We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 516 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2015

We took our honeymoon to Secret Bay. We wanted to voyage to a tropical paradise, and we found it. The island is remote and less populated than others. Because of this, from the moment the plane lands, you feel a friendliness emanating off of everyone you meet. And at Secret Bay, you are treated with unparalleled service, consistently delicious food, and tremendous views. As for activities, we could spend all day in full seclusion on the beach there, and when we wanted to venture to the rainforest, they arranged a fantastic guide. Our villa was spectacular and we did not want to leave.

Room tip: All rooms are private
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2015

So glad you found your “tropical paradise!” It’s yours to return to as long as you like. We do try our best to go above and beyond and we are so thankful you felt so well taken care of! We were sad to see you two leave and will be here to welcome you with friendly smiles when you return.

Love from the Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015

This was our first trip away from our daughter and we were overwhelmed with the sincerity and extra effort that went into making our trip amazing. Although Dominica has faced adversity through the storm, the experience at Secret Bay remains untouched. Thank you to the wonderful staff who helped create lifelong memories.

Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dewerffb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Our first guests since the storm! Thank you so much for your comments. You guys made great models :-) Thanks for being such good sports.  We are glad that you are back home with your daughter and were overjoyed to cater to your needs while you stayed with us.  

Receiving you as our first guests gave us something to look forward to and we are glad that we gave you some awesome memories to cherish! Hope to see you again!

From the entire Secret Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2015

Secret Bay was a treat beyond belief. We returned to our beautiful home country – Dominica to celebrate our seventh anniversary with family and friends. We decided to sneak off for some private romantic time and were blown away by this flawless gem tucked away in Portsmouth. The customer service was impeccable, and we were greeted at the gate by a friendly team who knew exactly who we were. When we entered our bungalow a relaxing smell of lavender greeted us along with soft Caribbean music in the background. Our check-in was more like an orientation with Shemima describing in full detail how everything worked in the bungalow, making us feel right at home. They left a cell phone with us that was programmed with important local numbers we would need throughout our stay. This was a major plus so we could easily contact a staff member with questions or to make arrangements. Merlinda arranged everything we needed through our stay, and we had a blast kayaking to the Secret Beach for a romantic swim. The view from the patio was perfect for relaxing with some wine in the evenings listening to the sounds of nature. The General Manager – Marvin came to our bungalow to introduce himself and to solicit feedback on how our stay could be improved. Such a noteworthy gesture!
We will definitely be back to Secret Bay and highly recommend this venue based on location, upkeep of grounds, cleanliness, cuisine (the cooks are beyond talented), and above all – customer service.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AJ-Sedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thanks so much for your review and making Secret Bay a part of your anniversary celebration. As a returning Dominican, we hope your stay with us made your trip even more meaningful. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you here once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2015

This year our family of four had a wonderful 4 nights at Secret Bay in Dominica and vow to return to this beautiful island. Although we packed in a lot, there was so much left to see and do.
We stayed at Secret Bay and chose Villas Zabuco II and III - with III being more private, as it was at the end of the path and had its own private gate. Each villa had its own pool, stunning views, and spectacular finishes inside. The food was amazing - dining in our villas at night with our own personal Villa Attendant serving us - the portions were huge, and we didn't go away hungry!
Merlinda was great in organising our activities: which varied from my husband and children canyoning, whilst I went to the Botanical Gardens, Jaco Steps and Morne Bruce and then I met up with them at the Cocoa Cottages to go to Trafalgar Falls and swim in the Sulpur Springs! On our last day, we went on the Indian River Tour with "Fire", our guide, a colourful character. It was along this river parts of "Pirates of the Caribbean" was filmed and midway we disembarked to order a specialty punch!
In between all this activity, we still managed to fit in having massages in our villa, and were able to kayak, paddle board, and swim through a secret cave under the resort as well - you must go!
Highly recommended. The staff were all so friendly from Kanniama in Reservations, Merlinda the tour organiser, and everyone else in between. Don't wait. Book now.

Room tip: Zabuco III - very private - least guest traffic
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Charlie,
For beach lovers like yourself, being at Secret Bay means easy access to 3 of Dominica’s top beaches- Secret Beach, Ti Bay Beach and Coconut Beach. Glad to know you enjoyed all three, in addition to your other activities. Roseline says ‘hi’.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

There were two of us there, and we were staying in one of their couples villas. The buildings are made out exotic woods, and are furnished with modern appliances. It's all very recent, so there's no need to worry that you'll have to put up with decrepit infrastructure.

You get the WiFi, the TV and all the other usuals. The resort area is situated on a mountain side, our cottage having been build right on the slope of the hill descending to the beech, with the balcony facing the bay with Portsmouth and Cabrits across. From there, you can either take a nice walk on the shore to Portsmouth (although the personnel doesn't recommend it because of sharp rocks, small rivers to cross, and other such considerations). You can also take one of their kayaks or simply swim/snorkel over to the opposite direction of Portsmouth, and end up on the "Secret Bay beach" which is probably one of the most enchanting beaches one can find - spectacular cliff overhanging a sandy swath surrounded by a reef exploding with life (made a video of an squid here), with no one else to disrupt your peace. Excellent!

The personnel is beyond friendly. From the manager to the last helper, you will find courtesy and smiles everywhere. I can't overstate the assistance they provided us with trying to make some sense of the Liat situation when a hurricane scare closed the airport. You'll need friends like that when having to deal with Liat. Wish we had people like this to help us deal with Air Canada locally.

The food is ordered beforehand, prepared in their kitchen, and served in your cottage/villa. It's delicious - we particularly enjoyed their fish plates.Without looking to criticize for the rest of the culinary industry on the island, I can say that only on one occasion the food we've found outside of the resort was on par with what they cooked for us at Secret Bay.

As for the rest of it, it is Dominica. If you're there to beach-out with an endless flow of alcohol being delivered to your hand, while others provide the loud and voluminous ambiance, this isn't it. You can probably do it, but you'd be wasting your time - go to Cuba or Dominican Republic or something. In Dominica, you'll find the nature like you've probably rarely (ever?) experienced, and this is what you should go there for. When not trekking through the rain forest, you will be mesmerized by the tropical fish scavenging the reefs around the beaches - I feel it unlikely someone could bring themselves to just sunbathe in circumstances like that.

And while you're in Dominica, Secret Bay will ensure that you are in the best hands available.

One last thing: after the Erica disaster, Dominica has been severely damaged and will need some time to recover. I truly hope their struggles are short-lived, and everything comes back like it was before. Best of luck to all Dominicans who are faced with these unexpected challenges.

Note: in the ratings, the "pool" is marked as "not better than average" because there's no option for "no pool is available". There's no pool at Secret Bay.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tomasz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Tomasz, your description of Dominica is spot on - adventure, nature, tranquility. A stay at Secret Bay is a great way to enjoy the Nature Isle- with privacy and seclusion while still enjoying modern amenities. Thanks for your kind words re: TS Erika. The island is recovering remarkably well. Also just want to point out that though we do not have a central pool our Zabuco Honeymoon Villas have plunge pools and Zing Zing has a Jacuzzi hot tub.

It was our pleasure to host you during your stay on this magical island. We hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews