We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 516 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you are considering a vacation where nature meets luxury, Secret Bay is the place for you. It is an intimate and very personalized atmosphere. The staff eagerly fulfills every desire. They are earnest about their position to make your worries disappear and make your stay seamless.

It is a place to reconnect with your significant other with no worries. We mostly had beaches to ourselves, and enjoyed on site activities and dining. Gemma and Josie are self made chefs that cook impeccable meals that top restaurants couldn't compete.

Our room attendants, Sara Lee and Rosalie, were thorough and so eager to make our stay perfect-which it was for us!

Ana, Guest Relations Supervisor, will make sure you are informed of all activities on and off the resort. She makes your reservations and lets you know what is appropriate for your personality as a couple.

My brother informed us recently that he was getting married soon. We quickly told him that there is no more of an intimate and romantic place than Secret Bay.

Amanda and Josh Burris

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Hi Amanda B,

Thanks so much for your kind words and for your review. Gemer and Josie say hi, and look forward to preparing meals just for you again. Saralee and Rosalyn send their best also. We do hope we can welcome you and Josh back soon.

Regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2014

We spent a week with our 2 kids in Zhing-Zhing Villa during August. From the moment we arrived till we left the staff at Secret Bay made us feel like home. There was nothing they couldn't organise or cater to, always available and accommodating. The villa was out of this world - from German appliances and Brazilian hard wood to beautiful vistas, a nice breeze and a secluded bay by our feet. The engineering of the place is really impressive, maintaining a natural feel - perched on the cliff like a tree house - but with the luxury of a 5 star hotel. We got massages on the quiet deck below us overlooking the ocean and took our meals on the expanding patio upstairs, never once seeing another guest (and the place was fully occupied). Dominica is a nature playground! We dived in the SouthWest and in the North, hiked Boiling Lake and a number of waterfalls and enjoyed kayaking and swimming in secret coves and bays around Secret Bay. We will definitely be going back next year! Thanks to Gregor and his great staff for taking such good care of us and the kids.

Room tip: Zhing zhing is the only villa with 2 separate bedrooms (2 full bathrooms). It's perfect for a family of 4.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrysanthe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Hi Chrysanthe M,

We truly enjoyed taking care of you and your wonderful family. We are delighted you had a great time. The team misses you and hopes to be able to welcome you back to your “hidden paradise” soon.

Regards,

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2014

My wife and I looked to get "off the grid". We couldn't have found a better spot than Secret Bay. If you look to party in the Carribean, don't come here! What we experienced:
- beautiful house (Zabucco 1) with private pool, large outdoor space, air conditioned bedroom, large tub
- amazing food cooked for is every night, ate on our outdoor patio. Always delicious and fresh. At the end we had our favorites - lion fish!
- great massages organized through Secret Bay in the privacy of our "home" - ask for Terri and Kipra!
You get the point. This is heaven for people who want to have luxury while experiencing full privacy.

Thanks to the entire Secret Bay team!!!

Date of stay: August 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Alex_Atzberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merlinda F, Director of Sales at Secret Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2014

Hi Alex_Atzberger

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. Great too know that you enjoyed eating the Lion Fish (they are a delicious tasking invasive species, so you are helping the environment while enjoying your meal!). We will say hello to Kripa and Terri for you and let them know how much you enjoyed the massages ! The rest of the team misses you and we all hope we can welcome you back.

Merlinda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed at Secret Bay for our anniversary and loved it. The service was incredible and Dominica is a beautiful island. The rooms/houses at secret bay are great. They did a wonderful job of incorporating them into the natural surroundings. We would wake up in the morning and open up all the doors and windows completely and you could hear a symphony of birds, the sound of the water and smell the fresh air. It really was a great place to unwind and get away for a few days. The food was very good. We went repelling one day and really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend it. You wont be disappointed.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 7,371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014

We chose to spend our honeymoon at Secret Bay and loved every second of it. They picked us up from the airport with cold towels and fresh snacks in tow and from that point we never looked back. There is no real restaurant on site but every morning we phoned our meal preferences to our attendant and they took care of the rest. The food was hands down amazing and always good with a cold Kabuli! The staff was great about setting up our activities and they provided expert guides for everything off-site, we felt like we were always well-taken care of. The sites and views were all amazing and we couldn't have imagined a better trip!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CommodoreMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews