We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
296 - 301 of 516 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My husband and I were married at Secret Bay in April of 2014. It was a wonderful experience all the way from the Taxi ride from the airport and through the entire vacation. The weather was perfect in the 80's the entire trip and the water felt and looked amazing. The Staff at the hotel was superb, happy to help with every little request. They even give you a cell phone with the staff numbers pre-programed so you can call who you need whenever necessary. The rooms were exquisite, bright, clean and modern. The views from our villa and across the property were all spectacular. The doors in the Villa open accordion style so even though it's separated into 3 segments (balcony/living &Kitchen/Bedroom & Bathroom) you can open all the doors for an open experience. It was so perfect. We had an amazing time and my husband is already trying to plan a return trip with our friends :) You must see this amazing island and stay and this spectacular place!

Room tip: We stayed in one of the new Zabucco villas and it was amazing!
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherrillFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My daughter and I only stayed 2 nights but we were still able to fully enjoy the beauty of the place. We had an amazing time. Everything about Secret Bay is special - excellent service, excellent location, excellent amenities. We will definitely return for a much longer stay!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRZ03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a truly extraordinary place. I read about it in Travel and Leisure Magazine, checked it out on Trip Advisor and voila. I can think of no better place in the Caribbean if you want a secluded experience, free of tourists and free of any "scene." Do NOT go to Secret Bay if you want a social experience or want to gawk by the pool. On the other hand, if you want to be alone, this is the place to go. The setting is magical, on a cliff overlooking the sea. You literally feel like you are living in a luxurious tree house. The food is delicious, particularly for the Caribbean. Breakfast and dinner are prepared in your room or delivered to you. No restaurant, no pool. Also, this is not a place if you dislike stairs, since the only way to the beach is down a series of staircases. Not a problem if you're up for it. How else can you get to and from a tree house? The staff, particularly Anna, who manages the place, is impeccable. They minister to your every need, no matter how trivial. And, Anna will organize a wonderful itinerary for you to fill your days. Don't miss the boat trip with Fire and birding with Dr. Birdy. Everybody on the island is very friendly, and it's a place of truly great beauty. It's a particularly good island if you like active vacations - hiking, snorkeling, kayaking, hot springs, etc. Not to be missed.

Room tip: All the villas are beautiful
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We found Secret Bay in 2013 and after going through other options in the Caribbean decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary in 2014 in Dominica in Secret Bay. We made the right call. Secret Bay is not your usual place in the Caribbean not only because Dominica is not crowded and still untouched by mass tourism but also because the service, food, privacy and comfort are hard to find somewhere else. We stayed in Mapou and the bungalow was perfect for the two of us. You could sleep with the windows open and enjoy the sound of the sea without any mosquitoes bothering you. The beaches were perfect to enjoy the sea and sun with absolute privacy. There are many things to do in Dominica but we only went to Roseau and Mero beach to stay and enjoy the beaches and Secret Bay. The service was amazing with Anna, Gilbert and the rest of the team doing their best to please us for every single request we made. But the best part was the food: the calallou, the fish braf, the chowder, the roasted chicken, the creole chicken and prawns, the curry goat and chicken, the granola, the eggs, everything was amazing. The best part was our last dinner when we asked the ladies in the kitchen to come up with a menu of their own and we were blown away by the smoked chicken and red bean soup, the plantains in coconut milk, the vegetables and the fish. Of course, the Kubuli was the drink of choice always chilled and ready to drink. The only thing we would change is the number of nights; six is not enough. Thank you everyone for making this an unforgettable stay and we hope to come back soon.

p.s. Che Bé Sa'w!!!!!!!!!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Secret Bay is a place equivalent to Paradise. I do not think there could be a more perfect place to send a romantic getaway with your loved one, a honeymoon experience as I did, or merely a solely retreat to reflect and enjoy nature. From the moment you arrive at the airport, Secret Bay’s luxury and attention surrounds you. Secret Bay would never let you travel to their resort without some refreshments and a nice snack to eat - - all they do is care about your happiness. Upon arriving at Secret Bay you are greeted by the friendliest and kind staff that clearly make it their top priority to please you and provide you with whatever you need to have a wonderful time in Dominica. The amenities in the Zambuca Villa alone at Secret Bay allows you to escape to your own oasis. They include: a private pool grill, oven, gas stove, HD TV, any cooking appliance you could think of (microwave, blender, Panini maker, toaster, pots, pans, you name it!), dishwasher, washer and dryer, fully pre-stocked fridge, fully pre-stocked wine cooler, dual shower which turns in-door/outdoor, bath tub, large closet, fans, and air-conditioning. On site, also available for your use include kayaks, snorkeling gear, bicycles, water shoes, backpacks, picnic gear, and camera - - just to name a few. Secret Bay has its own private beach which also gives you access to a private cave which is a truly unique and awesome experience. Then there is the incredible staff at Secret Bay. Words cannot describe how caring and thoughtful the staff of Secret Bay, Manager and Owner all are. To begin, the resort provides you with a personal cellphone to ensure that you can reach any Secret Bay staff member at any time - - literally any time even when they are not working they invite you to call them if you need anything. Anna is simply a doll as well. Not only did Anna personally have a French baker make my husband French bread on request, but Anna did the little things as well to let us know she cared. Not only would she meet with us, create wonderful excursions for us, including Indian River Boat Tour with Fire (a must), dinner at Le Champs (another must), canyoning down waterfalls (adventurous and amazing) and bike riding to a local hot spring (awesome), but she would call people we met up with to make sure we arrived safely when we may have gotten lost on our bike for example, or to let us know she went ahead and made dinner later for us to give us more time to relax, she is the BEST. The food at Secret Bay was no less amazing and in fact was fantastic. One of the chefs at Secret Bay, Chef Eric, cooks at Le Champs for Friday night Dinner and Saturday Brunch - - that is how good the food is at Secret Bay that they have secured such a world class Chef, along with the other wonderful ladies in the kitchen who are no less as fantastic. Meals at Secret Bay for us included delicious yogurt, granola, homemade jam, fresh squeezed watermelon, pineapple and grapefruit juice, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs for breakfast. For lunch we got salads with grilled chicken, shrimp or fish, ribs, wings, veggie crusted pizza, pumpkin soup, seafood bisque, turkey sandwiches (which they made for us on our canyoning adventure - - so thoughtful), and we grilled out our own burgers one day. Dinner included lobster, shrimps with curry, all sorts of local fish and banana wrapped fish, slow cooked chicken with rice, curried goat, beer battered fish and onions and dessert just sealed the deal with mango short cake, ricotta cheese ice cream, banana brownie - - just naming a few. And they make this in site rum punch that is just delicious and light. And if you have time to stop by the Source Shake for a Pina Colada and discuss the menus with them. Now to the attendants, these ladies literally brightened my day. Our laundry and dishes were done for us whenever we wanted (we didn’t even have to ask just put it in the hamper), our things neatly put away in convenient locations they somehow knew we wanted them and would, without us even asking, pre-stock our fridge with our favorite local items and goodies. And they kept the place (including the outside stairs) spotless. They would do anything for you at any time and surely did not make any request sound too difficult or un-attainable. I now have new Dominica friends. The security and tour guides at Secret Bay also set the bar. Not only were they overly helpful with getting us whatever we needed and transporting any gear for us or bringing us equipment for our adventures but these men are so friendly and just love to help. For example, my bike happened to be too tall for me and these men went in the back with some power tools (basically chopped off part of the bike) and made it fully rideable by my - - they are amazing. Finally, Dominica. Words cannot express how excited I am to go back to this paradise island of adventures. It has to much to offer and its untouched beauty truly captivated me. There are no dangerous or poisonous animals on the island and at Secret Bay you are tucked in the middle of the rainforest, with sounds of birds and waves crashing and endless sites of green mountains and blue sea. It is paradise and beyond. I really just cannot recommend Secret Bay enough (I’ve traveled to Hawaii, Italy, Greece and all over the Caribbean and nothing compares and I don’t think can possibly compare). Book your trip and I promise there will be no regrets. Plus everything at Secret Bay you pay cost for and it is really reasonable in the end. As the website says, no more than $100 a day for three meals, including a lot of alcohol if you desire, and having plenty of food for leftovers. Go to Secret Bay and take on this awesome experience of a lifetime that you will never forget!

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews