We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 516 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015

Notwithstanding the damage caused by Tropical Storm Erika, Dominica has a gem, a paradise – Secret Bay, secluded but in close proximity to the island’s second town, Portsmouth.
Secret Bay is a one-of-a-kind paradise – the caring and attentive staff, the delicious meals, the lush green vegetation, the beaches and amazing sunsets, the peace and tranquility and the ambiance of our villa (the Zing Zing) is unmatched!
My wife Kris and I were truly pampered and treated like royalty! Our six-day stay was truly romantic and enjoyable; we are guaranteed to return – definitely for a longer stay! Thanks Secret Bay for a most memorable vacation!

Room tip: Amazingly gorgeous and quiet at night
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Thanks for considering us a ‘gem’ and ‘paradise’ Mike. We couldn’t think of making your stay at Secret Bay and visit to Dominica anything less than stellar. We were happy to spoil both you and your wife.

Love from the Entire SB Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2015 via mobile

We have traveled the world over and have never had as an amazing experience as we had at Secret Bay! The staff go WAY above and beyond to ensure that your stay is perfect, and the villas are impeccably gorgeous- they did not spare any expense to create these beauties! From the moment we arrived, the entire staff greeted us with open arms, gave us a tour of the property, each of us (we were a group of 12, 6 couples) was assigned a villa attendant. Ours was Deslyn-- she was nothing short of amazing. She made sure we were comfortable the entire week and even left special little surprises around the villa for us to discover. I know she wasn't alone- each of the staff works together to tell each other likes and dislikes of the guests to tailor each persons experience to what they desire. The amount of hard work that went into our stay was incredible---- absolutely incredible! This was by far one of the most memorable trips we have ever taken... And that's saying quite a bit. There's something to be said when the owner of a resort makes a special trip to introduce himself to his guests, the staff became a second family, and the overall experience was just. Wow. Wow. Wow. Wow. I can't say enough good things about this place.... It's truly a special little secret place, a "Secret Bay". A big thank you to everyone that made our vacation so incredible. This photo was the view at sunset from our private pool at Villa Zabuco 2. (Oh yea... The private beaches were exceptional as well) ---Rod H.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2015

Wow. Wow. Wow. Thank you for this glowing review Rod! Blushing...
Gregor sends his regards and Deslyn as well.
We truly enjoyed having you and your crew at Secret Bay. It was our pleasure to ensure you had a memorable stay in Dominica. We hope you return with new and familiar faces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015

I can't even describe with words how truly amazing this resort is. We went for 7 nights for our honeymoon and to say this was the trip of a lifetime is an understatement. I travel frequently for work and am quite picky when it comes to accommodations. I thoroughly read all the reviews before booking and they're all true - the pictures don't do this place justice. The views are amazing, our personal attendant Roseline was so fun and sweet, accommodating, and the place was immaculate. Anything you want or need, they make it happen. All new appliances and furniture. They cooked two meals a day for us and we let them choose what to cook and wow - the food cannot be beat. I recommend not eating off the resort. We ate out for lunch one day after a hike and we missed the food at Secret Bay. We spent many days just relaxing in the villa. If you're looking for white sandy beaches and night life and places to eat out at, Dominica is not for you. If you're looking for total relaxation in the best resort with the best food and staff, Secret Bay is it. It was exactly what we were wanting for our honeymoon and could not have been more pleased. We plan to go back and take our family with us!! If you're on the fence, book it now! Dominica is still recovering from a tropical storm this past summer, however, we did not find that it hindered any part of our trip. The locals are so friendly and it is very safe outside the resort. An amazing trip!!!!

Room tip: We stayed in the Zabuco I - the original honeymoon villa. It has the best views and a pool.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ilovethapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

Wow! What an absolutely amazing review! You truly captured the essence of both Secret Bay and Dominica. Thank you sooo much for your visit with us and your kind words. It was definitely our pleasure having you. Roseline sends you her love. We can’t wait to meet your family when you return.

Big, BIG hugs from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015

We took our honeymoon to Secret Bay. We wanted to voyage to a tropical paradise, and we found it. The island is remote and less populated than others. Because of this, from the moment the plane lands, you feel a friendliness emanating off of everyone you meet. And at Secret Bay, you are treated with unparalleled service, consistently delicious food, and tremendous views. As for activities, we could spend all day in full seclusion on the beach there, and when we wanted to venture to the rainforest, they arranged a fantastic guide. Our villa was spectacular and we did not want to leave.

Room tip: All rooms are private
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

So glad you found your “tropical paradise!” It’s yours to return to as long as you like. We do try our best to go above and beyond and we are so thankful you felt so well taken care of! We were sad to see you two leave and will be here to welcome you with friendly smiles when you return.

Love from the Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

This was our first trip away from our daughter and we were overwhelmed with the sincerity and extra effort that went into making our trip amazing. Although Dominica has faced adversity through the storm, the experience at Secret Bay remains untouched. Thank you to the wonderful staff who helped create lifelong memories.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dewerffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Our first guests since the storm! Thank you so much for your comments. You guys made great models :-) Thanks for being such good sports.  We are glad that you are back home with your daughter and were overjoyed to cater to your needs while you stayed with us.  

Receiving you as our first guests gave us something to look forward to and we are glad that we gave you some awesome memories to cherish! Hope to see you again!

From the entire Secret Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews