We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
285 - 290 of 516 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I arrived at secret bay on 23rd of June. I have never left the UK before and wow what a place to go! My husband agreed it was like no place he had ever been. The staff were incredibly friendly (and genuine, I never felt they were just being nice because 'it's their job') we stay in zabuco villa which was truly the most beautiful place I have ever been. We swam in the pool every day, napped in the hammock and every morning/time we were on the balcony we were greeted by a lovely friendly little finch (named Bennie by ana but we called him Paul) and other finches and bananaquits. We saw an array of wildlife even just at the villa. We snorkelled in the champagne reef, visited stunning waterfalls, kayaked to the secret beach, took an amazing trip up the Indian river, went horse riding, fished with a local fisherman (Don, the guy is a legend!), had a massage and went on a sunset sail. Despite all the activities we still had the most relaxing time of our lives! Special thanks to Ana (manager), Gemer (the BEST chef ever), Ryan (taxi driver) and Sarah Lee and Roslyn who were our attendants. The only down side of secret bay was our holiday came to an end and we had to leave. I miss falling asleep to the sound of crickets and the waves gently crashing agaist the bays below. Well definitely be back, miss it already! Much love from us, you made our honeymoon the most incredible time, as another guest said to me while we were there, we will never top that holiday xxx

Room tip: It's all beautiful.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Look no further for the best place to vacation in your life.

My husband and I arrived June 2nd for 5 nights and were greeted at the airport by the kindest staff ever, with dried fruit and cold water. Anna and staff met us at the Zing Zing and we were blown away with the amazing feel of the place. Everything was clean and spotless and the view of the ravine and ocean was instantly calming.

The locally sourced wood floors we even felt soft on our feet. Built in cappuccino maker and Italian kitchen, amazing deck, hot tub, books, movies...

Our villa was stocked with everything we needed and the wine fits any price range. Everything is home made and organic, local and fresh. I really wanted lion fish while we were in the Caribbean and it was no problem here. Grilled or fried, whatever!

Try eating on the sunset deck and the other one. The food was so amazing. We just asked for whatever was fresh that day and the preparation was better than any restaurant - we live in Chicago so are spoiled.

We spent a few days at secret beach and the other one. Just asked for a cooler bag and snorkeling equipment and we were on out own to explore, eat cheese and drink wine and chill! The water is beautiful and more full of life than I've seen.

There is life all over the grounds too - sand and water crabs, lizards and hermit crabs, anyone who loves nature will be at their best!

Fire took us down the Indian River - definitely worth the trip. We went spear fishing and line fishing with Mr. Mitchell - the kindest and best.

M Jay showed us the best of Champagne bay, Roseau, trafalgar falls and sulfur springs. He was so cool and we were happy to see him pick us up for the sad ride back to the airport.

Tried the primal spa with Martha Cuffy which was an experience of Dominica.

Even though the room price is a little high, you won't spend too much on food and the excursions they help you plan are very reasonable with the best people.

Dominica is a gem - best place and people in the Caribbean hands down. Secret Bay was absolutely paradise.

Thank You, Gregor and family for making this place real. What a start to our marriage and we will definitely be back - cannot say that about many places!

Special shout out to Rosalie!

Ox,
Moira & Mark Hagy

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5  Thank mo-to-the
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Even MORE breathtaking than the online photos and magazine articles!

You MUST stay in Zabuco Villa as it is worth every penny! Sit on the veranda like royalty and take in the panoramic view of the tranquil ocean, watch majestic birds flying overhead and sailboats float off in the distance, feel perfect ocean breezes, and listen to the rhythmic whoosh of the warm water on the beach! Open up your wall of glass doors and relax on giant lounge sofas by the flat screen tv you'll never turn on or use the built-in espresso machine in a kitchen you wish you had at home! Grab a Bordeaux from your stocked wine refrigerator, a Kubuli beer and pretzels from the fully stocked kitchen, or a passion fruit from the daily selection of fresh fruit on your counter and satiate yourself viewing a sunset you're sure has colors never before seen to man! Retire to your bedroom where you melt into a deliciously comfortable bed and look up at the masterful architecture of the rich, dark, seductive wood beams. Saunter over to the double shower, with nozzles for every body part, open the sliding door and reach outside to see the glistening mountains and Tibay beach! Or bathe in the free-standing tub and gaze out the floor-to-ceiling sliding glass doors to view even more sapphire ocean and the occasional owl in the trees! Fill your expansive closet with the clothes you've now decided you'll rarely wear! Throw on your comfy cotton Secret Bay embroidered robe, walk down the stairs, jump in your very own gleaming infinity pool, and stare at the ocean while hummingbirds flit flower to flower right in front of you! Sun yourself on the deck next to the one you love and sigh, "This place is a dream!" Snuggle in the huge beanbag hammock suspended under the giant supports of your new favorite vacation home and watch Netflix or check Facebook using the free wifi! Wake up from your relaxing nap and rinse off in the outdoor shower steps away from the pool! Now it's time to eat so sit anywhere you'd like and your attendant, who is now your best buddy, serves you amazing food as if you're in a restaurant! Journey down to your own private upper and lower decks, Wild Orchid, and sunbathe with complete privacy or relax on two full-sized lounging couches. Make a note to have your next dinner down there! Walk through the property, where maybe you'll see another guest, and view Tibay beach and the magical Ocean deck! Suspended over the ocean attached to volcanic rocks, you immediately start taking pictures and schedule a romantic dinner there!

Be sure to have the ever-so-charming Vincent take you to the cave on Secret Beach! He'll kayak with you to the entrance, carefully guide you through the passageways leading to glorious caves filled with bats and pirates' secrets, then snorkel with you to the beach! Ah, Secret Beach! It's all yours to swim, sun, climb rocks, and stroll because no one is there but YOU! You press Vincent to tell you if any famous people have stayed here but he just smiles and doesn't say a word! So if you ARE famous, you can stay here with complete anonymity!

Next, tour the Indian River with Fire, the lovable guide, who, if you're lucky, will walk you through Portsmouth, pick mangoes for you, and introduce you to his friends and play dominoes over a rum punch! He gives you fantastic insight on the real Dominica and knows all the stories of all those who have lived well over a hundred years which seems to be very common in Dominica! You want to friend request him to keep in touch as he motors away off across the ocean!

At last, tour the rainforest and swim in a waterfall with the gregarious Dr. Birdy who you instantly want to hug! You see and learn about every flower, plant, tree, bird, lizard with the child-like attention you had years ago! His infectious giggle and fascinating stories make you realize you will rarely have an experience like this again! You almost ask he and his wife to dinner when you remember you're flying home tomorrow!

Then there's Anna, the most attentive hotel manager we've ever met, who arranges ALL of this for you along with anything else you could possibly need! For instance, we required an oxygen tank for sleeping and Anna effortlessly arranged it's delivery and refill during our entire stay! She has such a gentle cadence to her voice and relaxed way about her you wish she could train every front desk clerk back home!

We were honored to meet Gregor, the most humble and congenial owner, who warmly introduced himself, and we chatted about his beautiful property, eco-friendly design, where we were from in the U.S., and how we found Secret Bay. He's so amicable we almost invited him to come sightseeing with us when we suddenly remember he OWNS the place and probably has a million other things to do!

It was exceedingly apparent that Gregor, and every one of his staff, TRULY cared about us and loved sharing their Secret Bay! We can't say enough about this pleasurable paradise and can't believe we found a place we will, without question, visit again and again for total and complete relaxation! Take our advice and book a week stay immediately!!

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank TLPALP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Secret Bay is the perfect place to base yourself for a visit to the Nature Island. Anna was lovely and helpful with organizing our sightseeing. Zabuco II was expansive with a great view and complete privacy. Hiking, waterfalls, whale watching and fantastic birding with "Dr. Birdie" are just a short distance away.

Room tip: Treat yourself to a stay in one of the Honeymoon villas.
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DosDragones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a place to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary...(and that could potentially be our "Honeymoon" spot since we didn't really had one...)...
Secret Bay in Dominica sounded nice: 30 minutes flight, an Island of beautiful nature coupling mountains, beaches, and rivers...a very private hotel providing a bungalow in the middle of nature, flanked on a cliff, overlooking the ocean, and buried in the vegetation ...all this with an impressive view...and in total privacy...
It sounded like Paradise to us...
The location is really great. We stayed in one of the Zabucco villas. The architecture is really amazing. Eco-design, subtile sophistication, fine luxury...
The villa was spotless and had everything we could need/think of.
I particularly loved: sleeping and waking up looking at the ocean with a 360° view; drinking homemade passion fruit cocktail in the infinity pool under the stars; enjoying time out eating coconut sherbet in the lounge/private deck over the cliff; taking massages on the pool deck at sunset...I could go on and on....
Secret Bay has one of the finest guest service from reservation to check-out. Friendly and professional. Homemade bio fine Carribean cuisine.
Activities were tailored to our wishes (visits, horse rides, cooking classes, snorkeling...) and every moment was pure indulgence!
No doubt: we had found Paradise!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fabiola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews