We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coming Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Coming Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving at Secret Bay feels like coming home after being away for a long time and being greeted by friends genuinely happy to welcome you. The serenity, exquisite atmosphere, comfort and just shear quality delivers all you would want to relax, unwind and enjoy the company of a companion. Hosts are superbly professional and charming with a deep respectful understanding of the space guests prefer. So you could be pampered or just left alone is you prefer. Easy to arrive, difficult to leave. Wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We just returned from a week long stay and Secret Bay and it was awesome!

First, the resort is beautiful and very private. We were fortunate enought to stay in both the Zabuco and Zingzing villas. Zabuco is over the top. The room has amazing views and ultimate privacy. The plunge pool is also a definate plus. The villa has tons of space and we really enjoyed our meals on the porch. Spectacular! Zingzing was also great. It easily accommodated our family of five. The bedrooms were super comfortable and views still beautiful. No plunge pool, but a hot tub.

The service was also very special. Anna was tremendous about working with us prior to arrival and arranging excursions. Our guides were great and she had many wonderful recommendations. Deslyn and Megs were our villa attendants and they made all of our meals very special. The accommodated our kids requirements and ours as well. The food was very fresh and innovative. They also were great with helping with the dishes, laundry and making our stay super comfortable. Having quiet dinners on our porch over looking the ocean and a sunset for dinner was very special.

We also enjoyed the surroundings around Secret Bay. Kayaking to Secret Beach and Coconut Beach were both very fun. Felt like we had the places to ourselves. Kayaks were always available and ready for us to head out on the quick trip. We also enjoyed visiting the cave - a must do! In terms of other excursions, we did some great scuba, snorkeling and hirking. Syndicate Falls was really great and we also enjoyed the Emerald Falls.

Definately, the perfect mix of luxury and adventure. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Zabuco is worth every penny. Zingzing is very nice for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband an I just returned from a week stay at Secret Bay in Dominica. We loved everything about the Nature Island and Secret Bay. Our stayed in the Ti-Fey bungalow and our attendants, Britney and Deslyn attended to our every need. The personalized service was extraordinary and we particularly enjoyed our surprise dinner on the Mediation Deck and the creole cooking class with, Josie. Also, a special thank you to Ana for coordinating our hike to the Boiling Lake and our rental car.

If you are looking to escape to island that is "out of the ordinary" for the Caribbean then Dominica and Secret Bay are a must visit! The island has great snorkeling and a variety of beaches but the best part of the island are the numerous hiking options to view natures splendor.

My husband and I will be visiting Dominica and Secret Bay in the very near future!

Room Tip: We loved the Ti-Fey bungalow because of the view and tree-house feel. The bungalow is secluded and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrudiePru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went to Secret Bay last February for our honeymoon and we loved it. We stayed in the Ti-fey bungalow which was great. It did seem like the Mapou bungalow had a little more privacy than Ti-fey, but it really didn't matter because even though there were no vacancies it felt like we were the only ones there. The food was great and I would advise stopping by the Source Shack and grabbing something to drink and chatting it up with the staff prepping your meal for the evening. All of the staff at Secret Bay were extremely helpful and willing to go above and beyond to make our stay special. The excursions that we booked once we arrived were also awesome and they made sure to book our trips so that we were the only ones with our guides. We did the day trip to tour the island, a trip with Dr. Birdy and horseback riding. I would recommend all three. Also, don't neglect to watch at least one sunset during your stay. If we ever have the chance to go back to Dominica, Secret Bay will be our first choice.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

"Treehouse meets luxury", as described on Secret Bay's website, is a perfect description for the villas at Secret Bay. My husband and I are still raving about our time spent at Secret Bay. We stayed in Zabucco III and had the best views on the property.
The accommodations, the staff, the food, the amenities, the service were all phenomenal! The Secret Bay owner and staff have thought of everything down to the minute details. The following are just a few examples: private escort/driver at the airport and ride to the property with wet hand/face towel, snacks, as well as, motion sickness bracelets for the weak of stomach on the windy roads, 24-7 security, assistance with bags to the villa, romantic greeting in the bedroom with flowers placed on the bed in the shape of a heart and around the bathtub, bedside candles, flower petals in the shower, fragrant toilet paper to keep the bathroom smelling nice, air conditioning, screened windows to allow for the natural breeze, public internet, personal assistant who would cook breakfast, clean and serve your meals daily, cable t.v., ipod docking station/stereo, personal concierge to book excursions, call ahead service to set up kayaks/paddle boards/snorkel gear!!!
We were thrilled with our very private stay at Secret Bay. We barely saw another guest the whole time we were on property, which was exactly what we were looking for. Every time we kayaked (5 minute trip) to one of the two beaches we were all alone. We enjoyed the beautiful grounds at Secret Bay and were very impressed with all of the beautiful foliage, which also doubled as herb/fruit trees.
Our meals were wonderful! Bianca, our main personal assistant, was great at making suggestions for different dinners and would accommodate our preferences for local or American cuisine. Everything was freshly made and fantastic! Bianca would ask daily if we needed any items restocked and made sure we always had everything we needed. No request was ever too much.
Ana was incredible at accommodating our requests for excursions and made sure we knew what we were getting into (like with the Boiling Lake hike). I do suggest taking many energy type snacks (granola bars, pretzels, fruit) with you for along the way (both directions) in addition to a lunch.
Additionally, there are two other points that are of significance and worth applauding the SB staff. The first is our upgrade from a Bungalow that we booked to a Villa at no additional cost due to an overbooking issue. They didn't even note the upgrade until we mentioned it first. Next, is crediting us for the first night of our reservation. We missed our connection to Dominica and had to spend our first night in Puerto Rico. We fully expected to pay for our first night's stay b/c that is what our reservation was for and it was no fault of SB's that we didn't make it. However, they were kind and thoughtful enough to void the charges. I want to point out that we didn't even ask them to do this.
The only suggestion we have in hindsight to assist those guests wanting to sleep in is blackout shades/blinds. We did find it difficult to sleep in past 6:30 or 7:00 a.m. because of the sunrise and all the windows.
Thank you SB for making this a memorable 10 year anniversary trip!!!! We will be back!
Carol & Travis Richards

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

This review has been long overdue as my wife and I completed our trip to Secret Bay in January. We started our stay in the Mapou bungalow, which is a quaint duplex with fabulous views and all the amenities you could hope for, however after seeing the Zabuca Villa we were lucky enough to be able to upgrade. The staff made the change seamless by moving all of our belonging to Zubuca while we took a private yoga class on the sunset deck. At Secret Bay this type of service is a way of life for the staff and any outside services recommended by the resort. I am in the hospitality business and I am always impressed by true hospitality. The owners of Secret Bay have Hospitality down to a “T” and have a complete staff that managed to execute their vision flawlessly.

Our week a Secret Bay was by far the best Caribbean Vacation we have ever had. The owners Gregor and Sandra have thought of everything to provide you with a totally stress free vacation in one of the most beautiful locations in the Caribbean. Often on Caribbean vacations, even at the most expensive 5 star resorts, service can be sporadic depending on the staff member and their ambition to be the best at what they do. At Secret Bay the staff manages to make you feel like you are the only guest in the resort, from Anna the manager, the chefs, drivers, all the way down to the friendly grounds keepers no matter what you need someone is always there to get it for you.

The food is incredible and anything you can think of they are happy to make for you. The chefs cook with the freshest ingredients that are indigenous to the island and its surroundings, from homemade yogurt, jams and bread for breakfast to whole roasted fish and grilled lobster for dinner, every meal was truly an epicurean delight. They make their own snacks; some of our favorites were the granola bars and mango chips. For a light afternoon snack I recommend the green papaya salad or Caribbean style chicken wings.

The Location of Secret Bay is truly breathtaking with some of the most incredible views and sunsets you will ever see. We had views of rainbows every day from every deck and window of our villa, our pictures actually look photo shopped because the beauty is to surreal. The website pictures simple can’t capture the beauty of Secret Bays location the way you can when you are standing there and taking it all in.

The villas and bungalow are as stunning as they look on the website and are equipped with every amenity to make you feel as if you are in a private home. One day our cappuccino maker was not working and it was replaced by the next day. However, our concierge arranged for us to have any type of coffee we needed no matter where we were in the resort.

Dominica is one of the most beautiful, quiet, safe and pristine islands you will visit with endless activities, nature that will make you stop and stare at every turn and the friendliest people you will ever encounter in the Caribbean. If you are looking for a place to get away from it all with incredible hiking, diving and relaxation then look no further.

My wife and I work very hard and are extremely selective when choosing a vacation spot so when we find a resort that manages to put it all together in one package and leave an ever lasting impression we really appreciate it.. Thank you Gregor, Sandra, Anna and your whole staff, you should be very proud of what you have created.

P&D

We will be back soon.

Room Tip: Whatever your budget is you wont be disappointed but if you can splurge for one on the Villas then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJF401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
river towns, Westchester NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I returned recently from a week-long stay in paradise!, i.e. Secret Bay.
From the moment you arrive, you are steeped in lush flora/fauna, impeccable service and architecture/design that is elegant and stops short at nothing! Whether you stay in the cozy, treehouse “bungalow” (we stayed in Mapou…amazing views from the floor to ceiling windows of the upstairs bedroom) or one of the villas (we also stayed in Zing-Zing….a spacious, 2 bedroom building with every modern kitchen appliance and a spacious veranda where we spent most of our time (not one mosquito, by the way, but spray at night for the no-see-ums), you can’t help but feel you are luxuriating in the highest quality of materials and design.

The service truly sets this resort apart from anywhere we’ve stayed. From the very first email,…..Anna,( the manager) makes you feel very special. With her warmth, intelligence and “can-do” attitude she sits down with you upon your arrival and helps you arrange all of your excursions, spa treatments, restaurants, taxis, and on-site activities. We especially loved the hike she directed us to, section 13 of the Waitukanubi (?)trail….this is a delightful, moderate, 3+hour hike that takes you through idyllic farm-like landscapes, rainforest and stunning coastal vistas. The other staff who attend to your meals and other needs are fantastic as well.

The food surpassed our expectations----everything was deliciously and beautifully prepared, using Caribbean spices to perfection. You can get any two meals you like in a given day…..some of our favorites were the lion fish, the bbq’d ribs for lunch (they’ll pack them up to take on a kayak to the beach), the lobster, the steak and the amazing array of fruits and vegetables. We loved talking with Gemer, the award-winning chef, down at the Souce shack….we are awaiting her cook book. When ordering items for your stay, we would recommend stocking up on the Secret Bay rum punch, the homemade granola and granola bars, their delicious greek yogurt and the flavorful fruit juices (you can also order a wide variety of wines, alcohol and beer).

Other excursions we loved were fishing/snorkeling with Don, exploring the cave with Vincent, kayaking around the bay on our own (Coconut Beach is accessbile and has sun in the morning, Secret Bay in the afternoon). The river boat tour was lovely but a bit touristy.

While at Secret Bay, you may have all the privacy you wish….on some days we never saw another guest . My suggestion to Gregor (the charming and personable owner who came to our villa and spent some time with us) would be to think about a weekly “cocktail” party up at the Sunset Deck and/or a beach bbq lunch/dinner that would give people the option to mingle with other guests and compare notes about this magical little “secret”!

Room Tip: the bungalows are small, but cozy and with amazing views from the bedroom. Zing Zing villa, while s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing