We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Honeymoon of our Dreams!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Honeymoon of our Dreams!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Secret Bay is simply amazing! I scoped this resort out for months after my husband decided Dominica would be the best place for us to honeymoon. As soon as I saw that we would have our own bungalow AND personal chef service I was hooked and it wasn't hard to sell my husband on it either! To be honest we were both way more excited for this trip to Secret Bay than we were the actual wedding! Haha. Secret Bay fits in well with the beauty of Dominica. We loved the fact that it is a small resort because we felt almost as if we were on our own deserted island. We appreciated the feeling of privacy that Secret Bay offered. We spent a week in Mapou Bungalow and dreaded having to leave. The deck offered us many evenings to sit and listen to the waves, make friends with the geckos and birds, and just relax. We were provided a cell phone to be able to contact staff any time of the day. Our personal attendants Bianca, Deslyn, and Saralee were such sweethearts! Always smiling and always there to answer any questions we had or get us anything we needed. Anna, the guest services manager, was a life saver. From helping us book our stay at Secret Bay, to scheduling our excursions and activities, and checking on us regularly to make sure we were happy, Anna hands down made our experience even better. Aside from the staff, the food was our next favorite thing. The personal chef service is amazing! Our attendant asked us in the morning what we wanted for lunch and dinner and what time we'd like each meal and the rest was pure bliss. Creole chicken and pumpkin rice, curried goat, BBQ ribs, grilled chicken salad, grilled fish and yam pie, MANGO COBBLER (oooooooooooohhhhhhhhhhhhh so DELICIOUS), banana brownies....I'm drooling just trying to think of everything we stuffed our faces with.

We also had the opportunity to meet Gregor, the owner. He was extremely friendly and took the time to talk with us and get some feedback. He suggested we go on the Indian River Tour and we were so glad we did!

Everything about Secret Bay was just overwhelmingly amazing. We've never stayed at any hotel or resort where we had absolutely NO complaints, where every staff member was equally attentive and kind, and where the accommodations made us wish we could take everything home with us!

My husband and I are already trying to figure out when we will be able to make it back to Secret Bay. It will hopefully be sometime really really soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monique_Kimani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for our recent honeymoon in July (Rainy season, but didn't really affect us much) and we absolutely LOVED every second of being there. From the courteous/attentive staff, to the gourmet organic meals, to the breathtaking views where ever you turned; this place exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the Zambuco honeymoon villa and rarely found ourselves feeling the need to leave! (we had our own infinity pool, exclusive views/sunset deck, and every amenity at our request. The grounds themselves consist of about 6 villas (with another being built) and private beaches situated on either side that require you to kayak to get too. Secret Beach was our favorite and we found the most beautiful/private with tropical fish swimming around you. (Not far and everything needed was provided). We even had lunch delivered to us on the private beach one day via kayak. Every meal was to gourmet standards and they make a MEAN bottle of Rum Punch (I ordered at least one a day!). Anna and the staff will do everything to make your stay exceptional. A tropical storm passed through and kept us in one day and the owner walked around to hand deliver bottles of wine and chocolate to help us pass the time! Booking excursions are just as simple and you'll be comforted to know that Secret Bay only work with people/companies that they trust will treat their guests as if they were with you supervising them. All in all, this place was amazing. The food was amazing. The people were amazing and our honeymoon/experience was amazing. My wife and I left already thinking about when the next time we could return. We stayed for 7 days and by the time we left, we hugged Anna and the staff who served us directly, as we felt part of the family. WORTH EVERY PENNY!

Room Tip: The Zambuco Honeymoon Villa is AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_D_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great place with wonderful people that takes care of any needs you could have. Everybody in Secret Bay´s staff was into making our experience the best one it could be.

The Zing-Zing villa was an upgrade we got for our honeymoon and it was a wonderfull place that we wish we could have stayed longer. There is everything you could ever need, a very luxury place, quiet, private and with great food at any time you want to.

Room Tip: Zing-Zing was great for our honeymoon. The view is not the best of all the villas there are but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for our 10-year anniversary. The accommodations were wonderful, and the food was amazing, but what made it stick out among all vacations was the staff. I've stayed other places in the Caribbean where my either my plans were impacted by "island time" or I had to double or triple-check to keep things running. As Secret Bay, I could simply hand everything over to Anna. My wife and I would mention an activity, Anna would list a few choices, we would pick and she would make it happen. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: Plan early. More buildings are under construction, but we made reservations 9 months in advance and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nate_drees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Secret Bay is a holiday like no other. The resort is a dream for any nature lover...and the perfect romantic hideaway! The staff are all very friendly - Anna seems to be always on call; and everyone will offer advice to ensure you enjoy your stay and experience the best of Dominica. Privacy is great - most of the time we felt as though we were the only guests, even though the resort was fully booked. Loved having our meals each evening on the terrace of our bungalow, with the spectacular view over the bay and towards Portsmouth. One of the best holidays I have ever had...looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: Each bungalow is unique but the furthest ones from the main building offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msam19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Secret Bay for our 25th wedding anniversary. We have traveled all over the world and this is a resort like no other! We knew by the photos and reviews it would be great, but it exceeded our expectations! You have to experience it to believe it! The service and hospitality the staff provided was second to none, and the food was outstanding! Before we arrived, we thought we might eat at the resort a few times and then sample some restaurants the rest of the week. After the first meal, we were hooked and never ate anywhere else. Jemer and Josie are TOP NOTCH cooks! Everything was fresh, organic and prepared to our liking! We went spear fishing one day and Jemer prepared our lion fish in her special beer batter! It is better than grouper!!! They also prepared our fresh caught lobster and tuna. And did I mention cocktails? The passion fruit rum punch is Out of this world! There is so much to do in Dominica and Anna will take care of everything for you! It is truly a special and beautiful place!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I went on our honeymoon to Secret Bay. The reviews say it all, but I want to stress one thing. The staff truly have servants hearts. They genuinely want to serve you and make your stay a blessing. The resort and island are truly beautiful places, but the staff is what was truly beautiful to me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul001_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing