We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveler rating
483
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant personal attendant plantain chips natural beauty lion fish rum punch boiling lake ti fey personalized service middleham falls ylang ylang scuba diving
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 508 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2018

I stayed at Secret Bay August of 2017 for my birthday and I could not have picked a better place! After a long flight we were greeted so pleasently by the staff at Secret bay who took us to our cabin where dinner was waiting for us. Each tree-house like cabin has a staff member assigned to it who takes care of the cleaning and makes sure you get all of your meals. The food was delicious and all prepared on site. We were able to go by the kitchen and chat with the staff meet the chef, get a smoothie or snack and even learn about the dishes they prepare. The views and grounds were amazing and the hotel even has access to an actual secret beach accessible by kayak right around the bay. Lenita in the office will sit down with you and make your entire trip itinerary so that you can see the rest of the beautiful island. The trips Secret Bay plans also come with a driver who was more like an old friend and tour guide. I would definitely go back to Secret bay and highly recommend especially for honeymooners.

Room tip: rooms with pools have better views of the ocean
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie A, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Hi Chelsea, lovely to hear from you, especially now, and to know that Secret Bay still holds a warm place in your memories so many months after visiting us. As we prepare to reopen this November, notes like this from our past guests and fond memories of your experiences while in our care mean the absolute world to us. Thanks so much for sharing and we'd love to have you back to rediscover Secret Bay some time soon.. All my best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017

We stayed at Secret Bay in July 2017. The resort is beautiful- secluded, peaceful and truly the perfect tropical get away. We were met at the airport with snacks and water for the drive, and the hospitality continued from there. We were looked after every day by the villa staff. Lenita planned us a perfect itinerary so we could explore the island in the short time we had- there is so much to see and do before relaxing in the cabin. We spent time exploring the island with our own tour guide, and exploring the private beach by kayak.

The cabins are fully equipped with everything you could need for a secluded and very romantic break. The food is delicious- all cooked on site by the chef and well worth it. Lots of fruity sauces and gorgeous fish dishes.

We got engaged during our stay and the staff were wonderful- they set us up for a meal on the sun set deck as the sun set over the ocean. The whole area was set romantically with such care and effort.

It’s a cliché but we truly had the time of our lives at Secret Bay and hope to one day return. We can’t thank the staff enough for their generosity and effort in making the perfect stay. I could not ever do the resort justice in words- it has to be seen and experienced. I couldn’t recommend Secret Bay highly enough.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

I stayed at Secret Bay back in March on a last-minute adventure. Because we arrived on a whim with no itinerary, we were especially reliant on the staff at Secret Bay for planning. Of course, the accommodations are unparalleled and we could have stayed put happily for the entire stay. Life is for adventuring though, and so out we went. Scuba diving, hiking to a boiling lake (hard but highly recommended), and other various excursions around Dominica - these were all planned and organized by the fantastic staff at Secret Bay, we just had to tell them what we liked. I would stay with these people again in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2017

We did things at Secret Bay that we have never done before. It was a great experience being able to cook together, kayak and spend quality time in this romantic and natural environment. We would totally recommend Secret Bay as vacation destination.

Room tip: We did self contained no pool room. The private pool rooms must be a total pleasure to experience.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Vandalyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2017

My wife and I spent our 10 year anniversary at this resort at the recommendation of a friend that had been here several years ago. And we were certainly not disappointed. From the moment we landed, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. We are fairly active people but wanted a trip that was more laid back. This met all our expectations. We even got in a great hike in the rain Forrest. Most of our time was spent at the resort relaxing and enjoying the views of the ocean views that were seen from our balcony. I always try to leave honest reviews about the places we visit. If there was anything i would recommend improving, i would ask the resort trim back some of the vegetation that partially blocked the views from the pool level of our villa. That issue is very minor and more a matter of preference. It would certainly not ever keep us from a return trip. Everything else about the trip was perfect including the chef that came into our villa one night to cook us dinner. Our thoughts and prayers go out to the families and residents of the island as they all work to recover from the devastation earlier this year.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank johnsonrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews