We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 516 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2015

We stayed here on a quiet getaway leaving the kids with family. Getting to the island was the only painful part as not many direct flights. However once we arrived at Secret Bay we were treated exceptionally well, they go to great lengths to ensure you are well looked after and you have a member of staff assigned to you who will personally cater to your requests. They even prestocked our villa with food / drink items which they asked about beforehand. The resort (its very small) caters to you personally and you can choose 2 meals a day to be cooked for you, either in your apartment or eaten at a couple of lookout points around the property. We had initially assumed we would do a few meals there and also sample some local restaurants.... Be aware there are very very few local restaurants, certainly nothing nearby,( the island is very underdeveloped, which is good for peace and quiet) so you are "stuck" here, but its no hardship it was lovely, never had such personal attention on a vacation. They will leave you alone when you want it eg some of the apartments have private plunge pool which attracted us, or you can walk down and arrange day tours with them. paddle by kayak to nearby beaches or take a day tour of waterfalls etc. The resort is tiny, maybe only max 10 other couples i would guess but we only saw 3 or 4, I hope they dont expand too much. Dont come here looking for nightlife, but if you want peace , relaxation and some time to quietly explore or sip cocktails by private beach, pool, or watching sunset this is perfect. Not cheap but they have invested large amounts in each property and in their staff and it shows. really outstanding memorable vacation.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank TAL_Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

We are grateful that you appreciate our personalised service. It was our pleasure to host you. Getting to Dominica has improved since your departure, with many flights from major cities with in-transit connections in regional hubs. We will be more than happy to assist you with sourcing the best routes to Dominica whenever you return- and we hope you do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2015

My husband and I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at Secret Bay! From the resort itself to the food, the adventures and our villa attendant--the service and personal touches were impeccable. We had a disastrous journey to get there due to cancelled flights and an overnight stay on another island due to weather, all completely out of the control of Secret Bay, but Marvin checked in with us every step of the way--going so far as to stay up late and make calls to friends in transportation--and they could not have been more hospitable upon our arrival to the resort. Eudora, our villa attendant, was amazing and so wonderful to us each day. She recognized my husband's love for hot sauce, and left an unopened bottle of the one he had been enjoying all week in our villa on our last night! Such a kindhearted touch. We were in the Zabuco Villa and cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our time there. Our favorite moments of the honeymoon were looking out at the views on the porch or relaxing in the hammock. We also are so grateful to Merlinda, who helped us plan a few wonderful excursions for us for the times we wanted to be adventurous and not just relaxing. Don was the best, helping us spearfish for lionfish and taking my husband into the cave. We also loved our cooking class with Rosie and our hike to the waterfalls. We have already begun to sell our family on a return trip all together, as our time at Secret Bay is unforgettable. For anyone going to this resort, you will not be disappointed and will surely want to get back as soon as possible like we do!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Caitlin, So glad you enjoyed your time with us! Sometimes the unexpected can occur when travelling. Happy to know our team made up for your discomfort and set the tone for the rest of your trip. Secret Bay is perfect for families too and we can’t wait to meet yours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Everything we have read about Secret Bay is accurate- It truly lives up to its reputation., We have stayed in many ‘nice’ places but Secret Bay is definitely the best. It took some to time for me to believe that we were actually in Dominica.

However, one of the best experiences was the staff. Most places we have been to the staff are professional- well rehearsed . However, at Secret Bay, there is a feeling of sincerity, off been truly genuine and ‘innocent’ to a degree. They embody what Dominica is about –friendly and welcoming people. As Roselin put it, this is was our “home away from home.”

Thank you and we will be back!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thanks so much for your review and like family you are welcome back here anytime! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

My husband and I cannot say enough good things about Secret Bay. The eco friendly bungalow was the perfect size for 2 and offered a cozy feeling of home while staying in a foreign country. The island is 100% self sufficient so there are mango trees everywhere to pick from; same goes for breadfruit, citrus, ginger root, peppermint and lots of bananas! The island itself is gorgeous and the tour guides were all amazing. Now....the staff...OMG how do I even describe how AWESOME they were!?!?! Merlinda, Eudora, Gilbert, Marvin, and even the owner of Secret Bay, Gregor Nassif, were the most accommodating individuals I have ever met. Our every need was met; they created itineraries for us, arranged our tours and transportation, and cleaned our bungalow beautifully every afternoon. We had a lot of trouble with the airlines which caused us to arrive 2 days later than expected; Secret Bay refunded us those 2 nights, provided a complimentary bottle of champagne and 2 free body massages on Sunset Deck. Secret Bay would love to treat you like a king and queen too so visit as soon as you can :)

Room tip: The Mapou village had a great view and was the closest bungalow to the beach
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mercy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Queen Mercy :-)
Thanks for your royal review. Do come again. It will be our pleasure to pamper you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Secret Bay was our amazing honeymoon destination. The idyllic location of Secret Bay is an ideal place to watch a magical sunset over the sea or witness the serene beauty of nature. Our Mapou Bungalow felt like home with amenities such as refrigerators, microwaves, washers and dryers which make a stay easier and more cost-effective. Unlike other resorts Secret Bay is unique in it allows for tons of customization. From your activities to the food. While staying there you are indulged with your own attendant. You can have your place stocked with any foods imaginable and can also pick whatever you can dream up to be prepared for breakfast, lunch or dinner by the staff. All the ingredients used are very fresh and the cooks are fabulous at Secret Bay there is no worry in getting your full monies worth. Everything is meticulously maintained from your bungalow to the grounds. The staff is phenomenal from our ride in to our ride back to the airport everyone we came in contact with was awesome. Any activity we went on the staff at Secret Bay made sure we were well taken care of and our guides were local, knowledgeable and a true joy to learn from. Shemima was our attendant and went the extra mile for us and had impeccable service and hospitality. We would highly suggest exploring the grounds, trying new cultured foods (fresh catches or traditional recipes), Kayaking to Secret Bay, a Waterfall Hike, Indian River tour, massages and Yoga. We would advise contacting Secret bay for your travel arrangements as they can give advice on trusted airlines, times, etc. Secret bay is a great place to unwind and rejuvenate in the midst of nature with a glass of wine. It truly is a once and lifetime vacation!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Tess, thanks for celebrating your honeymoon with us. At Secret Bay you can indulge in as many (or little) activities as you like. We hope you come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews