We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Brave, Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Brave, Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We took a leap. And can't wait to do it again. Admittedly, we usually look for a Four Seasons when we need to escape from the real world. But lucky for us, I stumbled upon this Secret on Gallivant.com. Regardless of how we discovered it, this place is special. For a Caribbean island, it's mountainous, tropical, rich w/ volcanic soil and covered in rainforest. Reminded me of Maui a bit. Everything and anything grows here. For nature fans, bird watchers and fruit lovers, it's truly fascinating as a destination. Even better, the climate was remarkably pleasant. Breezy, mid 80s with refreshing rains here and there, chased by rainbows.

Sounds ridiculous, right? There's more.

The architecture, finish and fixtures were flawless. Concrete and tropical hardwoods. Dominica grown and crafted furnishings. Decks with accordion doors. Positioned on a cliff with views you won't believe. From the kitchen, the deck, the pool, even the shower. So I must admit, even though it wasn't our honeymoon, for seven days, we didn't leave the property unless it was on a kayak. Next time, we'll bring scuba gear and make ourselves journey up the Indian River, hike and see one of only two boiling lakes on the planet.

Our daily routine. We made breakfast ourselves most days, then ordered lunch and dinner from our own personal attendants. Great salads. Highly recommend the Paw Paw. Every evening, fresh fish or lobster prepared at the Souce Shack and served at sunset. We went for the lobster every other night prepared different ways—curry/ginger/chili, garlic/herb, chef's choice. In villa, they stocked us up with the best local pineapples, bananas and mangos. Dominica coffee, juices, granola and chips. Wines and rum, too.

The staff. Rosaline was the sweetest, humble, most hard-working attendant. She made us smile daily. And on my birthday, along with the surprise cake, she sang to me. SHE SANG! It was so genuine and kind, I won't soon forget it. Don't expect a fancy bar or resort scene down at the Souce Shack. But we loved visiting with Jemma, Josie and Eric. Real people sharing fun stories, casual conversation and some wicked rum punch. Just ask for it. It's back there. Drink it neat and your afternoon will soon get fuzzy.

And finally, as many other folks mentioned, Gregor stopped by for a visit during our evening porch domino tournament. He was fascinating, gracious and welcoming. Keep it going, Gregor. The vision you and Sandra have is truly amazing and we wish you all the best. So sorry we missed meeting the entire family. An early flight had us retiring ahead of schedule that final night. Next time.

Room Tip: Zabuco has the only pool. Zing Zing looked perfect for two couples and has the hot tub on the deck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheverly, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Secret Bay is one of those places that just cannot be described with words, it has to be experienced. Everyone comments on how great the staff are, because they are, but it must be experienced. Everyone comments on how clean, comfortable, and beautiful the villas are, but it must be experienced. Everyone comments on how incredible the food is and how wonderful the island is, but none of this does it any justice, it is one of those rare gems in the world that just must be experienced.

I just returned from my second trip to Secret Bay and they did a great job of making the second trip just as memorable as the first, which I didnt think was possible. Dominica has something for everyone from the beachbum to the adventurer with some of the worlds best beaches and scuba diving. But you cannot experience Dominica without experiencing Secret Bay. It is truely one of a kind and in a class of its own. I know of no other place like it in the world. Go and let the world drift away as you experience one you didnt know existed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyphishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The stay at Secret Bay was unbelievable from the moment we arrived. Upon arrival, we were greeted with cold towels and water to refresh/relax in route to the resort. It didn't stop there! The staff continued with impressive service throughout the vacation and were available for any need. Anna (guest services manager) went above and beyond for every request.

The food was spectacular. The staff asked what we would like to eat each day and delivered on our expectations every meal - breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The island of Dominica has many activities for any guest - kayaking, fishing, hiking, swimming, beach, sunbathing... you name it, they have it on the island. The residents of the island are very pleasant and welcoming.

Finally, the owners of the resort are super! They were very personable and made sure we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We'll be back very soon and plan to bring all of our friends!

Room Tip: The Zing-Zing Villa is great for friends traveling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hospitality and uniqueness of Secret Bay set it apart not only from other hotels on the island, but also from resorts in general. First of all, the service at Secret Bay is the best I have ever had at any hotel or resort I have stayed in. They are willing to do anything they can to make your trip the best you have ever had. The food, in particular, was amazing and such a treat to be served in your own private vacation home. In addition, the staff is great about recommending one of a kind experiences, such as hikes, private beaches, and excursions, that are unlike anything you typically experience on a traditional beach vacation. Furthermore, Secret Bay is unique overall. It is set amidst a beautiful setting that few ever get to experience. I am so glad I had the opportunity to vacation here and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is my SECOND trip back to Secret Bay, because my husband and I loved the first so much! Our second visit was no less incredible than the first. The first time was for our honeymoon, but we decided to have our babymoon there as well, and we took back friends with us so they could experience the beauty of Secret Bay!

The service was top notch, as we expected. The staff were daily attentive to our needs, desires, questions, inquires, etc. We enjoyed the cuisine very much, as well as the attention to detail, such as staff catering to our personal preferences, interests, tastes, activities, etc. We hiked to waterfalls and mountain tops, kayaked to nearby beaches for snorkeling, relaxed in the hammocks, grilled delicious steaks in the evening, watched many sunsets.

The peaceful environment, the beautiful blend of jungle meets Caribbean ocean, and the kindest staff imaginable make your staff one you'll never forget, and long to return to! If you want a truly rich and unique and indulgent vacation experience, this is your place.

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful, choose based on size that you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

What an amazing find! Secret Bay is nothing short of magical!! The villas and bungalows have breathtaking views from every angle making you feel so very close to the nature that surrounds you. This is such a special place - not a typical "hotel" but more like a private vacation home where you can create your own experience. The staff welcomes you with genuine warmth making you feel at home right away. The service is perfect, not intrusive, but very accommodating! Of course this is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic escape, but as I was traveling alone, soon realized that it's also the perfect place for one person, friends, or a family to recharge and reconnect with nature. The activities are countless, hiking through rainforests, paddling through any one of hundreds of rivers, and exploring underwater caves to name a few. I could return to this island over and over and explore something new each time! Secret Bay is truly magical!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceyh351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went to Secret Bay because the Tripadvisor reports were so strong. I said to my partner 'this will be a good test of the system'. Happily all worked out well and the holiday was one of the best we have ever had. The accommodation was great, staff unbelievably helpful and friendly, and the situation stunning. Yes there is no pool or bar but that will come. Hopefully the place will not lose its charm as it gets bigger and better. For now, the recommendation is unequivocal, Dominica is the best island in the Caribbean and this is the best hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing