We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secret Bay is a little piece of Heaven! Beyond 5 Stars!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secret Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secret Bay is a little piece of Heaven! Beyond 5 Stars!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 6 day stay at Secret Bay. We had been looking online for a while for a Honeymoon destination and couldnt find anything that stood out to us. My Husband came across Secret Bay and I immediately fell inlove. It was like nothing I had ever seen and I knew I had to go to this beautiful place. And boy was that a good decision. Secret Bay surpassed everything that we have experienced on prior trips. The pictures do not do this place justice. We stayed in the Zabuco honeymoon villa. The villa was gorgeous and contained everything and anything you could possibly need. We had our own private pool which we were enjoyed everyday during our stay. A full kitchen, a large bedroom with a freestanding bathtub and two person shower. All the walls inside the villa are foldable if you want to let in a breeze off the water, which is another feature that makes Secret Bay so unique. Also, if you are feeling like a night in, there is a satellite TV and a bookshelf full of DVDs and books! One of the breathtaking features of the Zabuco Villa is the 180 degree ocean view. We were able to sit on our deck and watch the sun rise and set everynight, which was absolutely beautiful. Not only we were surrounded by beautiful landsape and a gorgeous villa but the staff at Secret Bay were top notch. Ana was a great help, she will plan day trips, dinners at local restaurants and coordinate your stay with a smile on her face the entire time. Our attendant Megan delivered unbelievable sevice, and lets just say we never went hungry at Secret Bay. Amazing Amazing AMAZING cook, anything from steak and potatos, to lamp chop with stuff peppers, to homemade pineapple ice cream. Absolutely wonderful food! Everyday she would come and clean our villa, the place was spotless thanks to Megan. If you felt like getting out of the villa for a while there is a beach attached where you can take out kayak's and snorkel gear at your leisure! Everything about this place set it apart from typical resorts! We were a little nervous at the end of our stay for the food bill, considering we ate like royalty while we were there. But once again they do not disappoint, incredible food for 6 days at a very reasonable price! Secret Bay is by far the most beautiful place we have ever been. Everything about it was beyond 5 star service! If your planning a trip and want something a little different from the usual resort, Secret Bay is a place for you! Trust me it will be the best decision you will make!! We cannot wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
348
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

A five star status just isn't enough for Secret Bay. From our initial conversations before our arrival with Ana, we could tell that this wasn't going to be a traditional island vacation. The Mapou Bungalow was eco-friendly and well stocked with everything one could need. Our Bungalow attendant, Maggie, was exceptional... she was beyond attentive, an amazing cook, and even kept calling us to ensure everything was great even on her days off! Marvin runs the operations and keeps the facility in amazing shape. Gregor, the owner of Secret Bay, took the time to meet us on Secret Beach and give us a personal tour of the hidden underwater Bat Cave. An back to Ana, she ensured that all of our trips were well coordinated and lined up the best possible drivers/guides to take us into the beauty of Dominica! As to Dominica, guides and photos just do not do this beautiful island justice. From Trafalgar Falls, Middleham Falls, Emerald Pools, Horseback Riding, Diving, Screws Spa, and Campagne Beach to name a few...this is one island in combination with Secret Bay that should NEVER be missed! We cannot wait to go back, next time with our teens!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a six day stay at Secret Bay at the end of June and we were thrilled. As a destination, Secret Bay did not disappoint!

Secret Bay was a great mix of what we were looking for. My wife and I prefer to stay places that are smaller, unique, and with a bit of "rustic" or "natural" thrown in. We tend to fend for ourselves and like privacy. BUT we always like comfort and luxury and to have the option to have provided meals and supplies. Secret Bay and their fantastic staff managed to satisfy both of these sometimes conflicting needs.

The Bungalow, though they are not large, was just about all the space we needed and perfectly appointed. The detail given to sustainable design was great and it reall did feel like an Adult Treehouse. You can open it all up and enjoy the natural breezes and nearly wall to wall windows, or use the air-conditioner and close it up. The TV upstairs was satellite was a great touch after "roughing" it all day too. When there is someone in the Bungalow next to you on their balcony, it can feel like you are right on top of each other, but, amazingly, it never seemed to be an issue for us. We usually felt like we had the place to ourselves seeing other quests only rarely (and everyone we met was so nice it was a pleasure to visit with them).

The real Secret to Secret Beach is the staff though. Ana, as noted in other reviews, is fantastic at coordinating your stay and taking care of the little details. And Meegan and Dello, in addition to be fantastic cooks, our great hosts that make you feel pampered. I enjoyed visiting with Gregor on several occasions and Urgell, Cornell, Wilson and the rest of the staff were awesome. Everyone is so attentive but also so friendly, it was great to just sit around and visit with them.

We ended up having dinner at the resort every night but one it was so good. We also loved having the local fruits, breads, yogurts and snacks that we could prepare ourselves. We had Ana purchase quite a bit of food and beverage for use, then ate there almost two meals a day every day, and I thought it was amazingly well priced.



Most of all, we just thought it was a relaxing place to unwind. A short two minute kayak ride in the morning to our own private beach, back for lunch waiting for us, and then a swim and tranquil afternoon. We did take Ana's advice to combine several things we wanted to do into one looonggg day with a guide (which we are usually opposed to) but it was absolutely the right call! So many of the great hikes, adventures and sites are not far from each other but, since it is a bit of a drive to them, are best combined and seen with a knowledgable guide. Neither my wife nor I had really done "tours" or "guided trips" before and not sure what to think...but Ryan was awesome. Very soon it was not like a "guided trip" but just a guy we were spending the day with. He had great information and was fantastic.

It is a little hard to get to Dominica since it is almost impossible to make in one day from Texas, (but there are worse things than a couple of nights in San Juan!!) but we know we will go back again. It was really a fabulous place.

Room Tip: The Bungalows are not huge but really give you all you need. The pale in comparison to the Honeymoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from our stay at Secret Bay in Dominica and longingly wish our stay could have been indefinite. The accommodations are truly world-class and every need, amenity or desire seems to have been contemplated and thoughtfully addressed. The bungalows and villas are not only admirable from a design standpoint, but very comfortable to meet all your needs. Each guest is provided a cell phone with pre-saved contacts for guests to call for their needs, a well-stocked kitchen to your specification, and all the creature comforts of the most exclusive of resorts. Kudos to Gregor and Sonya for creating such a refined, intelligent, luxury and comfortable environment for anyone to enjoy.

The location and views from Secret Bay are jaw-dropping (for movie fans, it seems reminiscent of Tony Stark's Malibu mansion in IronMan in view and design), only to be equally outdone by an outstanding staff. Between Anna and our attendants (Meagan and Rose), all of our needs and desires were met - fresh coconut water, unparalleled organic juices, folded laundry service, arranging or recommending excursions, dinners made-to-order...we felt like a king and queen during the week.

My wife and I are adventure seekers and chose Dominica for the depth of eco-tourism the island offers. Secret Bay offers sea kayaks and snorkeling gear for guests to enjoy and explore the nearby beaches, reef and Bay. Secret Beach is magnificent - be sure to snorkel around Secret Cave!

Anna arranged incredible opportunities for us to enjoy the bountiful activities on the island. She arranged great scuba diving trips (both north and south parts of the island), a waterfall hike, and canyoning adventure. I would highly recommend all of these activities, but particularly the canyoning adventure. It's an incredible journey that offered endless fun with repelling into waterfalls, jumping into gorgeous pools, and lying on your back to take in the sheer beauty of the canyons in the jungle.

After all these adventures, you can unwind in the comfort of your accommodations and have incredible food made for you. We opted to seize on the fresh local seafood, fruits and produce as much as we could. I would recommend you have the staff surprise you with local fare - you can't leave without having breadfruit pie (if you like potatoes au gratin, you'll love breadfruit pie) and filling yourself to the brim with fresh fruit (in any form you desire - juice, jam, sorbet, chutney, as-is). Even if you have a discerning palate, they'll meet your needs...one evening, I had a whimsical desire to have ceviche and, on short notice, was greeted with a shrimp ceviche that was impressively good. The point is that they will serve any desire you have without thinking twice about it.

We highly endorse Secret Bay and are already plotting our return for a future anniversary. We hope to spring for the villa our next time around for another perspective, but loved the intimacy of the bungalows.

If you go to Dominica, stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed in Ti-Fay bungalow and awoke to views and sounds of the crashing ocean each morning. Simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EugenePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Secret bay where we had an incredible stay. The bungalows are clean and in a great location. Gregor and Sonya couldn't be any nicer. Anastasia the director of operations was incredible. We had a wish list and she made everything possible. Marcus was awesome. The place is so beautiful especially with the bungalows nestled in the hillside. The view of the mountains and the carribbean sea. The wall to ceilings windows make you feel like the outside is inside. Yet the bungalows have all the items you could ever need or want. Brands like cruisant coffee makers, a kindle for you to read the new york times, DVD and lcd tv's, washer and dryer (not that you should do laundry while you are on vacation) dishwasker all stainless steel with cedar wood. Impressive both the place and the people

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargotNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We are a well-traveled family of four who are adventure minded, but comfort is a must. We enjoy special accommodations with luxury appointments but a natural feel that does not fight its surroundings or location. We like attention to service without feeling over-scheduled or invaded. Well, Secret Bay Resort on the adventure island of Dominica does not disappoint! The villas are luxurious yet natural with an unusual architectural interest and minimal impact on the surrounding nature. Every detail is present, from mosquito screens to the New York Times. The owners have found the elusive sweet spot combining 5 star resort amenities with vacation home convenience. Here, you do not feel victimized by 8 dollar beers and 20 dollar burgers. You have a full kitchen to stock with low cost groceries that the staff graciously shops for! The activities are numerous here, but the Dominica experience would proved difficult to navigate without assistance. Simple things like hikes and snorkeling require advance preparation if you want them to go smoothly. Anna Thomas, the resort's manager, handles just about everything, without being invasive or overbearing. When you are lost, call Anna, when you are hungry for something special, call Anna, when you need laundry, call Anna, and when you just want to sit down for a friendly chat and some laughs, call Anna. The owners know they have a special steward to ensure that the guest experience is second to none. The food at Secret Bay is inexpensive and local. While starches play a dominant role, which is not our cup of tea, a simple request and you can get the menu tweaked to your liking. The meals are large and include every imaginable course....we are big eaters and had to tell them to decrease the portions. We spent 10 memorable days here, and will never forget. The island is very special, but only for those with an adventurous spirit and a cultural curiosity. This is the Caribbean at it's most pure and wild. Do not expect white sand beaches and expansive pools. Come here to immerse yourself in the wild beaches, the mountain hikes, the rain forest ecosystem and the friendly locals. We especially liked the guided hike with "Dr. Birdy"...much more than bird-wathcing, this was a comprehensive introduction to the island's natural diversity and history...make this your first activity. Snorkeling at Champagne Beach and Canyoning in Titou Gorge were also memorable highlights. Thanks to everyone at Secret Bay for a trip of a lifetime! Lee Resnick, Cleveland, OH

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is by far the most dramatic of all the villas, but Zing Zing is the only villa suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I have been back for almost a week and have not stopped raving about our time at Secret Bay. From the moment we stepped off the plane and were greeted with cold towels by Marcus, we knew we had reached Nirvana.
When we arrived at Secret Bay, we were warmly welcomed by Anna, the most incredible concierge I have met...anywhere. We stayed in the Zing-Zing Villa which was amazing. It was absolutely beautiful and airy and had everything right there for us to feel at home. There was a yummy fruit plate waiting for us in the fridge and all the groceries we had asked for ahead of time were waiting for us too.
We were introduced to Megan, who took care of us for the week and we loved so much! She was our personal everything and took care of us and made us smile every day. She showed us the villa and all it had to offer, which was a lot! The bedrooms were large and super comfortable. The bathrooms were beautiful with great showers and bathtubs. Everything was so well thought out and they did not miss a thing! The kitchen was amazing too. All Siemens appliances and our very own restaurant style coffee maker.
After we checked in and got settled, we checked out the property and the beach. WOW!
We then had a yummy dinner, which was brought to our private deck overlooking the trees and the ocean. What a great way to start the vacation!
The following day we decided to stay on the property after a breakfast. We kayaked to Secret Beach and snorkeled around. It could not have been more beautiful. We enjoyed a picnic lunch provided by Secret Bay, on the beach. After, we had a private yoga class with Sondra, the owner of Secret Bay who was lovely and a great teacher. :) We then had massages from Terri which were ridiculously amazing. We decided to book her for each night of our stay! She is a fabulous masseuse and a very spiritual person.
Days three and four we spent getting certified in SCUBA at Cabrits Dive Shop. The owner Helen was very helpful and our dive instructor, Don was terrific. He made us feel very at ease and we were very happy with everything there!
Day five we explored the island a little bit. Anna made this super easy by hiring us a driver, organizing our day and packing us a picnic lunch. We visited the Falls and Champagne Beach, which is a must-do!
Everything in Dominica was perfect but Secret Bay was the most perfect. We will definitely return with our boys who would love love love it there! Secret Bay, here they come.

Room Tip: We loved Zing-Zing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
7.9 mi away
Pagua Bay House Oceanfront Cabanas
4.2 mi away
Manicou River
Manicou River
#3 of 4 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Champs, Hotel, Restaurant & Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Fort Young Hotel
Fort Young Hotel
#1 of 7 in Roseau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
9.8 mi away
Calibishie Cove
Calibishie Cove
#1 of 3 in Calibishie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Tamarind Tree Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Bay

Property: Secret Bay
Address: | Tibay, Portsmouth 00109-8000, Dominica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominica > Saint John Parish > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Secret Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the unspoilt nature island of Dominica, Secret Bay offers sustainable luxury villas and bungalows and is the perfect place for a honeymoon, anniversary or the secluded holiday of a lifetime. Situated on a cliff-top overlooking the Caribbean Sea, Secret Bay is unique in its diversity: two beaches, the magical Cario River, a spectacular sea cave and two distinct micro-climates. Secret Bay is becoming known as one of the best boutique resorts in the Caribbean - and indeed the world - for honeymoons, anniversaries, small family escapes and adventure vacations. In 2013 Secret Bay was chosen as the number one luxury resort in Caribbean by Islands Magazine; and its Zabuco Honeymoon Villa was voted as having the 3rd sexiest bedroom in the world at the Smiths Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Secret Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Bay Hotel Portsmouth
Secret Bay Dominica/Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing