We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 516 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Wonderful resort with many modern amenities. The staff was outstanding and very accommodating. We were able to go on various excursions and explore the beauty of this Caribbean island and then return to a very gracious and restful place.The food was excellent-local fresh and the chef even catered to some food allergies in the group! Secret Bay is a hidden gem and would highly recommend!

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Dede D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thanks Dede! We appreciate the feedback. It was our pleasure to host your group. We really love our kitchen staff and the effort they make to cater to the unique food requests of each guest. I will be sure to pass on your words of praise to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

First time in Dominica and certainly it will not be the last time. An island that has plenty of nature and offers great opportunities for everyone with an active lifestyle and who likes outdoors.
We stayed at the wonderful Secret Bay Hotel and it was marvelous. The view from the villa was fantastic, like someone had opened a window in the forest to the sea. The villa itself is designed and equipped with great taste and the service was very attentive but discreet at the same time. We felt that it was just us at the hotel.
The food was tasty and varied and as their is no menu you get too choose what you like, the kitchen creates a firework of taste based on all the island has to offer.
Secret Bay, what else?

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank martinhuber01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Martin, do come again. We will be happy to see you and the family…. And to answer your question- “Secret Bay times two :-) ”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Secret Bay (Zabuco II Villa) for our honeymoon Dec 1-11. We could tell from looking at the website and the pictures beforehand that this place would be fantastic. We found out firsthand that pictures and reviews do this resort no justice. Our shuttle driver was waiting for us upon landing. He gave us complimentary local snacks and hot towels before giving us a nice tour of the island on the way to the resort. The driver drops you off right at your villa, no check-in desk. The concierge attendant was waiting at the villa for us. She went through all of the basics for the resort/villa. We booked all of our excursions through the concierge. They setup your excursions on days that the cruise ships are NOT at the island so it's never busy when you go out! My wife and I went to a bunch of different waterfalls and were alone the entire time.

We met our villa attendant (Megan) the next day. She was in charge of taking care of us during our stay. She would call us every morning to setup the meals for the day. If you want to be surprised, like us, you can just tell her what kind of protein you want with your meal (beef, chicken, pork etc.) and they will cook you a random meal using that protein. Not once in our 10 day stay did we have a bad meal! The cooks deserve a huge pat on the back because my wife and I tend to be pretty fussy.

The weather was about +30 celcius everyday. When it rained it would only come down for about 15-20mins and then the sun would come back out. To be honest the rain was pretty refreshing when it came. The island was hit by a hurricane earlier this year and if you travel to the southern part of the island you can see the damage that was done. It's only certain areas of the island but the other 95% of the island is still unimaginably beautiful and lush with rain forest and mountains.

Everything from the minute we touched down in Dominica to the day we left was beyond expectations. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Logan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Logan, Megan sends her regards to you and your lovely wife. Thanks for visiting us and for leaving this nice review. Pleasant wishes for the New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2015

You know those sceptical thoughts, when you see and read a website, but you can't believe this can't be true? Well, this happened to us. We thought the website about Secret Bay sounded to be real. Well, we were wrong. Totally wrong.
We stayed at Zing-Zing, the structure is beautiful, you feel very safe (despite all the hurrican news you might have heard.) and we just loved the concept to have all the meals in our Villa. The food is extremely delicious, and surprisingly for us even our spaghetti-fries-diet kids liked it very much. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Even though the whole place is not too big, there is enough to do, that even after 3 days we left some activities for the next time, and yes: that's for sure. We will come back.

Room tip: Zing-Zing for families
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandrainSaoPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

You came, yow saw, you enjoyed! (and by you I mean the ENTIRE family). Great to hear you will be back. See you soon, and thanks for the wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2015

From the moment we arrived to the island of Dominica we knew our vacation would be special, as it is an untouched, non commercialized paradise. Our driver from the airport gave us an excellent guided tour as he drove us to the resort. It was very nice of him to highlight areas along the way & teach us a few local creole phrases we could use while visiting.

Once we arrived at the resort, we were greeted by a very welcoming staff & given a tour of the property, the amenities & briefed on the resort activities. The staff also came to stock our villa (Ti Fey) & presented us with our meal options & daily activities plan. Our villa was a cozy, yet modern oasis tucked away in lush greens oceanside. It was equipped with books, games, and just about any other modern convenience imaginable. It was exactly as described and displayed on the website. The views were fantastic! It
was very relaxing to sit on the patio & just listen to the birds above & ocean below.

The resort staff went above & beyond to ensure our stay was top-notch. The meals they prepared (including breakfast prepared inside our villa when requested) were creative & delicious. We even opted for a 'traditional local breakfast' one day & the staff took the time to explain each dish (a must have if you visit).

We took a couple tours during our stay (all arranged by the resort staff). The Indian River tour was a lot of fun & included a relaxing boat ride. The tour to the Trafalgar falls, complete with a stop at the hot springs for a dip in the sulfur baths, is also a must-do.

Overall our stay at Secret Bay was made extra special by the phenomenal staff as well as the friendly people of Dominica. Special thanks to Merlinda, Marvin, Sara Lee, Jess, the amazing culinary team of the kitchen. In addition, we had the privilege of a warm welcome greeting by the owner of the property himself. We've told our friends & will definitely be planning a return very soon, as this is a truly special place!

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris_Trina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

This is Awesome!! Thanks so much for your review. I will pass on your kind words to the Team! Hope to see you soon and hope your family and friends visit us too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews