We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucy Inn(Portsmouth)
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Iso's Bed & Breakfast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
482
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszing zingthe indian riverprivate beachvilla attendantzabuco honeymoon villathe cliffcoconut beachtrafalgar fallsgranolatibay beachlobsterinfinity poollion fishchampagne reefnatural beautyrum punchplantain chips
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 507 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2016

My family of four just got back from our stay in Dominica at Secret Bay. What an absolutely beautiful place. Our family has traveled all over the world and this place is definitely at the top. Dominica itself is unspoiled beautiful nature island not touristy at all. And Secret Bay over the moon beautiful. Everything is top end. No details are left out. Beautiful views, pool and plenty of space. And the service could not be better. Everyone of the staff super sweet and ready to attend to any need or whim we had. My kids (13 and 19) are very picky eaters and every request they made was filled without hesitation. The kids were thrilled as were my husband and I. I fell ill one day and the staff went above and beyond to attend to me. All you have to do is ask about an excursion and all arrangements are taken care of. We went whale watching which was amazing. If you like to be off the beaten path in luxury that is not pretentious...look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jbedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Hi Edwards family. You guys are truly missed by all of us. Thanks so much for your comments. The Souce Shack staff will be happy to know how much the kids appreciated their efforts re their culinary requests. When you fell ill we could not stand the thought of you not being able to enjoy Dominica's beauty with your family. We just HAD to help! And you got to go whale watching... that is always a great treat!!! hope you come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2016

We loved Secret Bay. we stayed at Zabuco Villa III. The service and the food were fantastic and the house is really great with an amazing view. Great architecture in a beautiful nature. very quiet and relaxing. There are also plenty of activities available, including Island tours, although you just want a stay in your villa. We should go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musa0077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Thanks for the review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in Zabuco Honeymoon Villa III and the various activities we scheduled together ... Oh yes, a second trip is a must. See you then!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2016 via mobile

Dominica is an incredibly beautiful island and Secret Bay was just the perfect place to stay. Gilbert met us at the airport and made us feel so very welcome and so excited about our stay. All the staff were so friendly and genuine and made our stay so relaxed. Shermima and Kisha looked after us in Ti-Fey Bungalow and were fantastic, friendly and very attentive. Marvin and Anthea made sure we got the best out of the activities on offer around the island. Despite the unusual heavy rain at times we got out to see the magical waterfalls (Trafalgar and Midlham), awesome canyoning, snorkelling Champagne Reef, Indian river cruise (with Fire) and a paddle to Secret Beach. The team at Secret Bay were very flexible to make sure we could change plans if the weather changed. Again, despite a bit of rain Ti-Fey bungalow was the perfect spot to chill out with a magical view for our honeymoon. The bungalows are such a great concept, plenty of room and great layout.
To add to the experience the food at Secret Bay was some of the best we have ever had with delicious local flavours. The Seafood Chowder was a particular huge hit with my wife as were the Creole shrimp and chicken dishes for the both of us.

Definitely worth the 2 days travel from Australia to get to Dominica and kick off our Caribbean honeymoon at Secret Bay.

Thanks so much to all of the Team at Secret Bay :-)

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Damien I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Hi Damien, soooo happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We had some unseasonably wet days during your trip but we are able to be flexible, and make changes to your itinerary.

The personalised service we offer means a lot to our guests, and in instances like these, it really makes our team satisfied to know that we can accommodate your requests even in unexpected situations.

The bungalows are definitely a cosy 'love nest' making it easy to stay in on a rainy day :-)

Hope you return for an anniversary trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2016

My wife and I travel somewhere different each year for our anniversary and this year we hit another jackpot. We stayed in Zabuco III and it was wonderful. The room had almost everything you could need including wifi which came in handy when communicating with our son who was staying with grandparents back in the states along with some minimal work that I was obligated to do. The villas are truly huge and amazing, pictures do not quite do it justice. We also loved the infinity pool and enjoyed the entire outdoor space surrounding our villa. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues but they were addressed to our satisfaction. Yes we could hear some road noise but I kept a pair of ear plugs by the bed based on reading reviews, nothing major in my opinion.

The food was another highlight of this trip. Every meal was excellent and in my opinion was totally worth the cost. Also different it was very nice to be able to be comfortable and have dinner/breakfast/lunch brought in by the staff or prepared in our villa. It was nice to be so laid-back for a week.

We went all over the resort and absolutely loved Secret Beach. The kayak ride over was easy and it is a beautiful and private beach. It is open to anyone but only for a few minutes did anyone else come close when we visiting. We do wish we could have used it more often as the direction of waves caused a more violent than normal ocean for most of our trip. Tibay beach is relaxing as well but totally different. Overall the grounds are well taken care of and they've gone to great lengths to make sure construction wasn't an issue and it wasn't.

We night snorkeled with Don, went up the Indian River with Fire, had massages at our villa, did the sunset sail and took a day trip with MJay to Roseau which included a trip to Trafalgar Falls and Tia's Sulphur Spa. I would especially recommend the Indian River, massages, waterfall hikes and sulphur spa. All of our guides and drivers were excellent.

Thanks to SaraLee our villa attendant for taking such great care of us and to Anthea for helping plan our activities and making sure they were always to our satisfaction. Thanks to Marvin for overseeing our vacation and managing such a wonderful trip and to Ayeola for answering my pre-trip questions. Also to Gilbert for the always delightful transportation and to Don for the water transportation.

We always go somewhere different so not sure if we will be back but this is our 14th trip similar to this including our honeymoon and it's sits at or near the top of our list. I would have no hesitations knowing what I know now of booking this trip. You will have an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Zabuco III and Zabuco I both offer total privacy
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank InvernessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Hey guys, it was truly my pleasure to assist you with booking your reservations and answering your questions. We feel that guests should be fully informed prior to their arrival. It makes for a comfortable stay with expectations met- all around.

You recommended some real awesome tours... most of which are located at Secret Bay or near by.

The entire Secret Bay Team thanks you for your lovely review and for signing out our efforts to accommodate you along the various stages of the booking process.

We're glad to be at the top of your list dn hope you will return again... you know, our new Ylang Ylang villas will be available for stays from October 2016 ... if you book that Villa it will be a 'new' experience ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Everything they say about Secret Bay is true. No exaggeration. The kindest staff and most comfortable accommodation you could ever wish for. In your 'villa' you will even have binoculars, bird reference books, a picnic cool box with ice pack in the freezer, umbrella, raincoats and an iPhone for your own use while there. And if it's not there, Anthea will get it for you! And the island is idyllic. The best hotel on the island and the best island in the Caribbean.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

At Secret Bay we want your experience to be as comfortable as possible. The amenities you mention are complimentary- just another way to make your stay feel like a home-away-from home. Thanks for mentioning :-) we are so glad you liked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews