We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Nice Price!”
Review of Rejens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rejens Hotel
Ranked #2 of 9 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Christiansted, St. Croix
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Nice Price!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

On our last day in Dominica we decided to stay in Portsmouth. We didn’t have reservations anywhere so we just called a few places to see what was available. After looking at two different beach hotels (owned by the same company) we decided to try Rejens.

We are glad we did! We received a two bedroom (we only needed one) for less money than the other two comparable one bedroom hotels that we checked out! The customer service was excellent & the room was clean & up-to-date (flat screen TV & Internet).

We asked about dinner and the chef told us that he could make anything we wanted even if it’s not on the menu. I asked for some local Ginger Beer and he said that he had to go buy some fresh ginger to make it but it wouldn’t be a problem.

This hotel is only a few minutes drive from Portsmouth but we didn’t mind. The hotel is not on the beach but we live in the Caribbean so we see the ocean every day.

If you want to save some money and don’t need to wake up on the beach I would highly recommend Rejens for your stay in Portsmouth, Dominica.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
2
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Rejens is not a resort, and is located at a small distance from town. If you're sea weary & long for clean sheets, practical amenities, excellent a/c and a good shower, you'll find them here at reasonable rates. Ditto for business travel or as jumping off spot for Portsmouth area. The breakfast buffet was generic but generous. WiFi doesn't penetrate rooms, but plugged access is fine.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowii1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for a few days during a business meeting. Thankfully I wasn't in Dominica and in this hotel for holidays, otherwise I would have been terribly disappointed. Most importantly, the hotel misleads prospective customers with false information about its location. It claims both on its website and in its printed marketing materials that the beach is across the road. Well, incredible as it may sound, this is not true. There is not even beach in sight of this hotel. It's out of town (you need a car to get into Portsmouth, or use the hotel's free shuttle), and most of its rooms face a concrete wall behind the hotel. I will upload a photo indicating what I looked at from my room. If you wish to go to the beach you also need to take a drive or a ride on the shuttle bus. In the unlikely event that the hotel is busy, you might find that this trip to the beach will take a rather long time.
Note that there is no restaurant at the hotel, so for every meal you need (other than breakfast) you will have to travel. The hotel offers to get food delivered for you. On the one occasion where I tried this service I ended up with a cold meal.
On the positive side: Most staff are very friendly and and try to be helpful. Internet access is wireless and while a bit slow, it is by and large working. The rooms are basic but kept clean and well do the trick. You can grab a good night's sleep at the Rejens Hotel. The breakfast buffet is not bad at all, but its quality depends on the number of people staying. The fewer guest the hotel has the lower the quality of what's on offer. Troublesome.
From what I gather, there don't seem to be quality accommodations close to the beach, but I can't comment on alternatives to the Rejens Hotel. I doubt I would choose to stay here if I came back to Portsmouth. It's located in the most bizarre spot offering you a view of a concrete wall instead of a view of the abundant rainforest.

Room Tip: As for a room not facing the concrete wall behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank udo s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I stayed at Rejens for 6 days and loved every day of it. Being that my family is Dominican, we try to visit often and could never find a great place to stay. I am glad to say we struck gold! From the time I arrived, I was pleased. The workers we very helpful and organized. The were attentive and responded to requests promptly. The complimentary breakfast is simple, yet satisfying. They do have an authentic Dominican breakfast available at a reasonable extra per person fee.
There is currently no swimming pool, spa, fitness center, or activities. However, the hotel is still expanding and will provide most of these amenities in the near future. Needless to say, when my family and I go back, we will surely be staying here again. Great job Rejens!

Room Tip: All rooms have 2 bedrooms fully stocked kitchen and living/dining areas. The rooms on the corners of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esjay719
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My family and I spent the first week of June 2011 at The Rejens Hotel and totally enjoyed the experience. The hotel's owner Remy and his staff were very accommodating and treated guests like family. I left the Nature Island (Dominica) with many new friends and am already making plans to return in 2012 and stay at this hotel.

My family and I reviewed the hotel's website prior to our trip and found that the site did not do the hotel any justice. The hotel's decor and location to major areas exceeded our expectations.

I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone who plans to visit the Portsmouth area, including Ross University and take a cool morning bath in the Picard River.

Big thanks to The Rejens Hotel for making my family's visit an amazing experience.

S. White
Georgia & New York CIty

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank esjay719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.0 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
Portsmouth Beach Hotel
#4 of 4 in Portsmouth
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Secret Bay
Secret Bay
#1 of 4 in Portsmouth
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Calibishie Lodges
Calibishie Lodges
#3 of 3 in Calibishie
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anchorage Hotel & Dive Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rejens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rejens Hotel

Property: Rejens Hotel
Address: | Petite Bai, Portsmouth, Dominica
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rejens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rejens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rejens Hotel Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing