We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 516 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2016

Secret Bay was the perfect way to celebrate our 20th Wedding Anniversary! After much research on the Caribbean, we decided that Dominica was the ideal island for us! We were looking for a place with tremendous natural beauty and a variety of outdoor activities. And now, where to stay....there was no doubt it had to be Secret Bay! Dominica and Secret Bay exceeded our expectations. They were the perfect combination for a trip of a lifetime! Our Mapou bungalow was fabulous! It was clean, comfortable and had everything we needed! The food at Secret Bay was top notch! Whether it was pre-stocked or prepared, it was absolutely delicious! Lenita did a superb job of helping us with our excursions! We loved them all:
1. Hike and swim at Middleham Falls & Hike to Trafalgar Falls. 2. Hiking Section 13 of the Waitukubuli Trail. 3. Exploring the Syndicate Trail and spotting parrots with the ever so knowledgable Dr. Birdy. 4. Fire Rowing us through the Indian River and sharing stories of his childhood. 5. Ryan taking us on a hike of a lifetime to the Boiling Lake. 6. Snorkeling amongst the beautiful fish and bubbles at Champagne Beach! Thanks to everyone at Secret Bay for an amazing vacation! We highly recommend it and hope to return!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Thanks for your visit Becka M and congrats again on your 20th anniversary. We are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations and that Dominica and Secret Bay were the perfect setting for celebrating your special occasion. Lenita says “hi” and is happy you were pleased with her itinerary. Here’s a collective “you’re welcome” from all of us. Hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2016

Secret Bay is the perfect place to celebrate a private wedding! Everything, starting from the Zabucco Honeymoon Villa, the nature, the two private beaches of the hotel, the staff, is there to make you feel good! After 4 days at Secret Bay we didn't want to leave... It was like home in Paradise.
Our wedding on Secret Beach was like a dream come true!
We especially liked the the very kind and personal service that we received from everyone at the hotel. Thank you very much!

Room tip: Zabucco Villa I
Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manfred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Hi Manfred. You guys looked like you had so much fun on the beach. Your pics were fab! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mr. Romain sends his regards and so do the rest of the team especially Lenita. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

I spent a lot of time looking for a smaller Caribbean resort for our honeymoon, with privacy and the option to truly relax- Secret Bay met all expectations and then some. This place is a far cry from the crowded resorts and dry beaches of much of Mexico and other Caribbean islands. We fell in love with Dominica- the wild, unspoiled beauty of the island and the warmth of the people made our trip truly awesome! The resort is luxury and invites relaxation, but there is also plenty of activity to be had for the more adventurous traveler- We enjoyed snorkeling, beaching, hiking, guided sightseeing, and lots and lots of EATING. The food is superb- come hungry!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Emily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2016

Hi Emily P
We're so honoured that after a diligent search for a resort that suited your needs, Secret Bay was your final selection.

Dominica has an amazing wealth of flora, fauna and marine life and we're glad you got to enjoy. Gland you also got to experience the warmth of our people and our delicious food.

Can't wait to help you celebrate your future anniversary.

Love from the entire team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2016 via mobile

Secret bay is a perfect getaway for people who like their privacy and love luxury and nature. The staff is extremely friendly and service oriented and they will help you with everything you want in any way they can. The location and food are excellent.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank HafAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Thank you HafAms for this short and sweet review. We appreciate your kind words and hope we see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Secret Bay is one of kind luxury resort. This place is truly spectacular in every way! The villas are nestled into the mountain side amongst the trees. The villas, service, and amenities are top of the line. You see a few other guests but it seriously feels like you have your own private getaway. A few weeks prior to you arrival, Secret Bay sends you an information packet for you to fill out about your preferences during your stay.

If you stay 5 nights or more transportation to and from the airport is complementary. Even if you aren't staying 5 nights I would recommend setting up transportation through Secret Bay. The roads are not well marked and very curvy, as well as driving on the left side of the road.

If you chose to eat on property (which I highly recommend) all meals are on your schedule and prepared just how you like them. The food is so so good! We loved every single meal the kitchen prepared for us. In the mornings its so wonderful to sit out on the porch taking in the beautiful scenery with breakfast brought right to you. At the end of a busy day, you can enjoy a nice glass of wine and dinner served anywhere on the property you would like.

Excursions. It was helpful for me to gather information about the island and what areas my husband and I wanted to see while we were there. We were able to discuss and plan our adventures with Lenita over morning coffee. She is helpful and very knowledgable about what Dominica has to offer. The activities we chose were: Day trip to Titou Gorge, Tralfagar Falls, Scott's Head, and Champagne Reef with Devon. Indian river tour with Fire. Couples Massage overlooking the ocean. We were going to go on the cayoning and zip-line tour but the weather wasn't the best on our last day. We were able to explore the beaches and coral reefs around property with kayaks and paddle boards provided at our request.

During our stay we had the most wonderful staff members helping us feel right at home. Lenita, Deslyn, Roseline, Rohan, and Devon were all helpful, professional, and very welcoming. Every person we meet while in Dominica were friendly and happy to have visitors on the island. I cannot say enough about how wonderful Secret Bay is. You will not go wrong in booking this resort.

Room tip: US currency is accepted all over the island. There is an exit tax when leaving the island. $23 per person.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2016

Hi Margaret C, you have succinctly captured the guest experience from start to finish. The questionnaire is indeed an important part of the planning process and it informs the itinerary created by Lenita, our Concierge. Our drivers are happy to meet you at the airport with cool rags, delicious local snacks and warm smiles. We cater to your unique palette and it’s a treat when guests select the ‘surprise me’ option and fall in love with our food offerings.
We also offer experiences at, nearby to and further away from the resort at various sites and provide guides as well as transportation to guests. It’s easy to build rapport with our staff as we truly care for you and want your experience to be a good one. That is why were sad to see you go!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews