We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$139
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$128
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucy Inn(Portsmouth)
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Iso's Bed & Breakfast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
482
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszing zingthe indian riverprivate beachvilla attendantzabuco honeymoon villathe cliffcoconut beachtrafalgar fallsgranolatibay beachlobsterinfinity poollion fishchampagne reefnatural beautyrum punchplantain chips
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 507 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2016

My wife and I travel somewhere different each year for our anniversary and this year we hit another jackpot. We stayed in Zabuco III and it was wonderful. The room had almost everything you could need including wifi which came in handy when communicating with our son who was staying with grandparents back in the states along with some minimal work that I was obligated to do. The villas are truly huge and amazing, pictures do not quite do it justice. We also loved the infinity pool and enjoyed the entire outdoor space surrounding our villa. We had a couple of minor maintenance issues but they were addressed to our satisfaction. Yes we could hear some road noise but I kept a pair of ear plugs by the bed based on reading reviews, nothing major in my opinion.

The food was another highlight of this trip. Every meal was excellent and in my opinion was totally worth the cost. Also different it was very nice to be able to be comfortable and have dinner/breakfast/lunch brought in by the staff or prepared in our villa. It was nice to be so laid-back for a week.

We went all over the resort and absolutely loved Secret Beach. The kayak ride over was easy and it is a beautiful and private beach. It is open to anyone but only for a few minutes did anyone else come close when we visiting. We do wish we could have used it more often as the direction of waves caused a more violent than normal ocean for most of our trip. Tibay beach is relaxing as well but totally different. Overall the grounds are well taken care of and they've gone to great lengths to make sure construction wasn't an issue and it wasn't.

We night snorkeled with Don, went up the Indian River with Fire, had massages at our villa, did the sunset sail and took a day trip with MJay to Roseau which included a trip to Trafalgar Falls and Tia's Sulphur Spa. I would especially recommend the Indian River, massages, waterfall hikes and sulphur spa. All of our guides and drivers were excellent.

Thanks to SaraLee our villa attendant for taking such great care of us and to Anthea for helping plan our activities and making sure they were always to our satisfaction. Thanks to Marvin for overseeing our vacation and managing such a wonderful trip and to Ayeola for answering my pre-trip questions. Also to Gilbert for the always delightful transportation and to Don for the water transportation.

We always go somewhere different so not sure if we will be back but this is our 14th trip similar to this including our honeymoon and it's sits at or near the top of our list. I would have no hesitations knowing what I know now of booking this trip. You will have an amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Zabuco III and Zabuco I both offer total privacy
  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank InvernessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

Hey guys, it was truly my pleasure to assist you with booking your reservations and answering your questions. We feel that guests should be fully informed prior to their arrival. It makes for a comfortable stay with expectations met- all around.

You recommended some real awesome tours... most of which are located at Secret Bay or near by.

The entire Secret Bay Team thanks you for your lovely review and for signing out our efforts to accommodate you along the various stages of the booking process.

We're glad to be at the top of your list dn hope you will return again... you know, our new Ylang Ylang villas will be available for stays from October 2016 ... if you book that Villa it will be a 'new' experience ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed March 14, 2016 via mobile

Everything they say about Secret Bay is true. No exaggeration. The kindest staff and most comfortable accommodation you could ever wish for. In your 'villa' you will even have binoculars, bird reference books, a picnic cool box with ice pack in the freezer, umbrella, raincoats and an iPhone for your own use while there. And if it's not there, Anthea will get it for you! And the island is idyllic. The best hotel on the island and the best island in the Caribbean.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

At Secret Bay we want your experience to be as comfortable as possible. The amenities you mention are complimentary- just another way to make your stay feel like a home-away-from home. Thanks for mentioning :-) we are so glad you liked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2016

We've never experienced anything close to a place like Secret Bay. It was the vacation of a lifetime. We stayed in Zabuco Honeymoon Villa I - it was my 50th Birthday and I wanted something special and different - Secret Bay was it! When we arrived and saw just how beautiful our Villa was we thought it was ridiculous to even think of leaving our Villa and exploring Dominica. The food was the best we tasted on the island. The views were amazing and the villa very comfortable - it definitely felt like home and we hated to leave!. Mertle, Kisha and Anthea took great care of us - thank you ladies!

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ALK1219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2016

A 50th birthday is a truly special milestone in one's life and we are overjoyed that you chose to celebrate this momentous occasion with us. We're sorry that you had to leave and we do look forward to your return. The 'ladies' and the rest of the Team say "hi!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

We recently celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with a 12 night stay at Secret Bay. We knew this was going to be a special place when Gilbert greeted us at the airport with home made granola bars and proceeded to give us a guided tour (including a stop for some local beer) on the hour ride to Secret Bay. We stayed in Zabuco 1 which has to be one of the best villas in the Caribbean - totally private, knock out views, every amenity imaginable, huge space stunningly designed. The food is exceptional. We let our attendants prepare breakfast to order and surprise us with dinner each night. The staff truly went of its way to satisfy our every request. There are plenty of activities available, including Island tours, although some days we never left our villa. This will be our new home away from home - we have already made reservations for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jamesaV938HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2016

James, we can’t wait for you guys to return next year. Zabuco will be just as stunning and we will do our best to continue to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Zabuco 2 and had the best vacation of our lives. We were celebrating a 45th birthday and had rented the entire resort amongst friends- from the moment we arrived the red carpet was rolled out and the staff were the most accommodating of anywhere I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Des B. Was our attendant and she's a sweetheart! (Secret Bay, she definitely deserves a promotion!!) she was wonderful wonderful wonderful and a true delight!

The villas were immaculate, absolutely gorgeous with no expense spared. If you're looking for a vacation you'll never forget, come here! I'm dreaming of when I'll be able to visit next!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2016

Woohoo!! Thanks Mathew, you and your party were a joy to serve. Deslyn definitely remembers you and says “hi!” Hope that dream comes true real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews