We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 516 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2015

My husband and I stayed in Secret Bay for 5 nights for our honeymoon and it was fabulous! We stayed in one of the bungalows, which was very modest and had everything that we needed. The resort is very private and secluded and you can literally spend the entire time together without any interference or excessive noise. The staff was very polite and helpful and helped us to arrange all of our activities; from whale-watching, to bird-watching to hikes and tours into and around Roseau. There are some things to do at the hotel as well; like kayaking, snorkeling, bike riding, etc. There is no restaurant at the hotel itself so meals are prepared for you as you please - we arrived to a well stocked kitchen, supplies of which we chose ourselves and cooked our own breakfast but you can request they prepare it for you though. Lunches and dinners the hotel staff prepared for us and was laid out on our private balcony or on one of the romantic decks; we asked the staff to "surprise" us with selections.. and every time the meal was exquisite! The food was fabulous, local and very tasty!!

All in all, it was very relaxing and nature-esque which is exactly what we were looking for!!

Room tip: All rooms are quiet and private, it all depends on the space size you prefer. The bungalows are smaller and more quaint, but were exactly what we needed. Not all the rooms have private pools though - only the larger ones.
Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 370samanthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Hi Samantha, it was our pleasure to host you and your husband for your honeymoon. The Secret Bay Family would like to say thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Out of the many places, you chose our majestic Island and for this we are grateful. We take pride in taking care of our guests and we are elated that you felt well taken care of. Secret Bay misses you and we hope you miss the warmth of Secret Bay.

We look forward to welcome you back next year same time.

Regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2015

Can not recommend highly enough - beautiful villa, excellent staff, stunning location.

Only regret is not having booked for longer - the private beach, canoe hire, snorkelling and just relaxing in the villa had to compete with the activities on the rest of the island.

Having food served in the villa was a nice option as well and the food was fantastic.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Bruce, greetings from the Nature Isle. We would like to say thanks for your short yet sweet review of your stay. I do hope next time you get to book a longer vacation. This would give us more time to pamper you.

Thanks for the recommendation…it goes a long way.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2015

Wow! What an amazingly incredible place. Picture perfect! We could not have wanted for a thing! The location is spectacular - we were in Zabuco II with our own private pool; fabulously furnished with a stunning view. Lunch and Dinner were prepared specifically for us - and we thoroughly enjoyed every meal. Our attendant Eudora was so welcoming and very helpful; actually all of the staff there are wonderful! Such a relaxing, rejuvenating time; I would do this again - in a flash! Take me back xox

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cheraner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Cherane, thanks for your kind words and giving us your feedback. We are delighted to know it was indeed “Picture perfect!” We will take you back..:)

The team misses you and hopes to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2015

Secret Bay..trip advisor

My husband and I have just spent a month being pampered in Secret Bay, the creative work of Gregor Nassief, a remarkably talented, kind and generous host. We stayed in Mapou, a beautifully designed efficiently appointed small cottage completely built by hand of handsome lustrous hard wood. It was snuggled into the hillside preserving as many trees as possible so that it seemed organically connected with the environment. The cottage was a work of art which provided “luxury without pretentiousness”… world class kitchen appliances, a small library with well selected books, fine binoculars, Bose speakers, a kindle with the daily New York Times or your choice of other newspapers, DVD’s, an extremely comfortable queen sized bed, piles of fluffy towels, beach blankets, etc.etc. and a gorgeous view. We were also provided with an iPhone so we could reach any of the staff who were always available and responded to any of our requests with “no problem”

Even more important than the incredible facility were the kind, competent and generous staff led by Marvin, the manager, who seemed to be everywhere and was always ready to serve us. He, like the rest of the staff, seemed to want nothing more than to make us comfortable and happy. We felt we were being held by a loving family.

Merlinda who greeted us and helped us choose and plan a “bespoke holiday” was more than her title of Concierge implies…she was available 24/7 to answer questions, and fulfill requests. She was extremely sensitive to my physical limitations and advanced age when helping us plan our days, respecting our wish to blend restful time on the property with tours of this “nature island”. We particularly liked to swim from the white sand Coconut Beach about a 6 minute drive from the property, and Gilbert, the driver and man of many services, was always available to provide the ride..

During our stay we were assigned an attendant, a young woman who really took care of us…cleaned our quarters, did our laundry, delivered our meals, made suggestions as to what we might order from the unique cooking service, arranged flowers etc. During the month Bianca and Megan did a wonderful job providing this service for a few days each. The majority of our stay we were taken care of by Shamima, a warm delightful young woman who seemed to anticipate our needs and to provide care over and above what was required .

As for meals, we really enjoyed the unique cooking service in which we had the option of preparing our own meals or having them prepared and delivered to our cottage by our attendant. We do not eat meat and there was always fresh fish and a large variety of fruits and vegetables, beautifully prepared and delicious.

Although the taxi driver and tour guide Ryan was not an employee of Secret Bay, they made a point of being sure he was the one called for us. He had an incredible knowledge of the flora and fauna of the island, and its history. I could not have seen the wonders of the rain forest without his help in navigating the trails. While not an actual employee, he had the spirit of the folks at Secret Bay.

The island itself is absolutely gorgeous with its rain forest, waterfalls, sulfur baths
Volcanos, mountains, etc. but the bottom line of what is bringing us back for a month next year is the service and the people, unmatched by anything my husband and I have experienced in our 45 years of world travel.

.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank shirleyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Hi shirleyBoston, the entire Secret Bay wishes to say a thank you for making the time to write a detailed review of your stay. We love your “luxury without pretentiousness” description of the property and Dominica by extension.

You were indeed family, having stayed a month on property we knew how important it was to make you feel at home. It brings us great pleasure to read of the little details which made your vacation phenomenal.

We work closely with our service providers – they are part of the family – and we are delighted that they were able to provide you with the right level of service. We are one Big Happy Family.

As a well-traveled person, we are overjoyed to know that our service was one thing that impressed you and thus planning to return next year. Wow!. Thanks for sharing this with the world. The team misses you and we really look forward to your return next year.

Warm regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2015

I stayed on the Island 10 days in total. My last 5 days I stayed at Secret Bay. For starters ...Dominica does NOT have a Big Night life seen. If you end up going to Dominica, there's a good chance you have done your research and are trying to Avoid that crowed anyways. Whoever you bring is your nightlife. Drink bush rum late in the night and enjoy their company.The Ti-Fey Bungalow is where I stayed. The bungalow was beyond our expectations. The grounds were very pretty and very well maintained. Staff was Awesome. One of my favorite little things they do that I didn't know about prior to being at SB was they provide you with a Cell Phone for your stay. Huge in my book as far as making you feel more at home. I am from Chicago and I would never use my phone without a plan that allows me travel.(which I don't lol).

Secret Bay is Pricey as far a Cost of rooms. But No resort on Dominica is like this one as far as accommodation go.

Recommend. As per our stay we were asked what kind of things would you like to do. Being on the island for 5 days prior, we did a lot of the things they had already. They offered Spear Fishing. This may not attract everyone but I would like everyone to know it is a great deal. Boat ride, Snorkeling, Spear fishing and everything you ( Or Don) catch is edible. So its a free meal too. We caught 4 Lion Fish and 1 big Lobster. After we went upstairs, put the bag in the fridge. Dinner time approached and we boiled the lobster and beer battered the fish. All ourselves. They also have GoPros (3+) available upon request and Goggles that hold it. So not only did we go spear fishing. I have it all on video.

Side Note - One of the only places I have ever gone where Everyone that lives on the island put themselves 2nd to the Island. So much love for nature and EVERYONE cares more about the beauty and maintaining of what makes the nature island so special than themselves.

All in all .... if you or yours want a more Upscale place to stay with a very helpful staff for all of your needs, This place does a wonderful job.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2015

Dear Mike,

The team would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Visiting an Island like Dominica is the always the best escapade having come from urban lifestyle. We are happy you enjoyed our little paradise.

With the increasing need for us to keep in touch we knew the iPhones would be ideal for our guests. By providing luxury in the rainforest, exquisite architecture, serenity, coupled with a personal attendant and the latest gadgets we really work hard to provide guests with value for their money.

Thanks so much for sharing your fishing expedition. This is one of the popular on-site activities. The best of both worlds – hunt, cook and eat.

Dominicans are very patriotic and it’s common amongst us to promote our rich culture and heritage whenever we can. I’m happy you appreciate it.

Thanks and all the best for 2015.

Warm regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews