We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tropical Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Secret Bay is the most amazing way to experience Dominica. The incredibly warm and accommodating staff took great care of us the entire time and customized an amazing experience that was far greater than anything we could have hoped for. Our beautiful bungalow literally sat on top of a cliff overlooking the Carribbean Sea -- a stunning view complimented by fresh sea air and the sounds of the ocean waves and jungle. There is tons to do right onsite at the resort and they also have an outstanding network of local experts and guides who can show you all the best of Dominica from the Indian River, hot springs, to snorkeling, nature hikes, waterfalls and much more. They use the best local ingredients and a staff of local chefs who consistently served delicious and healthy food the entire time. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ppeck11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Zabuco Honeymoon Villa is more stunning in person than in the website photos, and the service was amazing and genuine. Anna anticipated our needs before we could even think them! The views are breathtaking and the food was delicious. I am thoroughly relaxed and planning for my return trip!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and returned recently for our third visit to Secret Bay. Having been to dozens of higher end resorts over the years, this is the only resort that is so clearly superior that we rate it as the one "irresistible" choice to which to return year after year.

You will not be better taken care of, arrival to departure, anywhere in the world.While at Secret Bay attentive staff will do all they can to anticipate and satisfy every wish. Customize your chef-prepared meals to your liking, and enjoy them at your villa.

Look out over the Caribbean from your cliff-top luxury villa - the latest in technological convenience built into an eco-conscious structure integrated gently into the local environment.

This will be the second home for a very few, very lucky, travellers for years to come.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We absolutely love Secret Bay! We have been to 26 islands and stayed at many 5 star accommodations in the $800-$900/day range and Secret Bay is by far the best of all. Zabuco Honeymoon Villa is the most luxurious room we have ever stayed in. Truly million dollar views. We were surprised with rainbows almost every day. Having each meal whatever we dreamed of and brought to us was wonderful. No stress, no dress up, delicious and totally romantic. From what we saw of the beaches on Dominica, Secret Bay Beach has the clearest water and has very soft sand. Has to be #1 beach on the island. If you do nothing else off property take the private tour with Dr. Birdy to the Syndicate Nature Preserve. It is an unforgettable experience. Thank you Anna, Gregor, Saralee and the whole Secret Bay Staff for making our 20th Anniversary incredibly special! Chuck & Sue, Tampa FL

Room Tip: The Villas are the most private but any room on the property is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennisSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

We went for our honeymoon and it was well worth every penny. I felt like I was in heaven. The views, the accommodations, the fresh organic juices, local food and fresh caught fish all cooked to perfection, the personal service is everything one could dream of. Even though our stay was in August we never needed air conditioning as the Zabuco villa on the bluff was quite comfortable with a natural cooling breeze. The resort location, plants, walkways and buildings are all designed to reflect nature and preserve the natural setting. We learned so much about local fare, plants and health. Each service person treated us like royalty yet personally cared for us like family. One afternoon we hosted local friends and the extra food and service required to arrange this was exceptional. We were guided by the owners wife to swim through the cave. Anna was our personal travel agent as we needed to make several changes to our flight schedule. She worked endlessly for our benefit and gave us extra time at a bungalow to rest and a meal without charge when we were unexpectedly delayed. We took a few trips to see the Island and glad we did but we really didn't went to leave Secret Bay as we were so comfortable just relaxing there. We definitely want to go there again and stay as long as possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LABS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

During our engagement, I told my wife I would plan the whole honeymoon and surprise her with it. She didn't know where we were going until we were on our final plane getting ready to land in Dominica...

but let me back up for a second. I told her I'd surprise her without having any idea where we'd go for our honeymoon. I used to live in Costa Rica, I've traveled to Belize, Hawaii, Peru & China. I've been to some beautiful places. And my wife has been all over Europe and Mexico - again we had a high bar set when picking a honeymoon destination. Very high bar.

Fate came in and I found Dominica in a random travel magazine. Not just Dominica - the magazine featured Secret Bay.

I read about it and went over to Secret Bay's website and I was hooked! We only get one honeymoon and this island and hotel exceeded our expectations. It was the trip of a lifetime.

At Secret Bay, we loved the bungalow, the food catered to whatever we desired, the mountain bikes to ride all over, and the kayaks to shuttle ourselves over to a secret beach and cave. We couldn't believe that we got our own personal attendant to cater to all our wants. We honestly aren't used to this and didn't ask for much. But the idea of having someone there to help us with anything was awesome.

After traveling all over the world and staying in many different places, it's a high expectation - and my wife and I can't recommend Secret Bay (and Dominca) enough.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Me and my husband selected Secret Bay for our honeymoon and I must say.... WE DID GOOD. The first night we stayed at the bungalows. They are very cozy and dinner was ready (we let them know what we wanted days before) the next We were moved to the honeymoon suites. Let me say that these suites are top notch in terms of modern furniture, accommodation and everything you always wanted. Our own infinity pool, beautiful modern kitchen, a romantic bathtub and a double shower. The are no menus so YOU CAN EAT ANYTHING YOU WANT... I mean from scammed eggs, fresh fruits, to fish, curry chicken, ice cream and I can go one. We met the resort chef and thanked him for cooking so delicious. The resort assigns you someone who will be your host for the entire stay. She will come, make you breakfast, attend to your needs and be very very sweet about it. They give you cell phones also and you can call them or make locals calls which was awesome!!! Anastasia who is like the hotel manager was a delight. She was there of us And will come and check to see if we were doing fine. The pool is heated and it was so nice to just watch the nature while sipping wine.

Dominica is a beautiful place and staying at this place made it so much better. Before we left we met the owner who is so humble. This is a 5 star resort.... Is our dream come true and we can't wait to be back. Thanks Anastasia and your staff for treating us like a queen and king...

Room Tip: Choose the honeymoon suite.. Is perfect for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanyspr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing