We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nature Lover's Dream!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Nature Lover's Dream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just returned from our one-week honeymoon at Secret Bay and already want to go back!!! We've NEVER had such a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation. Not only is the island of Dominica gorgeous and wonderfully undeveloped, but Secret Bay is tucked into a corner of the country that's incredibly private and magical. The resort overlooks a cove and a private beach (Secret Beach); and all the villas are surrounded by trees that abound with life (birds, small lizards and even tiny hermit crabs!). The treehouse-like villas are modern, yet comfortable-stocked with amenities such as a full-service kitchen, board games, ipod speaker, Dyson fan!, TV, DVD player, DVDs, books and lounge-y patio furniture-indoors and out. We especially loved the ability to basically open up your entire villa to nature with wide sliding doors and slatted windows (all with screens, of course). The Zabuco suites are also decked out with the best invention ever-a BEAN BAG HAMMOCK!!!! I stared out into the ocean while reading for hours throughout the week laying on the hammock. When we actually managed to leave the villa we hung out at the: sunset deck, where more bean bags are found, along with lounge chairs to bask in the sun; the deck that overlooks the ocean; and at the private beaches. Secret Bay has access (via Kayak) to two secluded beaches-Coconut Beach and Secret Beach (the latter which we enjoyed more). The snorkeling is great and the beach is teeming with life (crabs, fish, sea snails and sea urchins!).

Besides the amazing atmosphere Secret Bay offers their staff is of the highest caliber. Anna, who manages the property was amazing and very accommodating; Rosalin, Sara Lee and Deslyn, who were our attendants (checked in on us, delivered our meals, etc) were so kind and gracious; the various support staff, who helped us get kayaks ready, etc were incredibly efficient; and the two chefs, Josie and Jemma were AHHHMAZING!!! I already miss their cooking!

We can't say enough positive things about Secret Bay. It truly is an amazing place to celebrate a honeymoon, reconnect with your partner, recover from the stresses of life or even an illness. Secret Bay creates a special experience that allows you to remember the simple joys in life. We love it so much we're looking into purchasing a timeshare! This is one of the very few places I've visited that I'd want to visit over and over again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent a week at Secret Bay with two other couples. It is a "Magical" place. From the moment we arrived we were pamper by a staff that was intent on making our stay as comfortable and memorable as they possibly could. The manager, Anna, sat down with us the first night to go over all of the amazing opportunities Dominica had to offer. She made suggestions, responded to our ideas with honest appraisals of timing, difficulty and fun. We ate many of our meals in our "cottage" which was an outstanding gourmet meal, served on our porch...just amazing! The accommodations are difficult to explain, other than to say imaging one of the more spectacular structural designs, set in a lush green almost rainforest atmosphere, with awesome views of the Caribbean Sea from your porch. If you are looking for just a "lay on the beach" experience, Secret Bay is fine, but if you are looking for a Caribbean vacation unlike any you've ever had this place is MAGICAL!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ferntos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have never stayed at any resort where we felt so pampered. The food was terrific. We told them to surprise us with local cuisine and it was an excellent choice. We'd get two different entrees each night and everything was great.

The food was great but, they bring it to your room or cook it there. So there isn't actually a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hch2013870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and myself stayed in the Zambuca in mid November. I wanted start off by saying that everything you read in trip advisor about Secret Bay is absolutely true. The resort and the island was magically perfect. The service went above and beyond. Our room attendants Bianca and Rosaline seemed to know what we would need or want before we even knew it ourselves. Anna was so friendly and helpful from the 1st time I spoke to her on the phone. The food was also amazing.. We still miss our daily yogurt, with local honey and granola, fresh fish and salads for lunch and dinner. It was clean eating at its best. It is still hard for us to be back in the real world after staying there for a week We definitely plan on coming back in the future and please feel free to ask any specific questions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sydrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at many commercially owned resorts but none has compared to Secret Bay. We had the privilege of staying in the beautiful Zing Zing Villa. Everything was amazing about this unit-the beautiful wood, high-end stainless appliances, huge veranda overlooking the ocean (where by the way we ate we the most amazing meals prepared by the personal chef). I can't say enough about Anna and Roseline who treated us like royalty and responded to all our wants and needs. Our son is a student at Ross Medical School and we definitely plan on returning to this amazing resort.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was researching honeymoon destinations two years before we even got engaged. This trip was so important to me. I stumbled across Secret Bay during one of my many web searches and kept coming back to it, over and over. I decided in the end, our chances of any sort of disappointment were by far the lowest if we chose Secret Bay. All the previous reviews are absolutely spot on. We wanted a place with no crowds, no loud children, no buffet lines...just peaceful relaxation and each other. I could not be any happier with our decision. It was absolutely heaven. We stayed in the original Zabucco and it is unlike anything we have ever experienced! Stunning in every way. Our attendant for most of our stay was Roseline and she was just wonderful, such a sweetheart and so committed to making our stay perfect. Britney was also great. The whole operation at Secret Bay is practically flawless. There is nothing they didn't think of, from dry bags for the kayaks, to beach picnic blankets, to binoculars for taking in the incredible scenery. And the FOOD! I cannot say enough about the food, literally everything we ate was amazing, and the presentation was beautiful. We ate like royalty and I couldn't believe how low our bill was! Gemma will make you some incredible drinks down at the Souce Shack too. Anna was so fantastic, from our first communication weeks before our arrival, she arranged everything and made it so easy. The river trip with Fire is a can't miss experience! So fun. Our favorite thing to do, besides relaxing in the incredible Zabucco, was kayaking to Secret Beach and just hanging out in the beautiful water. It is straight out of a movie, just stunning. We were also able to experience the sunset sail with Captain Mark which was amazing, the best snorkeling I've ever seen! Even if you don't do any excursions, you will still have the trip of a lifetime. I miss our special hideaway every single day, but I am so grateful for this unbelievable experience. There is absolutely nowhere on earth like Secret Bay. Worth every single penny!! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I had endlessly researched potential destinations for our honeymoon. We even solicited the assistance of a travel agent (yes, somehow that is still a profession), but ultimately found Secret Bay on our own.

Finally, our search was over…

We stumbled upon this small resort, on a beautiful island that we had never heard of, and we knew instantly that it was the only place we wanted to go for our honeymoon.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warmth and kindness that set the tone for our entire stay. We stayed ten nights in the Zabucco III villa, and it was nothing short of amazing.

The staff was delighted to make sure we had everything we needed to make our stay an experience we will never forget.

The island is absolutely beautiful everywhere you look.

You will want for nothing. The staff will make you feel like family, and the five star accommodations will make you want to “lose” your passport so you never have to leave.

Anna and the staff work tirelessly to make your stay a unique experience that is tailored to your wants/needs. They handle it all. From massages and private yoga classes right on your deck, to guided hikes, snorkeling, kayaking, scuba diving, and pretty much anything else you would want to do.

The food is excellent, and the private chef experience is just another personal touch that makes Secret Bay such an amazing place to visit.

If you’ve searched as much as we did, you are probably thinking “I don’t even care anymore. Let’s just go anywhere. I’m sure we will have a good time on any of these islands”… While there may be some truth to those thoughts, be happy that you did not settle, because all that searching has led you to Secret Bay.

I could go into painfully boring detail about all the wonderful things we experienced, but will leave you with this.

This is truly, the trip of a lifetime. I recommend Secret Bay to anyone that will listen. I can’t say enough good things about every aspect of our stay. You will be amazed. There is nowhere like it.

Room Tip: There is not a bad villa on the resort, but Zabucco I or III have the best views and most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing