We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 516 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2016

Like most people, my husband and I live busy stress-filled lives. After only a few short days at Secret Bay, we both remembered what it felt like to be children with no responsibilities other than to enjoy the day that stretched out in front of us like a gift waiting to be opened. Each morning we awoke to gentle ocean breezes, songbirds, and on several occasions had the pleasure of spying rainbows arching above the crystal blue waters below. We explored the wonders of Dominica by day, hiking, kayaking, collecting shells on the “secret” beach, then returning to our stunning private villa for a dip in our own heated infinity pool. Each evening from the seclusion of our expansive deck overlooking the Caribbean, we watched awe-inspiring sunsets and dined on local specialties expertly prepared by Secret Bay’s culinary team. One of our favorite evenings was spent in a private cooking class with our newfound friend, Chef Jemma, learning to prepare fresh-caught blue marlin with spicy sofrito sauce…delicious! The staff at Secret Bay came to feel like family. Bianca saw to our every need flawlessly, Anthea planned our busy daily activity schedule, and Gilbert drove us to and fro always with a smile. We have truly never felt so pampered! We can’t thank everyone at Secret Bay enough for our wonderful experience. From the food to the surroundings to the expert service…everything was perfect. My husband and I travel quite a bit, and we never visit the same place twice. I think this time, we may make an exception. In fact, I know we will!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

We’re so glad you found us Leslie! It was our pleasure to make you feel like kids again. The entire Team says hello and to let you know that they are looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016

This place is amazing. The accommodations are spotless and luxurious. The staff is incredible, so polite, so accommodating. They go out of their way to customize your stay and make it unforgettable. The private chef is always there to create whatever your heart desires! The food is fresh, and delicious. The room is always kept clean and you never even see when they do it! Its like magic. I would definitely recommend going there to experience this hideaway as you will feel that you are the only ones there and everything is centered around your needs! Awesome place, awesome people, awesome memories!

Room tip: All the rooms are magnificent!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rshifman9397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Hi rshifman9397. You just described a perfect day at Secret Bay. Thanks for the high recommendation. We loved having you here. Here’s to more awesome moments in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2016

My husband and I honeymooned at Secret Bay in Jan 2016. Upon arrival we received a warm and personal welcome which really set the tone for the rest of our stay. Instead of checking in at a front desk, we were escorted to our villa where we were served drinks with smooth jazz playing on the sound system.

We stayed in the Zing Zing Villa and it was clear that the staff of Secret Bay specialized in catering to our personal needs and desires. The villa was outfitted with ALL modern and technologically advanced amenities. Our villa was very private and quiet and the views were breathtaking, especially during sunset dinners on the deck. Overall, the food was very tasty and I just love how personal it was with our villa attendant coming to serve our meals on time - no lines, no wait, no mingling with other guests if you don't want to. The villa is also self-contained, so we had the option of cooking, doing laundry or simply be waited on.

If you are looking for an excellent get-away and privacy, Secret Bay is the place for you. You hardly see other guests, yet you feel safe. And if you're a nature lover, Secret Bay is where you want to be with beautiful wood finishes and walls that can essentially transform into windows or be removed to create that 'I'm taking a bath in the great outdoors' effect.

At check out, staff comes to your villa rather than having to meet them at reception. We did not want to leave. We're officially spoiled and I doubt many other hotels in the region will be able to match this experience.

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Hi Velma! We like to think of ourselves as the un-hotel. That’s why our service is so personalised. Making our guests feel special is EVERYTHING to us! We want you to feel almost like you’re the only one here at Secret Bay. Thanks for the great feedback. We hope to see you and hubby again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2016

Last year we read a review about Secret Bay and felt we just had to experience it ourselves. What an amazing place!! The accommodation is second to none all in private locations dotted amongst the trees. The staff did everything they good to make our stay one to remember and the meals were some of the best food we have every tasted! Liked the choice of where to have our meals - on our verandah, on the sunset deck, on the meditation deck or by the beach. Can't wait to go there again!

Room tip: Any choice of room would be good!!!
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Thanks for reading that review, visiting and now writing your own, Angela T! We’re truly lucky to have access to such a variety of fresh, local ingredients here in Dominica-our Souce Shack team takes pleasure in sharing with all our guests. Can’t wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2016

We stayed at Secret Bay for a relaxing long weekend and felt so welcome that we now feel we have new friends on the island. We live on Dominica, so this was a real treat, as an anniversary present to ourselves, to stay at Secret Bay. I can not say enough about the staff and our personal concierge who even brewed a pot of ginger tea when she realized I had a cough. The specially prepared, personalized meals, served in our bungalow, were the best you can get on Dominica- a high 5 to the chef - and our accommodations perfect.

For us, it was a relaxing get-away and a long weekend we will always remember.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Maranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

Hi my friend! We enjoyed hosting you and your spouse. I will be sure to hi-five Chef Eric for you. He’ll get a kick out of that :-), and I will also pass on your remarks to your villa attendant Saralee... We hope you consider us for your next anniversary or other special occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews