We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel for our anniversary!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best hotel for our anniversary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

We found Secret Bay in 2013 and after going through other options in the Caribbean decided to celebrate our wedding anniversary in 2014 in Dominica in Secret Bay. We made the right call. Secret Bay is not your usual place in the Caribbean not only because Dominica is not crowded and still untouched by mass tourism but also because the service, food, privacy and comfort are hard to find somewhere else. We stayed in Mapou and the bungalow was perfect for the two of us. You could sleep with the windows open and enjoy the sound of the sea without any mosquitoes bothering you. The beaches were perfect to enjoy the sea and sun with absolute privacy. There are many things to do in Dominica but we only went to Roseau and Mero beach to stay and enjoy the beaches and Secret Bay. The service was amazing with Anna, Gilbert and the rest of the team doing their best to please us for every single request we made. But the best part was the food: the calallou, the fish braf, the chowder, the roasted chicken, the creole chicken and prawns, the curry goat and chicken, the granola, the eggs, everything was amazing. The best part was our last dinner when we asked the ladies in the kitchen to come up with a menu of their own and we were blown away by the smoked chicken and red bean soup, the plantains in coconut milk, the vegetables and the fish. Of course, the Kubuli was the drink of choice always chilled and ready to drink. The only thing we would change is the number of nights; six is not enough. Thank you everyone for making this an unforgettable stay and we hope to come back soon.

p.s. Che Bé Sa'w!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Secret Bay is a place equivalent to Paradise. I do not think there could be a more perfect place to send a romantic getaway with your loved one, a honeymoon experience as I did, or merely a solely retreat to reflect and enjoy nature. From the moment you arrive at the airport, Secret Bay’s luxury and attention surrounds you. Secret Bay would never let you travel to their resort without some refreshments and a nice snack to eat - - all they do is care about your happiness. Upon arriving at Secret Bay you are greeted by the friendliest and kind staff that clearly make it their top priority to please you and provide you with whatever you need to have a wonderful time in Dominica. The amenities in the Zambuca Villa alone at Secret Bay allows you to escape to your own oasis. They include: a private pool grill, oven, gas stove, HD TV, any cooking appliance you could think of (microwave, blender, Panini maker, toaster, pots, pans, you name it!), dishwasher, washer and dryer, fully pre-stocked fridge, fully pre-stocked wine cooler, dual shower which turns in-door/outdoor, bath tub, large closet, fans, and air-conditioning. On site, also available for your use include kayaks, snorkeling gear, bicycles, water shoes, backpacks, picnic gear, and camera - - just to name a few. Secret Bay has its own private beach which also gives you access to a private cave which is a truly unique and awesome experience. Then there is the incredible staff at Secret Bay. Words cannot describe how caring and thoughtful the staff of Secret Bay, Manager and Owner all are. To begin, the resort provides you with a personal cellphone to ensure that you can reach any Secret Bay staff member at any time - - literally any time even when they are not working they invite you to call them if you need anything. Anna is simply a doll as well. Not only did Anna personally have a French baker make my husband French bread on request, but Anna did the little things as well to let us know she cared. Not only would she meet with us, create wonderful excursions for us, including Indian River Boat Tour with Fire (a must), dinner at Le Champs (another must), canyoning down waterfalls (adventurous and amazing) and bike riding to a local hot spring (awesome), but she would call people we met up with to make sure we arrived safely when we may have gotten lost on our bike for example, or to let us know she went ahead and made dinner later for us to give us more time to relax, she is the BEST. The food at Secret Bay was no less amazing and in fact was fantastic. One of the chefs at Secret Bay, Chef Eric, cooks at Le Champs for Friday night Dinner and Saturday Brunch - - that is how good the food is at Secret Bay that they have secured such a world class Chef, along with the other wonderful ladies in the kitchen who are no less as fantastic. Meals at Secret Bay for us included delicious yogurt, granola, homemade jam, fresh squeezed watermelon, pineapple and grapefruit juice, fresh fruit, scrambled eggs for breakfast. For lunch we got salads with grilled chicken, shrimp or fish, ribs, wings, veggie crusted pizza, pumpkin soup, seafood bisque, turkey sandwiches (which they made for us on our canyoning adventure - - so thoughtful), and we grilled out our own burgers one day. Dinner included lobster, shrimps with curry, all sorts of local fish and banana wrapped fish, slow cooked chicken with rice, curried goat, beer battered fish and onions and dessert just sealed the deal with mango short cake, ricotta cheese ice cream, banana brownie - - just naming a few. And they make this in site rum punch that is just delicious and light. And if you have time to stop by the Source Shake for a Pina Colada and discuss the menus with them. Now to the attendants, these ladies literally brightened my day. Our laundry and dishes were done for us whenever we wanted (we didn’t even have to ask just put it in the hamper), our things neatly put away in convenient locations they somehow knew we wanted them and would, without us even asking, pre-stock our fridge with our favorite local items and goodies. And they kept the place (including the outside stairs) spotless. They would do anything for you at any time and surely did not make any request sound too difficult or un-attainable. I now have new Dominica friends. The security and tour guides at Secret Bay also set the bar. Not only were they overly helpful with getting us whatever we needed and transporting any gear for us or bringing us equipment for our adventures but these men are so friendly and just love to help. For example, my bike happened to be too tall for me and these men went in the back with some power tools (basically chopped off part of the bike) and made it fully rideable by my - - they are amazing. Finally, Dominica. Words cannot express how excited I am to go back to this paradise island of adventures. It has to much to offer and its untouched beauty truly captivated me. There are no dangerous or poisonous animals on the island and at Secret Bay you are tucked in the middle of the rainforest, with sounds of birds and waves crashing and endless sites of green mountains and blue sea. It is paradise and beyond. I really just cannot recommend Secret Bay enough (I’ve traveled to Hawaii, Italy, Greece and all over the Caribbean and nothing compares and I don’t think can possibly compare). Book your trip and I promise there will be no regrets. Plus everything at Secret Bay you pay cost for and it is really reasonable in the end. As the website says, no more than $100 a day for three meals, including a lot of alcohol if you desire, and having plenty of food for leftovers. Go to Secret Bay and take on this awesome experience of a lifetime that you will never forget!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving at Secret Bay feels like coming home after being away for a long time and being greeted by friends genuinely happy to welcome you. The serenity, exquisite atmosphere, comfort and just shear quality delivers all you would want to relax, unwind and enjoy the company of a companion. Hosts are superbly professional and charming with a deep respectful understanding of the space guests prefer. So you could be pampered or just left alone is you prefer. Easy to arrive, difficult to leave. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just returned from a week long stay and Secret Bay and it was awesome!

First, the resort is beautiful and very private. We were fortunate enought to stay in both the Zabuco and Zingzing villas. Zabuco is over the top. The room has amazing views and ultimate privacy. The plunge pool is also a definate plus. The villa has tons of space and we really enjoyed our meals on the porch. Spectacular! Zingzing was also great. It easily accommodated our family of five. The bedrooms were super comfortable and views still beautiful. No plunge pool, but a hot tub.

The service was also very special. Anna was tremendous about working with us prior to arrival and arranging excursions. Our guides were great and she had many wonderful recommendations. Deslyn and Megs were our villa attendants and they made all of our meals very special. The accommodated our kids requirements and ours as well. The food was very fresh and innovative. They also were great with helping with the dishes, laundry and making our stay super comfortable. Having quiet dinners on our porch over looking the ocean and a sunset for dinner was very special.

We also enjoyed the surroundings around Secret Bay. Kayaking to Secret Beach and Coconut Beach were both very fun. Felt like we had the places to ourselves. Kayaks were always available and ready for us to head out on the quick trip. We also enjoyed visiting the cave - a must do! In terms of other excursions, we did some great scuba, snorkeling and hirking. Syndicate Falls was really great and we also enjoyed the Emerald Falls.

Definately, the perfect mix of luxury and adventure. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Zabuco is worth every penny. Zingzing is very nice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband an I just returned from a week stay at Secret Bay in Dominica. We loved everything about the Nature Island and Secret Bay. Our stayed in the Ti-Fey bungalow and our attendants, Britney and Deslyn attended to our every need. The personalized service was extraordinary and we particularly enjoyed our surprise dinner on the Mediation Deck and the creole cooking class with, Josie. Also, a special thank you to Ana for coordinating our hike to the Boiling Lake and our rental car.

If you are looking to escape to island that is "out of the ordinary" for the Caribbean then Dominica and Secret Bay are a must visit! The island has great snorkeling and a variety of beaches but the best part of the island are the numerous hiking options to view natures splendor.

My husband and I will be visiting Dominica and Secret Bay in the very near future!

Room Tip: We loved the Ti-Fey bungalow because of the view and tree-house feel. The bungalow is secluded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrudiePru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to Secret Bay last February for our honeymoon and we loved it. We stayed in the Ti-fey bungalow which was great. It did seem like the Mapou bungalow had a little more privacy than Ti-fey, but it really didn't matter because even though there were no vacancies it felt like we were the only ones there. The food was great and I would advise stopping by the Source Shack and grabbing something to drink and chatting it up with the staff prepping your meal for the evening. All of the staff at Secret Bay were extremely helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay special. The excursions that we booked once we arrived were also awesome and they made sure to book our trips so that we were the only ones with our guides. We did the day trip to tour the island, a trip with Dr. Birdy and horseback riding. I would recommend all three. Also, don't neglect to watch at least one sunset during your stay. If we ever have the chance to go back to Dominica, Secret Bay will be our first choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

"Treehouse meets luxury", as described on Secret Bay's website, is a perfect description for the villas at Secret Bay. My husband and I are still raving about our time spent at Secret Bay. We stayed in Zabucco III and had the best views on the property.
The accommodations, the staff, the food, the amenities, the service were all phenomenal! The Secret Bay owner and staff have thought of everything down to the minute details. The following are just a few examples: private escort/driver at the airport and ride to the property with wet hand/face towel, snacks, as well as, motion sickness bracelets for the weak of stomach on the windy roads, 24-7 security, assistance with bags to the villa, romantic greeting in the bedroom with flowers placed on the bed in the shape of a heart and around the bathtub, bedside candles, flower petals in the shower, fragrant toilet paper to keep the bathroom smelling nice, air conditioning, screened windows to allow for the natural breeze, public internet, personal assistant who would cook breakfast, clean and serve your meals daily, cable t.v., ipod docking station/stereo, personal concierge to book excursions, call ahead service to set up kayaks/paddle boards/snorkel gear!!!
We were thrilled with our very private stay at Secret Bay. We barely saw another guest the whole time we were on property, which was exactly what we were looking for. Every time we kayaked (5 minute trip) to one of the two beaches we were all alone. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds at Secret Bay and were very impressed with all of the beautiful foliage, which also doubled as herb/fruit trees.
Our meals were wonderful! Bianca, our main personal assistant, was great at making suggestions for different dinners and would accommodate our preferences for local or American cuisine. Everything was freshly made and fantastic! Bianca would ask daily if we needed any items restocked and made sure we always had everything we needed. No request was ever too much.
Ana was incredible at accommodating our requests for excursions and made sure we knew what we were getting into (like with the Boiling Lake hike). I do suggest taking many energy type snacks (granola bars, pretzels, fruit) with you for along the way (both directions) in addition to a lunch.
Additionally, there are two other points that are of significance and worth applauding the SB staff. The first is our upgrade from a Bungalow that we booked to a Villa at no additional cost due to an overbooking issue. They didn't even note the upgrade until we mentioned it first. Next, is crediting us for the first night of our reservation. We missed our connection to Dominica and had to spend our first night in Puerto Rico. We fully expected to pay for our first night's stay b/c that is what our reservation was for and it was no fault of SB's that we didn't make it. However, they were kind and thoughtful enough to void the charges. I want to point out that we didn't even ask them to do this.
The only suggestion we have in hindsight to assist those guests wanting to sleep in is blackout shades/blinds. We did find it difficult to sleep in past 6:30 or 7:00 a.m. because of the sunrise and all the windows.
Thank you SB for making this a memorable 10 year anniversary trip!!!! We will be back!
Carol & Travis Richards

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing