We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 516 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2014

What a special place! We had been looking for a special place to celebrate a special anniversary and we certainly found it. Dominica itself is wonderful. From the air, it looks like Jurassic Park. From the ground, it is lush and beautiful and unspoiled. The people are friendly and we never felt  anything other than safe and welcome.  We visited waterfalls, and hot springs. We went to the farmers's market Saturday morning. It was all enjoyable. 

Then there is Secret Bay itself, like an oasis within an oasis. Our villa was beautiful and spotlessly clean. The service was excellent. From Marvin and Merlinda, to Saralee and Bianca, they all made sure we were well looked after.   We swam and snorkeled on the abundant coral reefs. (The sunrise swims were the best.)  We relaxed in the pool, spent lazy afternoons on the decks overlooking the ‎sea and enjoyed visiting Secret Beach.  It was all quite magical.   

Now the food! We ate grilled lionfish, pan-seared lionfish, tuna, snapper, grilled octopus and more.   All delicious.

In summary, after resorts we have visited in Hawaii, Europe, etc., this place stands out for top quality facilities, perfectly preserved natural environment, and personalized service. We would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an incredible getaway.

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PDB-Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Dear PDB-Montreal, thanks so much for your very special review. Dominica also thanks you for your kind words – many people do often say, on seeing it from the air for the first time, that it looks like “Jurassic Park without the dinosaurs”. It is indeed the most volcanic piece of land on planet earth. Saralee, Bianca and Marvin all say hello and look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Merlinda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2014

My family stayed for 5 nights in the Zing Zing Villa this past October and we had an amazing time! The staff was professional, friendly and invested in making our time special. We did not have a set itinerary planned when we arrived, but Secret Bay helped us create a schedule of activities and arranged everything for us. I liked traveling around the island and exploring some of the natural attractions, but would also have been happy to stay on the property since there was plenty to do. The villa itself was beautifully designed and has every amenity you could want. We also liked how the buildings and walkways on the property were incorporated into the environment rather than leaving a larger footprint. Because of Secret Bay's respect for the natural landscape and their high level of service, guests feel like they have the property to themselves. I cannot wait to go back to this special place!

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Brittanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Hi Brittanie3791, we love your “Luxury Off the Grid” description of Secret Bay. Thanks so much for taking the time to write the review and for your kind words. Zing Zing and the Secret Bay team misses you and the family very much and we hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,

Merlinda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014

I was in Dominica working with the Portsmouth Rotary Club and the expansion and renovation of their hospital's emergency department. My brother and I were only able to be at Secret Bay for two nights, but it was the greatest island experience imaginable. Life in the Zing Zing was like being Tarzan in the jungle, except that Mr T. did not have the excellent food prepared in his kitchen, and the service of the entire staff that was truly the life of the nobility. It was my Downton Abbey of Dominica, and island we know and love. We have many friends there, and continue to go back, both to work on local projects, but also just to share the love we find there. When my brother had a medical issue that first day, Secret Bay had an ER doctor from Roseau there very quickly. The place is awesome. Hello to Marvin, Rosaline, Merllinda and all I am forgettng!!!!

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Dear Bill R,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a great pleasure hosting you are your brother at Secret Bay, and Dominica thanks you for your service and contribution. We understand you are returning soon with your wife and so your “Tree House Heaven” awaits you! Marvin and Rosaline send their greetings, as does the rest of the team.

Warm regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014

I have lived in Dominica for over two years and have tried quite a few famous hotels and resorts on the island. And the Secret Bay is absolutely the best. I stayed there last year and when I returned this year I noticed that they had made some improvement and made our stay even more comfortable. I think it is worth it coming to Dominica just for it and you will not regret.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Hou_Shen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Dear Hou_Shen,

It was so great to have you back again. Thank you for your short but sweet review, and especially thanks for recommending us! All the best and the entire team really looks forward to welcoming you a third time !!

Best wishes,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2014

When we booked Secret Bay, all that was available was the Ti-Fey bungalow. Just being two of us we decided that this was sufficient for our stay. We were not disappointed. The area is beautiful and very well maintained. The buildings at secret bay are beautifully constructed. The bungalow contained plenty of room for the two of us and had all of the amenities that we needed and then some. The bed was comfortable and made for good sleeping. The bedroom was a bit cramped as the location of the bed caused some difficulty in opening the closet doors. The bathroom was fine though the tub shower combo was small, and due to the height of the tub, stepping in and out was a little difficult. No biggie though, we survived.

The bungalows are fairly close to each other and shared the outdoor shower. Privacy never seemed to be an issue. The bungalows overlook TiBay Beach and Prince Rupert Bay though Ti-Fey Bungalow’s view is obstructed due to the trees and vegetation so you don’t get that panoramic view of the ocean as some might expect. We enjoyed staying in the bungalow , however we will probably opt for one of the villas on our next trip.

It was great waking each morning to the sound of the waves and the birds. Housekeeping was superb and the friendliness of all of the staff was beyond reproach. Everyone went out of his or her way to make our stay enjoyable and never intruded on our privacy or enjoyment at all.

The food prepared at secret bay was all very good. From the homemade granola to the grilled Lion fish, everything was good. We enjoyed trying several local dishes such as the calloloo soup (fantastic) and the traditional Dominican breakfast. The Secret Bay Rum Punch is very good.
We enjoyed swimming and snorkeling at the beaches. Tibay Beach is rocky beach, I'm guessing to help prevent erosion from waves. Secret Beach is a nice sandy beach. Water shoes are highly recommended because of the sea urchins in the area. Both beaches offer warm, clear water and an abundance of fish and other underwater life. Coconut beach is also nearby where there are two submerged canons and a long sandy beach.

Just a note to fellow travelers. Secret Bay is built on a cliff. So when you walk somewhere you are either walking downhill or uphill.

We went to Secret Bay for privacy, relaxation and comfort. We found all three and were able to just relax and refresh before returning to our reality. Thanks to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable. We will definitely recommend Secret Bay to others.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank LostintheCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Dear LostintheCaribbean,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time to leave your detailed review of the property and your experience. We are very sorry for the minor difficulties that you experienced during your stay. We take note of the little things that could have made your stay even better and we will work on it for your next visit. “Privacy, relaxation and comfort” awaits you and we all look forward to another visit form you…. Many thanks for your recommendation. It means a lot from you.

Warm regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews