We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Barbados
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at Secret Bay and it certainly exceeded our expectations in every way! The drive from the airport was proof that we were in a very tropical location, everything green even though its not their rainy season. When we arrived at Secret Bay, we realized that there was no traditional reception area, instead we were met by Marvin in our Zabuco villa who went through all the features of the villa and took our list of meals and activities.
We felt very fortunate to be able to stay in a villa that was high up on a cliff with a fantastic view of the west coast of Dominica and Guadeloupe visible off in the distance. The natural noises of the birds and the sounds of the wind through the trees and the cool breezes that came through the villa certainly made us feel that we were somewhere special and that we didn't want it to end.
On our third day the rain just drizzled most of the day and it could be seen coming down from the mountain and through the valley, we didn't want to spoil those natural sounds or feelings with any television or radio! Even though we had sun most of the time, that day was certainly special.
We also really enjoyed kayaking and snorkeling in the very calm sea and there was endless space to kayak safely as far as you wanted.
Our own chef/room keeper (Roselyn) kept us fed with excellent meals (the Callaloo soup is outstanding) and our villa was always clean and well maintained, everything worked. We were also well looked after by Anna and felt that the staff were only too happy to make sure that we had the best possible experience.
Gregor and Sandra, you have a truly beautiful resort and we feel very privileged to have been able to stay there, thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I were married at Secret Bay in April of 2014. It was a wonderful experience all the way from the Taxi ride from the airport and through the entire vacation. The weather was perfect in the 80's the entire trip and the water felt and looked amazing. The Staff at the hotel was superb, happy to help with every little request. They even give you a cell phone with the staff numbers pre-programed so you can call who you need whenever necessary. The rooms were exquisite, bright, clean and modern. The views from our villa and across the property were all spectacular. The doors in the Villa open accordion style so even though it's separated into 3 segments (balcony/living &Kitchen/Bedroom & Bathroom) you can open all the doors for an open experience. It was so perfect. We had an amazing time and my husband is already trying to plan a return trip with our friends :) You must see this amazing island and stay and this spectacular place!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the new Zabucco villas and it was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherrillFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paratico, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

My daughter and I only stayed 2 nights but we were still able to fully enjoy the beauty of the place. We had an amazing time. Everything about Secret Bay is special - excellent service, excellent location, excellent amenities. We will definitely return for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MRZ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a truly extraordinary place. I read about it in Travel and Leisure Magazine, checked it out on Trip Advisor and voila. I can think of no better place in the Caribbean if you want a secluded experience, free of tourists and free of any "scene." Do NOT go to Secret Bay if you want a social experience or want to gawk by the pool. On the other hand, if you want to be alone, this is the place to go. The setting is magical, on a cliff overlooking the sea. You literally feel like you are living in a luxurious tree house. The food is delicious, particularly for the Caribbean. Breakfast and dinner are prepared in your room or delivered to you. No restaurant, no pool. Also, this is not a place if you dislike stairs, since the only way to the beach is down a series of staircases. Not a problem if you're up for it. How else can you get to and from a tree house? The staff, particularly Anna, who manages the place, is impeccable. They minister to your every need, no matter how trivial. And, Anna will organize a wonderful itinerary for you to fill your days. Don't miss the boat trip with Fire and birding with Dr. Birdy. Everybody on the island is very friendly, and it's a place of truly great beauty. It's a particularly good island if you like active vacations - hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, hot springs, etc. Not to be missed.

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We found Secret Bay in 2013 and after going through other options in the Caribbean decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary in 2014 in Dominica in Secret Bay. We made the right call. Secret Bay is not your usual place in the Caribbean not only because Dominica is not crowded and still untouched by mass tourism but also because the service, food, privacy and comfort are hard to find somewhere else. We stayed in Mapou and the bungalow was perfect for the two of us. You could sleep with the windows open and enjoy the sound of the sea without any mosquitoes bothering you. The beaches were perfect to enjoy the sea and sun with absolute privacy. There are many things to do in Dominica but we only went to Roseau and Mero beach to stay and enjoy the beaches and Secret Bay. The service was amazing with Anna, Gilbert and the rest of the team doing their best to please us for every single request we made. But the best part was the food: the calallou, the fish braf, the chowder, the roasted chicken, the creole chicken and prawns, the curry goat and chicken, the granola, the eggs, everything was amazing. The best part was our last dinner when we asked the ladies in the kitchen to come up with a menu of their own and we were blown away by the smoked chicken and red bean soup, the plantains in coconut milk, the vegetables and the fish. Of course, the Kubuli was the drink of choice always chilled and ready to drink. The only thing we would change is the number of nights; six is not enough. Thank you everyone for making this an unforgettable stay and we hope to come back soon.

p.s. Che Bé Sa'w!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Secret Bay is a place equivalent to Paradise. I do not think there could be a more perfect place to send a romantic getaway with your loved one, a honeymoon experience as I did, or merely a solely retreat to reflect and enjoy nature. From the moment you arrive at the airport, Secret Bay’s luxury and attention surrounds you. Secret Bay would never let you travel to their resort without some refreshments and a nice snack to eat - - all they do is care about your happiness. Upon arriving at Secret Bay you are greeted by the friendliest and kind staff that clearly make it their top priority to please you and provide you with whatever you need to have a wonderful time in Dominica. The amenities in the Zambuca Villa alone at Secret Bay allows you to escape to your own oasis. They include: a private pool grill, oven, gas stove, HD TV, any cooking appliance you could think of (microwave, blender, Panini maker, toaster, pots, pans, you name it!), dishwasher, washer and dryer, fully pre-stocked fridge, fully pre-stocked wine cooler, dual shower which turns in-door/outdoor, bath tub, large closet, fans, and air-conditioning. On site, also available for your use include kayaks, snorkeling gear, bicycles, water shoes, backpacks, picnic gear, and camera - - just to name a few. Secret Bay has its own private beach which also gives you access to a private cave which is a truly unique and awesome experience. Then there is the incredible staff at Secret Bay. Words cannot describe how caring and thoughtful the staff of Secret Bay, Manager and Owner all are. To begin, the resort provides you with a personal cellphone to ensure that you can reach any Secret Bay staff member at any time - - literally any time even when they are not working they invite you to call them if you need anything. Anna is simply a doll as well. Not only did Anna personally have a French baker make my husband French bread on request, but Anna did the little things as well to let us know she cared. Not only would she meet with us, create wonderful excursions for us, including Indian River Boat Tour with Fire (a must), dinner at Le Champs (another must), canyoning down waterfalls (adventurous and amazing) and bike riding to a local hot spring (awesome), but she would call people we met up with to make sure we arrived safely when we may have gotten lost on our bike for example, or to let us know she went ahead and made dinner later for us to give us more time to relax, she is the BEST. The food at Secret Bay was no less amazing and in fact was fantastic. One of the chefs at Secret Bay, Chef Eric, cooks at Le Champs for Friday night Dinner and Saturday Brunch - - that is how good the food is at Secret Bay that they have secured such a world class Chef, along with the other wonderful ladies in the kitchen who are no less as fantastic. Meals at Secret Bay for us included delicious yogurt, granola, homemade jam, fresh squeezed watermelon, pineapple and grapefruit juice, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs for breakfast. For lunch we got salads with grilled chicken, shrimp or fish, ribs, wings, veggie crusted pizza, pumpkin soup, seafood bisque, turkey sandwiches (which they made for us on our canyoning adventure - - so thoughtful), and we grilled out our own burgers one day. Dinner included lobster, shrimps with curry, all sorts of local fish and banana wrapped fish, slow cooked chicken with rice, curried goat, beer battered fish and onions and dessert just sealed the deal with mango short cake, ricotta cheese ice cream, banana brownie - - just naming a few. And they make this in site rum punch that is just delicious and light. And if you have time to stop by the Source Shake for a Pina Colada and discuss the menus with them. Now to the attendants, these ladies literally brightened my day. Our laundry and dishes were done for us whenever we wanted (we didn’t even have to ask just put it in the hamper), our things neatly put away in convenient locations they somehow knew we wanted them and would, without us even asking, pre-stock our fridge with our favorite local items and goodies. And they kept the place (including the outside stairs) spotless. They would do anything for you at any time and surely did not make any request sound too difficult or un-attainable. I now have new Dominica friends. The security and tour guides at Secret Bay also set the bar. Not only were they overly helpful with getting us whatever we needed and transporting any gear for us or bringing us equipment for our adventures but these men are so friendly and just love to help. For example, my bike happened to be too tall for me and these men went in the back with some power tools (basically chopped off part of the bike) and made it fully rideable by my - - they are amazing. Finally, Dominica. Words cannot express how excited I am to go back to this paradise island of adventures. It has to much to offer and its untouched beauty truly captivated me. There are no dangerous or poisonous animals on the island and at Secret Bay you are tucked in the middle of the rainforest, with sounds of birds and waves crashing and endless sites of green mountains and blue sea. It is paradise and beyond. I really just cannot recommend Secret Bay enough (I’ve traveled to Hawaii, Italy, Greece and all over the Caribbean and nothing compares and I don’t think can possibly compare). Book your trip and I promise there will be no regrets. Plus everything at Secret Bay you pay cost for and it is really reasonable in the end. As the website says, no more than $100 a day for three meals, including a lot of alcohol if you desire, and having plenty of food for leftovers. Go to Secret Bay and take on this awesome experience of a lifetime that you will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving at Secret Bay feels like coming home after being away for a long time and being greeted by friends genuinely happy to welcome you. The serenity, exquisite atmosphere, comfort and just shear quality delivers all you would want to relax, unwind and enjoy the company of a companion. Hosts are superbly professional and charming with a deep respectful understanding of the space guests prefer. So you could be pampered or just left alone is you prefer. Easy to arrive, difficult to leave. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing