We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Paradise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paradise Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Finikounda
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Certainly not a 4 star hotel as it claims to be. More like a 2 star one. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hotel_rating

We asked a simple request from the desk staff 3 times, she was polite saying that imediately she will look in to it but at the end she never did so. Rather felt like she was making fun of us.

It seems they had low bagdet for lunch. It was mainly pork, if we were lucky we had chicken or pasta! Very limited variations and taste way below average.

To get to the sea you have to walk more than 250 meters (not 100 or 150 meters as the hotel advertises). During the day this walk is unpleasant because of the burning sand. The next door camping had made a nice pathway with stones. This "4 star" hotel had done nothing to make the access to the sea easier.

The sea was very nice, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, we had good wifi reception and the pool was enjoyable. But we felt disappointed and cheated because we expected (and paid) for much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise R, Front Office Manager at Paradise Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for the review.
We would like to point out that our hotel is a 3 star hotel and not a 4 star hotel.
We will be glad to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    32
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
64
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice hotel at a beautiful spot near Finikounda (2km away approx.) with a family-run business atmosphere. Our room was spacious, clean with all the basic amenities available. Most of the rooms have sea view. The staff was very polite and helpful at all our requests for our nine month old baby. The beach in front of the hotel is wonderful, although you have to make your own arrangements for shade, since it is not organized due to environmental reasons (I believe that it is one of those beaches where sea turtles lay their eggs). Crystal clear waters which is really all you need! Unfortunately during the period that we visited the hotel's restaurant was not open, but we managed to find a great taverna in the village of Finikounda named "Antonis" (open only in the evenings) where the food, the wine and the service (english speaking) was excellent by a native family who has spent time in the US and they know how to treat customers. Don't be daunted by the few customers (recession and local immoral competition have taken their toll) and the limited dish choice, because quality is all that matters!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

The paradise hotel resort is almost on the beach (sea view), modern and clean with a nice swimming pool.
Everyone made our arrival and stay convenient in every way. The rooms are beautifully appointed and equipped with all amenities. We had an appartment with a lot of space and a lovely terrasse.
The staff is offering a great quality of service in different languages (at least english and german...). The breakfast was very good as well.
To be recommended, thanks a lot, we will come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaleo, Greece
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Amazement fresh new hotel with very comfortable spacious and clean room, with overcrowded equipment of a kitchen, great breakfast, great location, nice pool, friendly staff and reasonable prices!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManKass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Very good hotel. Some improvements need to be done at the A/C systems, in case somebody is "difficult" customer. The staff is very helpful, friendly and really proffesionals.For 4stars hotel, it provides 'more to expect" services. A really diamond! The beach is only 100 meters from the hotel. In 5 minutes you are in Finikounda city. Using the road outside from the hotel, you are :
1. 10 minutes from Koroni at the South
2. 15 minutes from Methoni at the North (there is a fanstastic old castle there - opening hours 09:00-15:00 daily).
Breakfast is American type breakfast. You can eat either at the hotel (appr. 7 euros per plate-really cheap) or at a tavern named "LAMPES"(fantastic and cheap food- high quality food and service).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreekGod1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Location: The hotel is near (120 m) a great sandy beach (according to me, the best in the area). The beach is maybe 500 m long, the water is crystal clear, the sea is quite calm even if it is windy (during summer the winds in Greece are in general from Northern directions) and it is not so crowded. But be aware that - currently - it is not organized, so you better bring your own umbrellas / chairs etc. (The umbrellas provided by the reception are, well, not of first quality and in case of strong winds they will cause you some trouble). The distance to the hotel is covered in approx. 5 min by foot (those 5 min. can seem quite long in case you have to carry - appart from umbrellas, chairs etc. also babies). Also, if you want to have a coffee, beer, water etc, you have to go back to your hotel bar... Alternatively, you can go to the beach by car (2 min.) just to facilitate the transport of your personal belongings. In walking distance there are no restaurants or bars, the distance to the village of Finikounda is 2 km. There is only a super market approx. 200 m from the hotel. Given the fact that the hotel does not serve dinner, you have to use your car in order to have dinner, you cannot just leave your hotel for a stroll.

Rooms: Not bad, but the bathroom was quite a disappointment (detail: There are no photos of the bathroom on the website of the hotel...) The drain was not working properly in the shower, so the general impression was that it is not very clean. For wiping your feet, there was a dirty-looking towel on the floor. This was quite annoying for the prices requested.

On the other hand, the breakfast is quite good and the prices at the bar are very good.
Service was in general quite good and friendly.

Lunch is served between 13:00-16:00 with 3 different meals every day at very reasonable prices (approx. 7 Euros for a meal).

Sound insulation of the rooms is quite good, so even if there are kids next to your room, they are most probably not going to disturb your sleep.

All in all, it is not bad, but not worth 4 stars... If the bathrooms were better, i would have left with a much better impression, as there are as i said before also very positive aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GreeceGoodfellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in Paradise Resort for the weekend of our wedding where also 40 of our guests were hosted. So I am writing this review on behalf of more than 40 people! Paradise Resort is a great place to spend your vacation. It is decorated in a very nice and modern way, minimal/lounge/mediteranean atmosphere is all around. It is exceptionally clean and very good managed. The greatest beach of foinikounda (I would say one of the best beaches in Greece) is at your feet. The prices are quite affordable for what this hotel offers. And the stuff is simply great. Many thanks to Vaso from the net also!! As we know Foinikounda for more than 20 years, I can assure you that you cant find a better place to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgios77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Finikounda
15.3 mi away
The Westin Resort, Costa Navarino
12.4 mi away
Sunrise Village Beach Hotel
8.6 mi away
Colonides Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Horizon Blu
Horizon Blu
#1 of 21 in Kalamata
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
25.2 mi away
Filoxenia
Filoxenia
#5 of 21 in Kalamata
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
8.5 mi away
Camvillia Resort
Camvillia Resort
#1 of 1 in Vounaria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paradise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resort

Property: Paradise Resort
Address: Epar. Od. Koronis-Kamarias, Finikounda, Pylos-Nestor 240 06, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Pylos-Nestor > Finikounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Finikounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Paradise Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Paradise Resort, a brand new 4 star(After 2015 Renovation) hotel located in Finikounda, a picturesque village which lies on the shores of the messinian bay. Finikounda is only 60 km from Kalamata, the capital and the biggest city in the Messinian region.The hotel is built on an area of 8 acres, just 150 meters from the sea. Our rooms, with elegant and stylish decoration and panoramic sea view will give you the comfort you seek during your vacation.Our friendly staff will ensure that your vacation in Finikounda, one of the top destinations in Messinia, will be enjoyable to the full. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing