We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$139
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$128
$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucy Inn(Portsmouth)
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Iso's Bed & Breakfast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$80
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manicou River(Portsmouth)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Rejens Hotel(Portsmouth)
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
482
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszing zingthe indian riverprivate beachvilla attendantzabuco honeymoon villathe cliffcoconut beachtrafalgar fallsgranolatibay beachlobsterinfinity poollion fishchampagne reefnatural beautyrum punchplantain chips
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 507 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Zabuco 2 and had the best vacation of our lives. We were celebrating a 45th birthday and had rented the entire resort amongst friends- from the moment we arrived the red carpet was rolled out and the staff were the most accommodating of anywhere I have ever had the pleasure of staying. Des B. Was our attendant and she's a sweetheart! (Secret Bay, she definitely deserves a promotion!!) she was wonderful wonderful wonderful and a true delight!

The villas were immaculate, absolutely gorgeous with no expense spared. If you're looking for a vacation you'll never forget, come here! I'm dreaming of when I'll be able to visit next!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2016

Woohoo!! Thanks Mathew, you and your party were a joy to serve. Deslyn definitely remembers you and says “hi!” Hope that dream comes true real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2016

Our Honeymoon destination requirements were pretty simple - sun, fun, and all-inclusive but in a low-key setting. As we scanned the internet for Caribbean locations that checked our boxes, we quickly came across Secret Bay. Trip Advisor reviews and the resort's FAQ portion of their website swiftly answered our concerns and questions and reality set in - Tranquility in a tropical setting, with beautiful amenities and personalized service was ours to be had at Secret Bay!
Waves crashed against the shore to provide a natural sound machine at night, and the beach was always open for our lounging during the day. The trips and tours arranged by the staff were unique and beautiful experiences provided by charming guides. Our villa attendant was thoughtful, detailed, and sweet, and the food she asked the chefs to prepare on our behalf was fresh and delicious!
On our return home we revisited our trip and reflected back to the planning process and selecting Secret Bay. All of our original boxes had been checked, and then some! Without question, this was the trip of a lifetime and the most ideal place for our to begin our marriage and lifetime together!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Trae M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Thanks Trae! A ‘trip of a lifetime’- it’s an honour to be part of such a memorable time in your marriage! We wish you guys a lifetime of joy, laughter and hopefully more Secret Bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2016

Just returned from a fabulous 5 night stay at Secret Bay...our first time there. My husband and I are always looking for a small, elegant, luxury, private resort and we found Secret Bay exceeded our expectations. We were met at the airport by Gilbert, a delightful, smiling driver. He took care of our luggage and we never handled it again. His exuberance about his homeland, Dominica, was infectious and we talked all the way to the resort which takes about an hour. The road from the airport to the resort was excellent. Gilbert offered us a cold, scented cloth to refresh ourselves.....it was heavenly after the flight and the heat. He also had cold water and snacks for us that were greatly appreciated.....plantain chips and dried fruit.

Once at the resort, we were met by Marvin, manager. He immediately took us to our villa...Zambuco II, a huge, beautiful villa with so many amenities: a full kitchen (stocked with food and drink based on a questionnaire we received before our arrival) with all Siemen's appliances (side by side refrigerator.....loved the crushed ice, dishwasher, oven, espresso machine, gas stove top, combination washer/dryer and all the dishes, glassware and cooking utensils you could need.

There is a huge, ope, covered verandah where we spent a lot of time reading, listening to music and having snacks. The furniture was top of the line! The villa had 2 sets of folding doors across the villa so that the entire "4th wall" was entirely open to the wonderful breezes and gorgeous view of ocean and the Cabritz. Air-conditioning is available but absolutely unnecessary.......there are ceiling fans galore (7 total!) in the event the winds are calm.

The bedroom is very large with a king-sized platform bed and great pillows (the resort offers several types of pillows). There is a large his/hers closet with lots of room for your clothes and other items. The bathroom is at one end of the bedroom with a glass shower with multiple, luxurious shower heads, double vanity with under sink storage and a "water closet" for privacy.

All of the windows have screens and are easy to open which we did to allow the lovely breezes in. Below the villa is a large open area with a very unusual hammock and a private infinity pool. Although it is only 3-4 feet deep, I was able to do water aerobics.

The grounds are clean and well-maintained. The staff is excellent and intent on providing for your every need. The food was outstanding.....I loved the grilled lionfish and my husband found the curried goat outstanding. We both loved the chocolate mousse. The food is served in your villa each evening. One. Igor er journeyed into town and had dinner at the Purple Turtle.

I could go on and on but to sum the experience up....we will return!!! We have stayed in many small resorts in the Caribbean and have found Secret Bay to be our new favorite resort! We commend Gregor Nassief and his wife Sandra Vivas on the lovely resort and staff and for taking the time to ask our opinions. Kudos to Ayeloa, Anthea, Gilbert, Marvin, Megan and Deslyn.....see you soon!

Room Tip: The choice villa is Zambuco I for its absolute privacy and unobstructed view.
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JackieOdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Hi Jackie! We miss you guys! Thanks for the lovely review which so accurately captrures the ‘Secret Bay Experience’. We’re your new favourite?!?!? So happy to know!

See you guys soon…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Like most people, my husband and I live busy stress-filled lives. After only a few short days at Secret Bay, we both remembered what it felt like to be children with no responsibilities other than to enjoy the day that stretched out in front of us like a gift waiting to be opened. Each morning we awoke to gentle ocean breezes, songbirds, and on several occasions had the pleasure of spying rainbows arching above the crystal blue waters below. We explored the wonders of Dominica by day, hiking, kayaking, collecting shells on the “secret” beach, then returning to our stunning private villa for a dip in our own heated infinity pool. Each evening from the seclusion of our expansive deck overlooking the Caribbean, we watched awe-inspiring sunsets and dined on local specialties expertly prepared by Secret Bay’s culinary team. One of our favorite evenings was spent in a private cooking class with our newfound friend, Chef Jemma, learning to prepare fresh-caught blue marlin with spicy sofrito sauce…delicious! The staff at Secret Bay came to feel like family. Bianca saw to our every need flawlessly, Anthea planned our busy daily activity schedule, and Gilbert drove us to and fro always with a smile. We have truly never felt so pampered! We can’t thank everyone at Secret Bay enough for our wonderful experience. From the food to the surroundings to the expert service…everything was perfect. My husband and I travel quite a bit, and we never visit the same place twice. I think this time, we may make an exception. In fact, I know we will!

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

We’re so glad you found us Leslie! It was our pleasure to make you feel like kids again. The entire Team says hello and to let you know that they are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016

This place is amazing. The accommodations are spotless and luxurious. The staff is incredible, so polite, so accommodating. They go out of their way to customize your stay and make it unforgettable. The private chef is always there to create whatever your heart desires! The food is fresh, and delicious. The room is always kept clean and you never even see when they do it! Its like magic. I would definitely recommend going there to experience this hideaway as you will feel that you are the only ones there and everything is centered around your needs! Awesome place, awesome people, awesome memories!

Room Tip: All the rooms are magnificent!
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rshifman9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Hi rshifman9397. You just described a perfect day at Secret Bay. Thanks for the high recommendation. We loved having you here. Here’s to more awesome moments in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews