We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discover Unique and Transidental Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Discover Unique and Transidental Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Secret Bay for those who are looking for a great adventure, retreat, tranquility and luxury. Beautiful nature set, front beach and coral reef around the corner - the villas are equipped with everything you need - the home away from home - and very much alike Departure and/or Architectural Design. Impeccable service and staff - they would tailor to your needs from gluten free and vegetarian cousin to local fish, curry goat and many other dishes. You pick and choose what you would like to eat or do - the super friendly staff is there to assist you. SPA and yoga lovers will experience exceptional retreat. The yoga trainer and massage therapist are on the call - you be surprised how professional they are! And very much to do around from water falls to hot springs, beautiful snorkel or diving on campaign beach. We missed the place and definitely are coming back.

Room Tip: if travel more then 2 stay at Zing ZIng Villa - you will have NO disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Dominica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I still think about the time my fiancée and I spent at Secret Bay and wonder when and how we might be able to go back. We were fortunate enough to stay in the Zabuco Villa, and all I can say: wow. They do sooo much to make the experience a perfect one, simultaneously considering the design and architecture of all their villas, weaving them into nature in ways I could never have imagined. The end result is breathtaking. The service is excellent. The food is phenomenal. Would highly recommend to all who are considering an eco-friendly vacation.

Room Tip: Go for Zabuco if you want the full experience and the best views, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I think that for most people (it certainly was for us) a stay at Secret Bay will be a totally new kind of travel experience. It's about thoughtfulness, commitment, detail, design and more than anything, kindness and service. Even, to aspire to such a level of excellence is commendable but to actually achieve it, is rare. Every individual who works at Secret Bay should be extremely proud of what they deliver and the wonderful impression of Dominica they leave with their guests.

Room Tip: I can't imagine anyone feeling dissatisfied in any of the villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just came back from the Secret bay where my husband and I spent a week in Ti -fey bungalow. It was very peaceful, relaxing and very unique vacation. The bungalow is situated nicely ,reminded me of a tree house with amazing view of the Caribbean sea and Portsmouth. Bungalow is very well equipped with everything you might need for you if you decide to prepare meals for yourself. Also they offer to cook for you and I would highly recommend this.
Dominica ,itself is the island that offers you so many natural sites,waterfalls,lakes,rivers,hikes and with Anna we were able to plan so many wonderful day trips that we will always remember. Anna is very friendly and carrying person,yet very professional.
Stuff was very friendly and helpful to accommodate any of our request including searching for the vine I like a lot, called Gewurtztraminer:-)
We fell in love with Secret bay and we will be back to explore more of Dominica in future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilliana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a week at Secret Bay in the Zabuco Honeymoon Villa in January 2013. We wanted a relaxing vacation where we could "get away from it all," and we found that and so much more at Secret Bay. Both villas and bungalows at the resort are beautiful and well-appointed, but we were truly blown away by Zabuco. We literally could not believe our eyes when we saw the phenomenal 180+ degree panorama of the sea from our decks (upper and lower!), the walls of windows with stunning views, the gorgeous private infinity pool, or the high-end kitchen appliances and stand-alone tub! As my husband said, "I feel like a movie star!"

Even more incredible than the accommodations is the service from Anna, Maggie, and the rest of the staff. It's like they've never heard of the words "no" or "can't"! They will truly provide you with ANYTHING your heart desires. For us, this meant amazing dinners served on our deck (everything from a goat curry to some of the best burgers we've ever tasted!), a steady supply of beers and house-made root vegetable chips, and plenty of time to relax, completely undisturbed. Dominica is off the beaten path, sure, but at Secret Bay you feel like you might be the only couple in the world. The resort was full while we were there, yet we never saw another guest. Not once. If seclusion and luxury are what you're after, Secret Bay does it like no place we've ever been.

A few notes on Dominica: Its a rainforest, not an arid beach climate. This means rain, daily, at least while we were there, lush jungle foliage and rocky beaches rather than vast stretches of white sand. If you like stunning vistas, fresh-off-the-tree fruits, and waterfalls galore, this place is for you! Just don't go there expecting the Bahamas. I'm not sure you can truly appreciate what Dominica has to offer without doing some hiking. We hiked to the Boiling Lake, which was extremely challenging but even more rewarding. We also hiked to numerous falls and landmarks. Bring proper hiking boots. We're glad we did!

Room Tip: I had a chance to visit each of the 4 accommodations and you can't go wrong. For an over-the-top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 nights in Mapou Bungalow this month. It was the most unique place we have ever stayed, it is truly very special. Our bungalow was our own, and very private and our views from our balcony and the 2nd floor bedroom are a spectacular combination of trees and ocean, with Portsmouth in the distance. What makes the place really stand out is the service. When you arrive, you receive a cell phone with numbers programmed in. We had to call (for minor things) several times and the call was always answered very quickly and our problem resolved within 5 minutes. The Manager/Concierge, Anna, is an absolute gem ... the most genuinely friendly and helpful person we've every met in the hotel business. And we enjoyed a couple of chats with the owner Gregor, who is equally charming and friendly. We mostly cooked our own meals in the fully equipped kitchen but had dinner provided by the hotel 3 nights and the food was wonderful. I would also add that the water equipment (kayaks, snorkelling) is the highest quality of any we've seen in the Caribbean.
I encourage anyone interested in this resort to go through their website carefully - what you see there is absolutely what you get when you arrive!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

......Secret Bay is truly a world class hotel. I hesitate to call Secret Bay a hotel as the serenity and peace one feels awakens the heart and at times makes you feel more at home than your own. It is home away from home. Every design detail of the villas and bungalows, the amazing views, the soothing ocean sounds, the birds and other wild life all add to something at once almost decadent yet also dreamed by an artist. But it would all be meaningless, if it were not for the warmth and care of the staff who take a personal interest to insure your stay was a memorable and welcome one. Anna ensures that your overall holiday suits the traveler’s spirit and temperament. Whether you want your planned day excursions to be a strenuous hike to Boiling Lake or a soothing riverboat ride up the Indian River, Anna makes it happen. In addition, both Maggie and Rosaline go the extra mile in blending tasty fresh fruit juices, restocking the fridge with your personal preferences or preparing a real Dominican breakfast. It was such a delight to see their smiling faces each day as part of the cooking service option. Furthermore, Gilbert ensured our stay was pleasant, whether transporting luggage from Ti-fey bungalow to Zabuco villa or interacting with my partner regarding local music culture, guitar lessons and creole time info. Gilbert remember your guitar homework “practice, practice, practice”. Finally, it was so lovely that the owner Gregor and his cute little ones hand delivered us Christmas treats which included chocolates and an amazing bottle of rum punch.

Before I close, I must say Dominica is a lovely island, relaxing, soothing and absolutely fun. Experienced hiking guides such as Dr. Birdy, Bobby and Ryan add their personal touch while educating you about endangered parrots, local flora, fauna and life in general as you trek to one amazing waterfall after another.. Lastly, we cannot forget Champagne Beach which is a must do for scuba diving or snorkeling activities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MichelleJamesUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing