We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 516 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2015 via mobile

This resort is not only beautiful, but it offers a privacy that other resorts can't compare.
It is relaxing and breath taking. The owner is kind and caring.
The staff are professional and kind. They go well beyond most resorts. They make you are taken care of at all times. Whether you chose to stay at the resort or adventure out and explore, they can help with it all!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank wlborgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

Thanks so much for your review and photos! We remember you well. It was our pleasure to ensure that your ‘first solo visit’ was memorable and relaxing. Gregor sends his regards, as does the rest of the Team. Thanks for the great photos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

A hidden Gem tucked away on the Island of Dominica. Can't say enough words of praise for the accomodations, staff and owner of Secret Bay. Our 8 day stay exceeded our wildest expectations. Can't wait to go back. Upon arrival we were greeting by the most friendly and accommodating staff that I have ever encountered in my years of travel.

Our Villa, along with it's breathtaking view, left us speechless and not wanting to leave the serenity of our new home for the next week. The Villa design with select hardwoods and opening glass walls throught, should be featured on the cover of Architectural Design. Usage of space and Eco design was impressive. The Kitchen was to die for! There was even a Weber Grill on the lower 3,000ft sq Deck if you desired to Barbeque.

My wife and I on our Honeymoon(2 1/2 yrs overdue) would have waited another two years for the opportunity of this experience. We felt like two children in the home of "Life Styles of The Rich and Famous"! Couldn't makeup my mind whether to first play with the built-in Cappuccino Maker, or to slip into the Infinity Pool overlooking the Caribbean Ocean atop a 100 foot cliff.

The ammenities, too many to list, were incomparably well above 5 Stars. The Staff went out of their way with personalized service, to Welcome us and to ensure that our stay was a memorable one. Their sincerity was for real, not a "put on" as with many popular resorts. We were even invited to attend their country's Independence Day celebration where we partook in local dishes and dance. We exchanged email addresses, recipes and contact info with many staff members. Another testament to personalized service was when my wife fell ill(dehydration) for 2 days. The owner of Secret Bay, Gregor, took time from his busy schedule to personaly visit us twice at our Villa to offer assisistance. The Staff doted on her with Herbal Tea's and hydrating Coconut water. That, as my wife would say, " Spoke Volumes" for Secret Bay!

The Culinary Skills of Jemma, Head Chef and local hero winner of Iron Chef, never ceases to dazzle us with delicious Island dishes. She and her staff would accommodate us with whatever request we made. Our plans of dining outside the resort were dashed after a sampling a few of Jemma's creations. The Staff arranged a Candlelight Romantic Dinner for us on the Lower Deck under the Moonlight Sky and Stars. Can you say, Unforgetable!

Our Consigier, Anthea, arranged all of our numerous activities exhibiting a great deal of patience with us. We made a few last minute change of plans that would have bewildered most. She just smiled and accomodated us. "No Worries"! She minimized the stress of planing by offering suggestions and alteratives.

The property was surprisingly well maintained and impeccably landscaped despite the recent devastation of Hurricane Erica. Kayaking and snorkeling incredible thanks our Secret Bay Guide. Can't remember his name, Cool Guy!

Our arranged Driver during the week was Rowey, a laid back patient man. We always ran late! He provided us with history, and insight into the culture of Dominica.

Our Villa Attendants, Megan and Sara Lee, probably still confused that we kept trying to help them with their services as we were not accustomed to being this pampered. They were fantastic in all aspects. Their work ethic combined with personality and dedication went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one.

Lastly, The Front Office Staff, Anya and Ayeola made our trip possible by handling and assisting us with the many obstacles that we incurred arranging travel. You Guys are the Best! Gilbert our Transfer Specialist was the Bomb!

We Highly recommend Secret Bay to our friends and family. We will definitely be back soon!

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2015

We enjoyed hosting you and your wife during your 8-day stay at Secret Bay. Even before you arrived, we were excited to serve you. Of course, the two of you made it sooo easy. Doug, I will be sure to let the entire staff know how much you appreciated their efforts. Can’t wait for you guys to come back. Hopefully, you can get more dance classes-- your wife is a natural. Hope your straw hats made the journey back to NJ! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2015

We have been home from Secret Bay now for about a week and I'm still thinking about what an amazing trip it was! I'll break the review into sections to keep it easy to read:

Room: We stayed in Zabuco III. It is the villa on the top of the hill and seems to get less "foot traffic" than the other rooms save the original Zabuco. The villa was amazing! Huge porch that looks out over the ocean and bay. Drinking coffee there every morning while reading was a highlight of the trip! Great kitchen with a cool coffee machine that makes all sorts of fancy stuff like macchiatos and cappuccinos. We had ours stocked with basic breakfast items like fresh eggs, cheese, bread (the coconut is super - yummy), juice and fruit. We had a few bottles of wine in the fridge and we found the selection to be good and affordable. The villa has wifi and and a big flat - screen with apple TV hooked up. The bedroom has an amazingly comfortable bed and great shower that opens to the outside.

The property: We spent only two days actually on site, and loved kayaking to Secret Beach where we were the only ones save for a few crabs. Coconut Beach was about a 15 minute kayak and was also empty. The snorkeling at Secret Beach is great along the edges and towards the sea arch. The property is very hilly though I'm sure someone could assist you to the beach with one of the golf carts if this is an issue. I actually spent one morning running the hill from the beach to our villa for about 40 min. A ridiculous workout for sure!

The food: One word - Awesome. We ate at the resort for pretty much all of our meals and were not disappointed. Everything is local and fresh. Lots of seafood (lion fish, shrimp, lobster, marlin), local dishes like curry goat and coconut curried pork. Everything was excellent.

The island: While you could while away the hours by your private pool or on the beach, it would do a disservice to the amazing island of Dominica. Our trip coordinator Anthea made sure to plan the perfect itinerary for us so that we got to see and do everything we wanted to, but still had ample time to rest. We visited Titou Gorge (amazing), Trafalgar Falls, the Sulfur Springs and Champagne Reef to snorkel and our driver/ tour guide Devon made sure to grab us a roasted plantain on our way home. We went whale watching - a dream of mine on day, and saw at least 6 or 7 whales including a brand new baby! It was thrilling! On our last day we went up the Indian River with Fire and he was a wonderful guide - we also met his friend who owns the farm that runs along the river and were treated to an impromptu snack of freshly grilled breadfruit and lentils - YUM! Later that day we went up to Syndicate Falls and rain forest area with the incredible Dr. Birdie. His knowledge of plants, island history and birds was incredible and we enjoyed a hike and parrot watching before the sun set on our last day.

Overall: From the moment we got off the plane and our driver Ryan handed us some snacks, to our amazing attendants Bianca and Megan who took care of everything we could need, to the GM Marvin who checked in every evening to make sure we were enjoying our stay, the staff at Secret Bay made our trip one of the best we've ever taken. The island of Dominica and its people are so special, and although Erica may have damaged their infrastructure (which is recovering and functioning well), it did nothing to damage their spirit. We hope we can return with our two girls to share the beauty of this place with them some day!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Hi Sara, that was an easy read!

Thank you for giving our potential guests such a clear and concise example of what to expect when they visit us at Secret Bay. We enjoyed having you very much.

Anthea, Devon, Ryan, Marvin and the rest of the Team say ‘Hi!' Looking forward to your next visit with your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2015

We had an amazing vacation at Secret Bay. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. We stayed in two of the Zabuco Honeymoon Villas (we had to relocate for our last night). The views are breathtaking, the villas are to die for, the food is spectacular and the service is top notch.

The Honeymoon villas are HUGE, modern, serene and peaceful. When we arrived the staff had John Legend music playing on surround sound throughout the villa. We barely ever wanted to leave the villa to go to the beach. The hammock and the private pool within vast deck were all we needed to have an incredibly relaxing vacation. We took a yoga lesson on the downstairs deck and thoroughly enjoyed the heated pool.

The beaches are small and one has to travel by kayak to get to them, but the kayaking was our exercise, and the privacy of the beaches is well worth the 4 minute kayak trip. The resort supplies the kayak, beach shoes and bag to store belongings for the short trips to the beaches.

The food is delicious and the fact that it is brought to the villa is all the more worth the cost of the trip. The food is fresh and prepared to perfection. Everything is made to order -- and enjoying a meal on the front deck with your favorite music playing is beyond romantic.

When I go back to Secret Bay I am taking only a small bag as I only wore a bathing suit and shorts while there -- not once did I put on "real clothes" as there is no reason to leave the resort (or for me, the villa!). :-)

The staff was so generous with their time. They all were so friendly and responsive.

After having traveled all around the world, this was by far our favorite vacation resort. It is a very small and quiet resort but we can't say enough great things about it.

The only downside is that Dominica is a long and expensive trip from New York, but enjoying Secret Bay is well worth the time and expense!

Room tip: Make sure to upgrade to the Zabuco Honeymoon Villas -- the big decks and private pools are a must!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tlwoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

We sure wish you could have stayed longer, but not to worry; we’re here whenever you’re ready to return.

At Secret Bay we want you to have the un-hotel experience that makes you feel like you’re the only ones here. So, coming from a world traveler like yourself, these comments mean so much!

On your next trip to us, we will be sure to assist you in sourcing the best routes to Dominica from NYC.

Thank you for choosing us we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

My husband Mike and I took a one week getaway to Secret Bay Resort in Portsmouth, Dominica for a romantic getaway. Needless to say, it was just what we needed and we got an opportunity to enjoy a rare gem of an experience and came away with lasting memories. The resort is the perfect getaway for a newly married couple on their honeymoon or a couple married for many years.
We stayed in the Zing Zing villa and there is no other breathtaking view than the one from our balcony. The privacy, tranquility, ambience, lush vegetation, breathtaking sunsets and the beach within walking distance of your villa is the perfect getaway for couples. Our personal assistant (Bianca) and Secret Bay staff were very attentive to our needs while also giving us our privacy.
If you're looking for a romantic, memorable getaway to the Caribbean, Secret Bay Resort is the perfect place. My husband and I will be sure to return.
Thank you Secret Bay for a memorable vacation!

Room tip: Each villa is private with breathtaking views
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Hi Kris.

Thanks for the detailed review. We’re so thrilled to know that your stay in Zing Zing made for a “perfect vacation.”

Although I am sure you already showered Bianca with your praises, we’ll be sure to tell her again how much you appreciated her attention to your needs.

We look forward to seeing you and your husband soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews