spent on the beach, and nights eating out.Breakfast is a typical Greek affair of Yoghurt, bread, jam and orange cordial, with either tea or coffee. If you prefer a bigger breakfast, the snack bars in the village will have to be visited.
People in resort are really friendly. All restaurants are family run, and feature Momma's cooking.
Only drawback this time ( and it is the 5th visit to resort), is that there is only one cash machine, and when that ran out of money towards the end of our 1st week there, it was not refilled by the time we left. Hotels are too small to change cash, and the local tobacconist who changes cash takes an exorbitant commission. Best to get a lift to next resort of Methoni which is only 10 mins by car.
A brilliant chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Select a side sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Finissia Hotel is ideally situated just across the road from the beach and very close to tavernas, supermarket etc. The side rooms (we were in 104) have sea views and although a bit smaller than we are used to (we usually self-cater) were adequate. We were pleased to have a small fridge (although quite awkward to access being right down on the floor) and rooms have free security boxes and a tv showing Greek channels. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels and sheets changed every couple of days, We spent most of the time on the lovely beach or driving to nearby castles, having found a really helpful car hire firm (Kassimiotis Car Hire). Although based in Koroni, Mr Kassimiotis delivered the car to our hotel in Finikounda for no extra charge and it was one of the cheapest we have found in Greece. We'd certainly be happy to stay at the Finissia again - and would definitely recommend the car hire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toyemenandback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Hotel Finissia in Finikounda is within spitting distance of the beach. It is small, clean, has wonderful views from front and left hand side of hotel of the beach and sea views. We were in ~Room 201 which was directly above reception. Bathroom was typically Greek (we did feel we had won the lottery when we found we had a shower curtain!) room was a good size with 3 beds in in although we were only 2. Breakfast in the dining room was a very quiet affair! All the other guests were a lot older than us and didn't have much to say to each other in the mornings much to our amusement! Breakfast was always the same - tea/coffee, greek yogurt, jams/honey, bread, cake and squash. It was plenty but would get a a bit tedious if you were there for more than a week. The resort is very similar to Stoupa which we went to in August when it was really busy. Finikounda in June was so quiet you could hear a pin drop. There were very few shops, one good supermarket and about a dozen bars/restaurants. We never had a bad meal and met some very nice people there. Definitely recommend if you want peace and quiet and to just lie on the beach and read.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewdneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Very nice hotel, close to the sea and near to Agora.
Very clean rooms, friendly staff.
Low beds... (!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Finikounda hotels
0.0 mi away
Panorama Resort
Panorama Resort
#3 of 22 in Finikounda
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Finikounda Hotel
Finikounda Hotel
#11 of 11 in Finikounda
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tsokas Hotel Apartments
Tsokas Hotel Apartments
#2 of 11 in Finikounda
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Korakakis Beach
Hotel Korakakis Beach
#3 of 11 in Finikounda
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Estia
Hotel Estia
#1 of 11 in Finikounda
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kallisti
Kallisti
#7 of 22 in Finikounda
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Finissia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Finissia

Property: Porto Finissia
Address: Finikounda, Pylos-Nestor 240 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Finikounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Finikounda
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Porto Finissia Hotel Finikounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing