We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (516)
Filter reviews
516 results
Traveler rating
491
20
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
20
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zing zing zabuco villa our honeymoon private beach the indian river villa attendant plantain chips personal attendant natural beauty lion fish ylang ylang rum punch ti fey sunset sail middleham falls scuba diving year anniversary
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 516 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Secret Bay is one of those places that just cannot be described with words, it has to be experienced. Everyone comments on how great the staff are, because they are, but it must be experienced. Everyone comments on how clean, comfortable, and beautiful the villas are, but it must be experienced. Everyone comments on how incredible the food is and how wonderful the island is, but none of this does it any justice, it is one of those rare gems in the world that just must be experienced.

I just returned from my second trip to Secret Bay and they did a great job of making the second trip just as memorable as the first, which I didnt think was possible. Dominica has something for everyone from the beachbum to the adventurer with some of the worlds best beaches and scuba diving. But you cannot experience Dominica without experiencing Secret Bay. It is truely one of a kind and in a class of its own. I know of no other place like it in the world. Go and let the world drift away as you experience one you didnt know existed.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyphishn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The stay at Secret Bay was unbelievable from the moment we arrived. Upon arrival, we were greeted with cold towels and water to refresh/relax in route to the resort. It didn't stop there! The staff continued with impressive service throughout the vacation and were available for any need. Anna (guest services manager) went above and beyond for every request.

The food was spectacular. The staff asked what we would like to eat each day and delivered on our expectations every meal - breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

The island of Dominica has many activities for any guest - kayaking, fishing, hiking, swimming, beach, sunbathing... you name it, they have it on the island. The residents of the island are very pleasant and welcoming.

Finally, the owners of the resort are super! They were very personable and made sure we enjoyed every minute of our stay.

We'll be back very soon and plan to bring all of our friends!

Room tip: The Zing-Zing Villa is great for friends traveling together.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hospitality and uniqueness of Secret Bay set it apart not only from other hotels on the island, but also from resorts in general. First of all, the service at Secret Bay is the best I have ever had at any hotel or resort I have stayed in. They are willing to do anything they can to make your trip the best you have ever had. The food, in particular, was amazing and such a treat to be served in your own private vacation home. In addition, the staff is great about recommending one of a kind experiences, such as hikes, private beaches, and excursions, that are unlike anything you typically experience on a traditional beach vacation. Furthermore, Secret Bay is unique overall. It is set amidst a beautiful setting that few ever get to experience. I am so glad I had the opportunity to vacation here and would recommend it to anyone!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is my SECOND trip back to Secret Bay, because my husband and I loved the first so much! Our second visit was no less incredible than the first. The first time was for our honeymoon, but we decided to have our babymoon there as well, and we took back friends with us so they could experience the beauty of Secret Bay!

The service was top notch, as we expected. The staff were daily attentive to our needs, desires, questions, inquires, etc. We enjoyed the cuisine very much, as well as the attention to detail, such as staff catering to our personal preferences, interests, tastes, activities, etc. We hiked to waterfalls and mountain tops, kayaked to nearby beaches for snorkeling, relaxed in the hammocks, grilled delicious steaks in the evening, watched many sunsets.

The peaceful environment, the beautiful blend of jungle meets Caribbean ocean, and the kindest staff imaginable make your staff one you'll never forget, and long to return to! If you want a truly rich and unique and indulgent vacation experience, this is your place.

Room tip: All the villas are beautiful, choose based on size that you need.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LayaA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

What an amazing find! Secret Bay is nothing short of magical!! The villas and bungalows have breathtaking views from every angle making you feel so very close to the nature that surrounds you. This is such a special place - not a typical "hotel" but more like a private vacation home where you can create your own experience. The staff welcomes you with genuine warmth making you feel at home right away. The service is perfect, not intrusive, but very accommodating! Of course this is the perfect place for a honeymoon or romantic escape, but as I was traveling alone, soon realized that it's also the perfect place for one person, friends, or a family to recharge and reconnect with nature. The activities are countless, hiking through rainforests, paddling through any one of hundreds of rivers, and exploring underwater caves to name a few. I could return to this island over and over and explore something new each time! Secret Bay is truly magical!

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyh351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews