We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly - fab food”
Review of Taverna O Antonis - CLOSED

Taverna O Antonis
Price range: $11 - $13
Cuisines: Greek
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very friendly - fab food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Set back from the main run of restaurants - menu is very similar to all the other Greek tavernas but it's the friendliness that makes this place different. The owner (Antoni) is very chatty and makes his own very nice wine. A beautiful setting with authentic Greek food - worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkbecky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“As wonderful as ever (and the Taverna is called Antony's not O Adonis)”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We first visited this restaurant two years ago and loved it. This year we went three times during the two weeks, which is a recommendation in itself.

Antony and his family are so friendly and his wife Anastacia produces amazing food from the kitchen. It's the type of place where you could just stay for hours, chatting, eating and drinking, a lovely atmosphere.

On our last visit we shared a small salad (which was huge), I had meatballs with chips and my husband had drunk chicken with chips. It was all delicious. However much wine you order, you are offered more by Antony, plus free cake or fruit. The wine, made from Antony's grapes, is lovely. He also produces olive oil from his own olive trees and uses it in the restaurant.

The restaurant stands back from the front and is often quiet during the evening but I think that it is busier during the day with Greeks. The bill is lower than many of the other local restaurants which is always a plus, but if you're looking for a taste of real Greece and Finikounda then this is definitely the place to go and my husband and I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieMorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

It was very good at all
family tavern with high quality of home made greek cusine exelent wine and very good prices
its the perfect place of meat lovers
10~15 euros per person with wines beers etc
Dont miss it if you are in foinikounta

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank michrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not so great :( sorry”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Trip advisor is usually very good but this Resturant was not good at all!

The people working there were very sweet and nice but the house wine tasted like gasoline and the food was just not tasty...it was fresh but
Not a lot of flavor at all the tzakiki was the best thing there but my friends will not go back and I won't either. There is many Resturants in finikouda that are much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FoodandWineReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Marvelous Food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

If you enjoy traditional Greek food this is the place for you Tony and his famiy will make you very welcome. Annastacia cooks all the food, ask what's the daily special. Its usualy what they have had to eat, she makes extra to serve to customers, most of the vegatbles are grown by Tony, the olives and wine are also his own. I can highly recommend the red wine, the veal, and the liver and onions.
Yammas

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J1J2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna O Antonis also viewed

Finikounda, Pylos-Nestor
 
Finikounda, Pylos-Nestor
Finikounda, Pylos-Nestor
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing