We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 516 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2015

We had an amazing vacation at Secret Bay. My only regret is that we did not stay longer. We stayed in two of the Zabuco Honeymoon Villas (we had to relocate for our last night). The views are breathtaking, the villas are to die for, the food is spectacular and the service is top notch.

The Honeymoon villas are HUGE, modern, serene and peaceful. When we arrived the staff had John Legend music playing on surround sound throughout the villa. We barely ever wanted to leave the villa to go to the beach. The hammock and the private pool within vast deck were all we needed to have an incredibly relaxing vacation. We took a yoga lesson on the downstairs deck and thoroughly enjoyed the heated pool.

The beaches are small and one has to travel by kayak to get to them, but the kayaking was our exercise, and the privacy of the beaches is well worth the 4 minute kayak trip. The resort supplies the kayak, beach shoes and bag to store belongings for the short trips to the beaches.

The food is delicious and the fact that it is brought to the villa is all the more worth the cost of the trip. The food is fresh and prepared to perfection. Everything is made to order -- and enjoying a meal on the front deck with your favorite music playing is beyond romantic.

When I go back to Secret Bay I am taking only a small bag as I only wore a bathing suit and shorts while there -- not once did I put on "real clothes" as there is no reason to leave the resort (or for me, the villa!). :-)

The staff was so generous with their time. They all were so friendly and responsive.

After having traveled all around the world, this was by far our favorite vacation resort. It is a very small and quiet resort but we can't say enough great things about it.

The only downside is that Dominica is a long and expensive trip from New York, but enjoying Secret Bay is well worth the time and expense!

Room tip: Make sure to upgrade to the Zabuco Honeymoon Villas -- the big decks and private pools are a must!
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tlwoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

We sure wish you could have stayed longer, but not to worry; we’re here whenever you’re ready to return.

At Secret Bay we want you to have the un-hotel experience that makes you feel like you’re the only ones here. So, coming from a world traveler like yourself, these comments mean so much!

On your next trip to us, we will be sure to assist you in sourcing the best routes to Dominica from NYC.

Thank you for choosing us we do appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

My husband Mike and I took a one week getaway to Secret Bay Resort in Portsmouth, Dominica for a romantic getaway. Needless to say, it was just what we needed and we got an opportunity to enjoy a rare gem of an experience and came away with lasting memories. The resort is the perfect getaway for a newly married couple on their honeymoon or a couple married for many years.
We stayed in the Zing Zing villa and there is no other breathtaking view than the one from our balcony. The privacy, tranquility, ambience, lush vegetation, breathtaking sunsets and the beach within walking distance of your villa is the perfect getaway for couples. Our personal assistant (Bianca) and Secret Bay staff were very attentive to our needs while also giving us our privacy.
If you're looking for a romantic, memorable getaway to the Caribbean, Secret Bay Resort is the perfect place. My husband and I will be sure to return.
Thank you Secret Bay for a memorable vacation!

Room tip: Each villa is private with breathtaking views
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Hi Kris.

Thanks for the detailed review. We’re so thrilled to know that your stay in Zing Zing made for a “perfect vacation.”

Although I am sure you already showered Bianca with your praises, we’ll be sure to tell her again how much you appreciated her attention to your needs.

We look forward to seeing you and your husband soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

My husband and I recently spent our Honeymoon in Dominica and Secret Bay was our home for 9 days. It truly felt like a home while we were there. The service was impeccable, the accommodations were flawless, and the food was amazing!!!

From the moment we stepped off the plane, the Secret Bay team was there to greet us and help us. From our travel to and from the airport (which was one of their team members driving us to and from), Secret Bay arranged everything for us on our trip. All of our day trips while staying there (hiking The Trail, snorkeling, seeing Roseau, trip to Scott's Head, bird watching, a romantic dinner on the sunset deck, a sunset sail, and much more!) were arranged by Secret Bay and led by one of their trusted guides. We saw so much of this beautiful island thanks to Secret Bay!

While at the resort, we did not have to worry about anything! Our Secret Bay villa attendant took care of everything--all of our meals were ordered daily and delivered with flawless service. I also have Celiac disease so I have to be very strict about following a gluten free diet, and Secret Bay's amazing culinary team made sure everything I ate was gluten free. We loved everything, but some standouts include the coconut marinated pork, the lamb, the coffee rubbed steak, the curried goat, the scalloped provisions, fresh fish (prepared many different ways), BREAD FRUIT, and really everything else we ate! Do not skip desserts, either! The passion fruit mousse and mango cobbler were our favorites. (You HAVE to try the mango cobbler!) The wine list was equally as impressive and we enjoyed several excellent bottles during our stay.

Our stay with Secret Bay left nothing to be desired. We would go back there in a heartbeat for a relaxing, romantic vacation. It was absolutely the perfect honeymoon!

Room tip: All villas and bungalows are great locations with beautiful views and privacy.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Maggie, reviews like yours really touch us to the core. We feel your appreciation and this encourages us to continue to do our best for you and all our guests.

We try to be especially accommodating to guests with special food request and are so glad to know you enjoyed all your meals. If you haven’t tried Eric’s gluten-free chocolate cake, make sure its on your list of things to do when you return. It’s sooo amazing!

Thanks again for being such and awesome guest and for the heartfelt review. We look forward to having you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2015

Notwithstanding the damage caused by Tropical Storm Erika, Dominica has a gem, a paradise – Secret Bay, secluded but in close proximity to the island’s second town, Portsmouth.
Secret Bay is a one-of-a-kind paradise – the caring and attentive staff, the delicious meals, the lush green vegetation, the beaches and amazing sunsets, the peace and tranquility and the ambiance of our villa (the Zing Zing) is unmatched!
My wife Kris and I were truly pampered and treated like royalty! Our six-day stay was truly romantic and enjoyable; we are guaranteed to return – definitely for a longer stay! Thanks Secret Bay for a most memorable vacation!

Room tip: Amazingly gorgeous and quiet at night
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Thanks for considering us a ‘gem’ and ‘paradise’ Mike. We couldn’t think of making your stay at Secret Bay and visit to Dominica anything less than stellar. We were happy to spoil both you and your wife.

Love from the Entire SB Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

We have traveled the world over and have never had as an amazing experience as we had at Secret Bay! The staff go WAY above and beyond to ensure that your stay is perfect, and the villas are impeccably gorgeous- they did not spare any expense to create these beauties! From the moment we arrived, the entire staff greeted us with open arms, gave us a tour of the property, each of us (we were a group of 12, 6 couples) was assigned a villa attendant. Ours was Deslyn-- she was nothing short of amazing. She made sure we were comfortable the entire week and even left special little surprises around the villa for us to discover. I know she wasn't alone- each of the staff works together to tell each other likes and dislikes of the guests to tailor each persons experience to what they desire. The amount of hard work that went into our stay was incredible---- absolutely incredible! This was by far one of the most memorable trips we have ever taken... And that's saying quite a bit. There's something to be said when the owner of a resort makes a special trip to introduce himself to his guests, the staff became a second family, and the overall experience was just. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. I can't say enough good things about this place.... It's truly a special little secret place, a "Secret Bay". A big thank you to everyone that made our vacation so incredible. This photo was the view at sunset from our private pool at Villa Zabuco 2. (Oh yea... The private beaches were exceptional as well) ---Rod H.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Wow. Wow. Wow. Thank you for this glowing review Rod! Blushing...
Gregor sends his regards and Deslyn as well.
We truly enjoyed having you and your crew at Secret Bay. It was our pleasure to ensure you had a memorable stay in Dominica. We hope you return with new and familiar faces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews