We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

The Champs Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Roseau, Dominica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Nothing to dislike! Food is great, service is fantastic... really enjoyed the Mexican food!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Nadezkda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2015
Dear Nadezkda,

Thank you for such a short and excellent response. We are happy to know that our food was to your liking.

We do hope that you will come to visit again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spanish Town, null, British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The highlight of this restaurant is its location! Amazing place to watch the sunset and have cocktails. Absolutley stunning! There is limited choice of food however and the quality isnt great.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Hello Gemma, thanks for your 5 points review.
The stunning view comes for free and I'm a bit disappointed you were not pleased with the food.
We're currently working with Chef Eric on a new summer menu for our casual dining (weekdays) and hope to get even more satisfied patrons for restaurant De Champ.
Hope you will have a chance to visit us again in the future.
Regards, Hans (co-owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobcaygeon, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This place is on the very top of a hill and has a great view of the bay and town.
The staff are very friendly. They need to have more staff working as it takes along time for the food.The food is good.And the prices fair. We have visited it 2 times on this trip. Would recommend the burgers and the quesadillas.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CarterdogK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, January 17, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that our food were to your liking and its good to know that you came back a second time.

We would like to feel free and welcome to be part of our dining again.


Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bar average food.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Great views, wow. Steep roads as is usual in Dominica, but worth the drive. But the food was really bland. All fried and a bit dull in taste. The music was average white mid 80's rock. Caribbean .... hellloooo.

I was with colegues from Ross who all seemed to think that the food fact was a secret not to be shared with the owner. I have no idea why. Advice really helps.

To be fair I have since heard that they have a new chef and that it is now really good.

This was my thoughts at the time. Why am I doing this review now? I finally got around to looking at photos of Dominica and eneded up here.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MedLifeCrisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comfortel-De-Champ, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear MedLifeCrisis, thank you for your calling us a great bar and the compliments of the view.
As you indicate, it's a while ago you visited us; my excuses that it took my a while to reply.
Yes indeed, we have a new chef on Fridays and Saturdays and he also coaches and trains the kitchen staff.
If ever you have a good reason to re-visit Ross University, come and check us out. I trust you will be surprised by the current menu and quality.
Kind Regards, Hans Schilders, co-owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Superb view, great specials, friendly atmosphere.”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The view from their place is superb especially for sunset. The drink- specials are unbeatable for happy hour. The food is decent and the owners are super friendly. It gets loud in the evening but its the only place open in the area so late, which explains it.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elk555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lise_van_de_Kamp, Owner at The Champs Restaurant, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Guest,

We do appreciate and would like to thank you for your review of our restaurant. Thanks for the compliment of our drink specials.

It is good to know that you enjoy our sunsets and food. We hope to have you with us again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Lise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Champs Restaurant also viewed

Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 
Calibishie, Saint Andrew Parish
Portsmouth, Saint John Parish
 

Been to The Champs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing