We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$139
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucy Inn(Portsmouth)
$55
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Iso's Bed & Breakfast(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$80
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$107
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Farm Cottages(Castle Bruce)
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rejens Hotel(Portsmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
482
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszing zingthe indian riverprivate beachvilla attendantzabuco honeymoon villathe cliffcoconut beachtrafalgar fallsgranolatibay beachlobsterinfinity poollion fishchampagne reefnatural beautyrum punchplantain chips
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 507 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2015

Everything we have read about Secret Bay is accurate- It truly lives up to its reputation., We have stayed in many ‘nice’ places but Secret Bay is definitely the best. It took some to time for me to believe that we were actually in Dominica.

However, one of the best experiences was the staff. Most places we have been to the staff are professional- well rehearsed . However, at Secret Bay, there is a feeling of sincerity, off been truly genuine and ‘innocent’ to a degree. They embody what Dominica is about –friendly and welcoming people. As Roselin put it, this is was our “home away from home.”

Thank you and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Thanks so much for your review and like family you are welcome back here anytime! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015

My husband and I cannot say enough good things about Secret Bay. The eco friendly bungalow was the perfect size for 2 and offered a cozy feeling of home while staying in a foreign country. The island is 100% self sufficient so there are mango trees everywhere to pick from; same goes for breadfruit, citrus, ginger root, peppermint and lots of bananas! The island itself is gorgeous and the tour guides were all amazing. Now....the staff...OMG how do I even describe how AWESOME they were!?!?! Merlinda, Eudora, Gilbert, Marvin, and even the owner of Secret Bay, Gregor Nassif, were the most accommodating individuals I have ever met. Our every need was met; they created itineraries for us, arranged our tours and transportation, and cleaned our bungalow beautifully every afternoon. We had a lot of trouble with the airlines which caused us to arrive 2 days later than expected; Secret Bay refunded us those 2 nights, provided a complimentary bottle of champagne and 2 free body massages on Sunset Deck. Secret Bay would love to treat you like a king and queen too so visit as soon as you can :)

Room Tip: The Mapou village had a great view and was the closest bungalow to the beach
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mercy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Queen Mercy :-)
Thanks for your royal review. Do come again. It will be our pleasure to pamper you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2015

Secret Bay was our amazing honeymoon destination. The idyllic location of Secret Bay is an ideal place to watch a magical sunset over the sea or witness the serene beauty of nature. Our Mapou Bungalow felt like home with amenities such as refrigerators, microwaves, washers and dryers which make a stay easier and more cost-effective. Unlike other resorts Secret Bay is unique in it allows for tons of customization. From your activities to the food. While staying there you are indulged with your own attendant. You can have your place stocked with any foods imaginable and can also pick whatever you can dream up to be prepared for breakfast, lunch or dinner by the staff. All the ingredients used are very fresh and the cooks are fabulous at Secret Bay there is no worry in getting your full monies worth. Everything is meticulously maintained from your bungalow to the grounds. The staff is phenomenal from our ride in to our ride back to the airport everyone we came in contact with was awesome. Any activity we went on the staff at Secret Bay made sure we were well taken care of and our guides were local, knowledgeable and a true joy to learn from. Shemima was our attendant and went the extra mile for us and had impeccable service and hospitality. We would highly suggest exploring the grounds, trying new cultured foods (fresh catches or traditional recipes), Kayaking to Secret Bay, a Waterfall Hike, Indian River tour, massages and Yoga. We would advise contacting Secret bay for your travel arrangements as they can give advice on trusted airlines, times, etc. Secret bay is a great place to unwind and rejuvenate in the midst of nature with a glass of wine. It truly is a once and lifetime vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tess T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Tess, thanks for celebrating your honeymoon with us. At Secret Bay you can indulge in as many (or little) activities as you like. We hope you come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

My husband and I just returned from our 7 night honeymoon in Dominica. Our only regret is having to leave! We stayed in the Ti-Fey treehouse nestled in the hillside and overlooking the beautiful Prince Rupert Bay. We chose Secret Bay primarily because the resort is very quaint...I believe that there are six units total. Although the resort was fully occupied throughout the duration of our stay, we felt like we were the only people there! We flew from Charlotte to San Juan, Puerto Rico to Dominica and were greeted at the airport with cold water, snacks and refreshing towels. After a one hour drive to the resort, we were pleased to receive a very warm welcome by key staff members and dinner was ready to be served. Marvin, our vacation planner, was excellent. Additionally, our attendant, Saralee, exceeded our expectations time and time again! We went to the farmers market in Roseau on Saturday morning and picked up some fresh tropical fruit - passion fruit, starfruit, etc. We also went spearfishing for lion fish with Don, toured the Indian River (where they filmed Dead Man's Chest) and hiked to Trafalgar Falls (enjoying their hot sulphur springs) and Middleham Falls. All a must do! If you dislike destinations saturated by tourism and love the outdoors, Secret Bay is a must! We hope to make it back some day.

Room Tip: Ti-Fey treehouse - although, their most economical option, it was still luxurious in it's own way and plenty big enough for two!
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Erica
Sounds like you had a fulfilling vacation; so happy we were a part of it. We hope you make it back too! All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2015 via mobile

Secret Bay was a bit of a mixed bag for us. The villas are amazingly beautiful. We stayed in one with a plunge pool which we loved. The views are spectacular. The villa has a full kitchen, fully equipped and is very spacious. Everything is meticulously maintained. The property is stunning. The staff is very accommodating and ready to address every need. That said, you are really dependent on the staff for virtually everything be that meals, transportation or excursions. The beach is small and not really conducive to sun bathing. Unless you leave the property, dining is primarily in your Villa...and is quite expensive. The property is very hilly so anyone with limited mobility might be challenged. If you go be sure to visit the waterfall...its really worth the seeing.

Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lledfordny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayeola G, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Hi Lledfordny, We appreciate your feedback and have noted your concerns. I am pleased to advise that guests who want to engage in activities off property are free to do so and we will assist in recommending rental car companies, restaurants etc… we have found however, that most guests appreciate the personalized service we offer. We hope you can return and we will plan it better next time so you are more independent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews