We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We cannot say enough wonderful things about our trip to Secret Bay. This was truly a vacation we will always remember. Anna and the staff went out of their way to make everything carefree and easy.

We asked to do a number of excursions, including the Boiling Lake, Cabritz, the Indian River, and spear fishing. Anna set-up each trip with the most amazing guides on the island. Each guide or taxi driver went out of their way to tell us about their home, and show us their favorite places. Our driver on the way to the boiling lake went out of his way to show us Rosseau and all his favorite places. You could definitely tell everyone was so proud of their island.

Not only was the island full of places to visit, but Secret Bay was amazing in itself. The scenery and snorkeling around Secret Bay was so serene and peaceful. Our bungalow also had every appliance and amenity imaginable, and the staff went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed to cook or make rum punch. We did take advantage of both the organic basket, as well as had two meals a day cooked for us. We had originally intended to try local restaurants, but the food was so good at Secret Bay we chose to eat dinner on our patio every night.

The staff, especially Maggie, were so accommodating, and made sure we had everything we needed. We kept running out of juice for rum punch, which Maggie was quick to replace. When we ran out of rum on our last day, a smaller bottle was fetched from Portsmouth, so we did not have to waste a large bottle of rum. It's this kind of service that makes a vacation truly relaxing.

We will definitely be making a trip back soon.

Room Tip: The Mapuo Bungalow had an amazing view, and was perfect for relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiffany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our honeymoon at Secret Bay was like something out of a romance novel. Our every need was cared for and the only thing we were left wanting was more time at our Zabuco Villa. My wife and I are "type-A" personality planners and we thought we had a good idea of how this week would go based on the website photos & videos, our correspondence with Anna, and reading other's reviews. But we could not have planned the surprise of rose peddles placed on our bed by Roseline, the thoughtful drop by of Gregor to check in on our stay, the rainbows that would sneak out from behind the clouds at random times, the delicious handmade cherry juice, the sound of the waves on the shore as we turned in for the night, and the colors of the sky at every sunset. It was like we were the only ones there enjoying paradise and it was all for us. If you are looking for a place to truly unwind after months of planning your wedding, or if you just need a vacation away from all the noise then Secret Bay is about as close to perfect as I have ever experienced. We will definitely be returning on anniversary's.

Room Tip: The Zabuco Villa had 180 degree views of the Sea and was amazing.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The perfect get away from it all with all the luxuries available. The staff was amazing no detail left undone. The location is absolutely picturesque, beautiful views of the ocean and grand views of the mountains and the town of Portsmouth. We stayed at the Zabuco Villa and it was so beautiful, the shower in the master bedroom has the ability to be opened to the outside so as you shower you feel as though you are outdoors in the beautiful surroundings of the nature island. Meals were prepared and provided and were scrumptious. I had a private message arranged and a private yoga lesson. My husband and I spent two days touring the island with a tour guide Bobby Fredrick provided by Anna and the tour guide was also the highlight of the trip. He was so knowledgeable about the island and took us to all the spots we would never have found on our own. Secret Bay is a great choice for honeymooners and couples who want to experience peace on earth. Anna and her staff couldn't do enough. I love them all and thank them, they made my birthday so special

Room Tip: All homes have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 699stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We searched for months to find the perfect honeymoon location before we were fortunate enough to hear about Secret Bay. After reviewing the Secret Bay site and doing a little research on Dominica, we decided to book the Zabuco villa for our honeymoon, and we couldn't have made a better decision. It was absolutely perfect, and the experience far exceeded our expectations.

Reading all of the other reviews, there is not much I can say that hasn’t already been said about this amazing resort. Everything you read is true - The villa was absolutely beautiful with amazing views in every direction, the food was delicious (we requested local fare only) and beyond reasonably priced, and the island of Dominica is one of the best kept secrets in the Caribbean. Like many others, we opted to only have one long day away from the property exploring the island, and one day proved to be sufficient for us. The majority of our time was spent at Secret Bay, either swimming to Secret Beach, laying by the pool, or lounging on our veranda enjoying the view (while always enjoying a rum punch).

The one thing I can add, and what I truly believe sets Secret Bay apart from other places, is how amazing the people are here. Gregor, Sandra, and the entire staff are dedicated to making your stay the best experience possible. Every need was addressed without hesitation and with a true sense of pride. They are eager to share their island and their lives with you, and it shows in everything they do. By the time we departed, we felt like we had made friends for a lifetime. It’s not often that you receive hugs and handshakes when you leave a place where you have only been for a week, but that is the kind of people you will find at Secret Bay.

So if you are reading these reviews trying to decide if this is the place for your next vacation, do yourself a favor... Book now, you won’t regret the decision.


(I would like to add one tip, something we discovered right before our departure - Make sure you have your departure tax in hand, in EC dollars BEFORE you arrive at the airport! Credit cards are not accepted and several people have commented that the airport ATM is often out of service. US dollars will suffice, but know that you will receive change in EC - if you choose this option there is the airport bar where you can spend the last of your EC on an ice cold Kubuli!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrettandJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have been luck enough to travel to many very nice and fun locations but Secret Bay and Dominica are different.You can lounge around or as we did take advantage of the natural beuty of the island.Hiking, Biking, snorkeling, sailing its all there.Secret Bay provides EXCELLENT Attentive staff, wonderful food, gorgious accomodations and teh chance for relaxation.Ana knows all and everyone and takes personal care of guests! Thank you!

Room Tip: Ti-Fey was awesome, Zabucco next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daslis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had the most blissful honeymoon in the Zabuco villa in May 2012. The entire staff and service exceeded expectations, and the view was unlike any other. We weren't quite as enamored with leaving the property, since Dominica really isn't set up to accommodate tourists (for example, despite having reservations for zip lining they "forgot to open" that day despite us hiring a car for $200). The beach was amazing, we had every amenity we could have asked for and we will remember our trip forever. Thanks, Secret Bay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mem03m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We chose Secret Bay and Dominica for our honeymoon after a lot of deliberation over where we should go. After 5 nights in the Zabuco Villa, we feel confident that we made the best honeymoon pick of all time. We really didn't want to leave.

The villa had everything we would need and more. The plunge pool and downstairs deck was a great spot in the morning to relax and for star gazing at night. The kitchen was fully stocked with cooking tools so we could prepare our own lunch or snacks. We were stocked with a few delicious items (fresh juice, homemade granola, homemade yogurt, bread, eggs, etc.) that we requested on our arrival. The grocery bill for our cooked meals and our stocked items was extremely reasonable and about what you'd expect to pay if you shopped back home.

Pretty much every window in the villa had a spectacular view. We loved opening up all the walls to the villa and being exposed to the sea breeze. It's a very natural setting, so bug spray would be a good idea. Happily we were not to be bothered by bugs in the villa, but be careful of sand fleas on the beach or in the water.

The entire staff was so welcoming, warm and helpful. By the end of the week, everyone felt like an old friend and I was sad to leave them. Ana took special care to make sure everything was perfect and we were set up with our desired excursions. Rose, our personal attendant, was so sweet and cooked us the most delicious local codfish breakfasts. The food, in general, blew our minds. From the first night, our hungry bellies and high expectations were completely sated. Dinner on our deck was a highlight of the day.

The island itself was exactly what we were hoping for in a honeymoon: a beautiful tropical island with appropriate amounts of relaxation coupled with lots of nature and adventure to satisfy our restlessness. We could relax in any number of spots in our beautiful villa. But we were also able to go kayaking to secluded and rustic beaches and coves whenever we wanted. We went on a really tough guided hike to Boiling Lake (an amazing and challenging experience). And we could hang out with the locals and throw back some bush rum.

We LOVE Dominica. And we LOVE Secret Bay. We can't wait to go back and visit both again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piglet484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing